We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Holiday Weekend”
Review of The Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sun Hotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“National Holiday Weekend”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have just had a brilliant time here, the staff were extremely friendly and at meal times they couldn't do enough for you, evening meal was soup, pork with fresh veg and Yorkshire puddings followed by choice of hot or cold dessert, tea and coffee flowing freely and the breakfast was cooked fresh with as much toast and coffee or tea as you wanted. We weren't lucky enough to have a sea view but we did the last time we stayed there, the rooms are very clean with plenty of tea and coffee sachets. The weather wasn't kind to us so we went over the road and had a fun game of 10 pin bowling, the hotel close to all shops and a short bus ride from Ingolmells huge market, the beach is the best one I have seen for cleanliness and loads of amusements if you have children

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddySkegness, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you Elaine F for your comments we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    61
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
42
102
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here on the 3rd to 5th of May. The hotel is a small independent hotel. The double rooms are adequate,with the usual tv and tea facilities. Only a walk in shower in the small bathroom but it was a hot powerful shower. Excellent service from the staff and the food was really good. The hotel is located on the quiet end of the sea front, and only a short walk from the town centre.

Room Tip: Need to sleep with the window open as the room got a bit stuffy in the night. Some noise from next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddySkegness, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last week 22 to26 April. We booked privately not with a bus company price more expensive. Room had balcony small but good enough room was clean. Food was lovely but needs more waiting staff. Jamie on the bar could not do enough so friendly, made the nights without entertainment very good such a laugh over bingo! Town is within easy walk from here, will go back soon.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddySkegness, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Hi Sarah B thank you for your comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you later on in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

short break with national holidays,stayed in twin room on top floor,it was quite small not much room to walk about,poor flush on toilet.Breakfast was good,dinner ok.Entertainment on friday was great.staff are friendly.Dont think i would stay there if going to Skegness again.

Room Tip: our room was small old fashioned telly poor flush on toilet (room 17 top floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddySkegness, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for your comments, we have rectified the poor flush on the toilet and thank you for telling us about it.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed here 6th April on a 1 night stay with National Holidays. Hotel is situated right on sea front very nice location. Close to all amenities, shops pubs etc. On arrival we were given keys to our quite spacious room with a gorgeous sea view. There was everything you could need for a 1 night stay. Lovely and comfortable double bed plenty of tea coffee and milk, quite spacios bathroom. The food for the evening meal was lovely, no choice for main course but what can you expect for £59 fir the whole weekend. Skegness is a real family resort maybe our own council should take a trip down there and see what a seaside town should be like !!!. Sunday we had a trip to the local market which was very good as market's go. On the return journey we stopped at Lincoln for a few hours. All in all a very good weekend. Keep up the good work Sun hotel and National Holidays. P.S. Our driver Brian was fanrastic

Room Tip: We were in room 10 and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddySkegness, Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with National Holidays. The hotel is well situated right on the front, near the pier, and 5 minutes walk from the shopping and eating area. The place was clean but the room we had was very cramped, with no toiletries and no hair dryer. (My wife's gripe!). Extra coffee, tea, milk and sugar incurred a charge which I have never encountered in any other B&B establishment. The food was only OK. Tinned veg, frozen Yorkshire Puddings and supermarket type desserts. And roast pork with chips? Where did that come from? The waiting staff need lessons on customer service and speed of service. No eye contact when moving around to see if anyone needed attention and had to wait over 20 minutes after the cereal to get coffee, toast and breakfast. Not good. However, not the worst place I've stayed in but not far in front of the worst!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddySkegness, Owner at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
We are very saddened that this couple didn't enjoy their stay with us as we hope and try to make sure that everyone does and so would like to respond to some of their comments.
Our rooms are of a standard size as required by accommodation standards and most are equipped with wall mounted hair dryers, we do have a few rooms that still need to be fitted with them and for those few rooms we have hairdryers available on reception for guests to borrow, this is stated in our information booklet in the bedroom, also mentioned are toiletries, in which we supply a hand & body soap in a pump dispenser attached to the wall in every bathroom above the sink.
With regard to tea & coffee, they are quite correct we do have a small charge for any extra as do most hotels and B&B’s, but they forgot to mention that we supply 4 coffee sticks, 4 teabags, 8 milk portions & 8 sugar sachets in the bedrooms everyday and also unlimited tea & coffee at breakfast and evening meal, which we find is adequate for most peoples needs.
In response to their comment about our food, we don’t, never have and never will serve tinned veg. Our vegetables and potatoes come in fresh every day from a local fruit and veg supplier who actually grows quite a bit of his own veg and the only frozen veg we serve is peas and green beans.
Yorkshire puddings are frozen and come from the Real Yorkshire Pudding Company.
The comment about roast pork with chips wouldn’t be our choice either, but that is what it is a personal choice and quite a lot of people do choose it.
Every night we offer for example a roast meat, a choice of pie or pasty, a curry and a vegetarian option, once you have chosen you then have a choice of potatoes and veg or chips and peas and for the curry, rice or chips or both, so as we said it is entirely your choice not ours.

In regard to desserts, our cheesecakes and gateaux’s etc are supplied by a frozen food wholesaler and our crumbles and sponge puddings etc are homemade, non of which have been any near a “supermarket”.
Breakfast we serve between 40 – 50 guests starting with tea & coffee as soon as they sit down, breakfast starters are placed on tables prior to guests coming into the dining room, followed by main course and toast both of which are served together, service starts at 8.30am for our coach parties and is finished by 9.00am.
Evening meal we serve between 40 - 50 guests who each have a starter, main course, dessert and tea/coffee in approximately 50 - 60 minutes (max), we think this is a suitable period of time and anything any quicker would probably cause most people to have indigestion.

We can only apologise about our waiting staffs customer service skills and do wish that the couple had mentioned any problems they had to us at the time to enable us to know which member of staff they had had a problem with and we could have rectified the problem. Having personally checked this coach party out, I do know that everyone was asked as they handed in their keys if they had enjoyed their stay, everyone said they had, so this couple did have a chance to tell me of any problems they had encountered instead they chose to let us know via trip advisor!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We booked a 5 day stay at The Sun through National holidays (8-12 April 2013) The hotel was very welcoming the staff were 'outstanding' and nothing was too much trouble. the room was clean and made up everyday....The food can only be described as absolutely "OUTSTANDING !"

Everything was fresh and home made, fresh veg. with every evening meal. Huge portions ! the breakfast was excellent ( set me up for the day )......Our waiteress (Rebbecca was lovely and very efficient at her job)...Over all I would recommend it to anyone !....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
273 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
502 reviews
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#25 of 26 in Skegness
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Property: The Sun Hotel
Address: 18-19 North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing