We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just prefect!!”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just prefect!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed this hotel last week.. As the review title says it was prefect from start to finish. Very warm and helpful welcome. Manager Damien was great and couldn't enough during our stay. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfy. Great breakfast and plenty on it. Hotels entertainment was very good too.. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    34
    24
    14
    21
See reviews for
25
40
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The best bit of this hotel is the location.... Perfectly situated for all the local attraction/ shopping area.

Food...... Do not expect to be well fed in this hotel! Service can take sometime and you can find others arriving in the dining area after yourself can be served before you are. The food itself is quite similar to hospital standards.... Nowhere near enough veg for the meal and tastes pretty bland. After both evening meals we found we had to buy something to eat after our walk along the front.

Breakfast was OK but again not enough to set you up for the day.

Overall the hotel was full of elderly people that were quite rude and ignorant.

Hotel did not appear to cater very well for babies/children. We were put on the top floor (seemingly out of the way) with no lift access so had to leave pram in the lounge. Pram was also in the way in the dining area as they had put us right in the middle instead of out of the way!

Majority of the staff in the dining area were more than helpful and ran around like blue [--] flies. There were a couple of dining room staff... One very overpowering and the other appeared to be in a constant bad mood.

The man running the reception and the one occasionally behind the bar were always happy to help should help be needed.

I would not recommend the hotel or even use again as just a base to change and sleep :-(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damolcfc, Guest Relations Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks for your comments...(I think?)..
You were such a lovely family and since we were full once you arrived the only rooms we had left were the top floor of the extended part of the building which didn't seem to be a problem at the time?
Two large spacious rooms next to each other away from the loud noise coming from the bar so not to disturb your baby?
It was so unfortunate but as we explained we would do what we could to help.
The dining room staff have now changed they are much more fun.
As for the other guests at the time, they were a party of 50 on a weekend break ...they had had a long night with our entertainment so were probably feeling rough ;-)
Negative reviews are soul destroying to us so please speak to us if you are not happy... during busy summer periods we do get full so rooms are on a 1st come 1st served basis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have just returned from a five day break at the Chatsworth, and I can only say that my experience went from good to outstanding!! I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to all who wish to visit Skegness, the Staff,Food and Accomodation was wonderfull. THANK-YOU

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DASINTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We arrived at this hotel last weekend in fear of other reviews recently. But they couldn't be much further from the truth... We have nothing but praise and positives for our time there. The room 111 was very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast and plenty of hot coffee and toast.. Really good value considering the hotels location. Very good service from all the staff. Pleasure to have visited.Thanks again for your help too.

Room Tip: 111 super room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jub123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Fantastic hotel!! Lovely room, huge bed, very comfy! Great entertainment at night, happy hour on the bar even lasts for four hours!! Food tasty and plenty of it! Management couldn't of done more to help us throughout our stay. Will definitely be staying again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fablass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

To start with we were given a room without a shower, on complaining about this we were told, "because your with trip advisor even though you have paid, the hotel doesn't get the money until 14 days latter, so people who pay cash have the rooms with a shower". The bathroom was filthy, we had to complain to get the room cleaned, there was toe nail clippings left on the floor of the room. The extract fan sounded like an old Morris minor. The coffee was so weak at breakfast we could not drink it. This was the worst hotel myself and my wife have ever had the misfortune to stay in. We payed nearly £70 a night for this dump. Not worth ten pound. We will never ever go back here and if this is the standard of hotels you use we will not be using you again. We are now seeking legal advice to recover our cost from having the worst experience of our life.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerryGR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damolcfc, Guest Relations Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Well thanks for the review, all of the issues you bought up were dealt with immediately so the need for this was a little odd considering we shared drinks later that day as an apology to which everything seemed fine?
The questioned room has now been re decorated.
Again our sincere apologies for the problems you encountered on that day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skegness hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I had booked to stay here with my elderly father and my 2 grandchildren. The location was great and based on the hotels description of warm friendly atmosphere and friendly welcome etc we booked for 2 days. Sadly the 1st day went from bad to worse. Upon our arrival we had decided to stay an extra day so arranged with said manager to book another room fur the extra night totalling £108. We later found that he had actually charged us £216 and when we asked for a refund we were rudely shouted at in front if other guests and told if we didn't like it then we could 'get out if his hotel!!' After numerous complaints and the threat if getting the police involved were were reluctantly offered a full refund and arranged another hotel for our last night. End of drama or so we thought... That same day we had also ore arranged with a local mobility scooter company for them to deliver a s outer for my father... When it didn't arrive we called only to be told politely that they couldn't deliver as when they called to get confirmation from the hotel management of our stay at the hotel, they were told by this same 'manager' no.... Very infuriating and spiteful! But we let it go and agreed to grin and bear it. It wasnt until later in the day when we mentioned having a contact in the travel and tourism industry that the manager became very kind and couldn't do enough for us haha!
We found out the next day that the person in question had since been sent home for having another argument with another elderly guest who later ended up being taken to hospital having suffered a heart attack! It was literally like something from faulty towers!!!! Food was ok, rooms were dated but clean and location and value was good but the welcome we received was anything but friendly and we certainly wouldn't be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly4267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#20 of 26 in Skegness
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#19 of 26 in Skegness
28 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#4 of 26 in Skegness
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: 15-16 North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located between Natureland, Skegness Pier and the Beach, a great location to do all your seaside activites. Oct 2014 we now have Sky and BT Sports Wifi coming very soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Skegness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing