We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“david urquart tour”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“david urquart tour”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

staff really friendly , dont know what they woould do without damo, he works hard with the running of the place always smiley, my room was fab for a coacch driver we normally get a broom cuboard, but not here , food good , clean place 10/10 Chatsworth , ill be back

Helpful?
6 Thank sarahcoachdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daimien H, Guest Relations Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks Sarah, all our staff work hard to please all guests, and pleased your room met the standards required! :-)
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    34
    24
    14
    21
See reviews for
25
40
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I took a bus load of family and friends from newcaste to the Chatsworth hotel and on 1st arrival it was very disorganised, the poor man who was working behind the reception also turned out to be the resturant manager and bar man so he sould only be in 1 place at a time.

My husband and myself drank the same drinks all evening but never paid the same amount twice, also the food was bland and basic.

Room Tip: I probably wouldn't visit again, but if i did i would ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daimien H, Guest Relations Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for finally leaving a review of your one night stay on a dinner bed and breakfast stay priced at £30 per person.
Bargain price!
3 course 3 choice menu.
I believe your guests were here for a 40th birthday... who we had no idea about until later that evening and the room allocation wasn't to your liking :-( Again, we had no idea... we just received a list of people staying, no requests so a bit disorganised from the group booking so from our part we allocated rooms as listed couple 1...room 101...and so on.
Bar prices...the difficulty in understanding happy hour was 4-8 pm...after that normal prices, same thing we do every day.
We are a multi tasking hotel, most staff are trained to do bar and restaurant, Daimien and Brian do most of the front of house issues.
Any future tours you arrange talk to your intended hotel prior to arrival and your issues should not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skegness hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

you can no longer smoke inside this hotel.Infact the hotel has a complete ban on any smoking apart from outside on the front The dire warnings that you are given if you disobey this rule.i.e.fined and charged for any cleaning and the ultimate being chucked out.Even though we paid for a balcony room we were not allowed to smoke on it.As I booked this holiday on the concept that there would be designated areas for smokers I was disappointed.Otherwise the hotel was average nothing to write home about ,the one plus was the female entertainer on one night she was brilliant. Pat Dowson.

Room Tip: Front rooms at least you get aview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daimien H, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the review Pat, we enjoyed your visit in June and I will pass on your comments to Angie Fisher, she certainly is a great entertainer

Regarding the smoking, we are a non smoking hotel, as is every hotel in Skegness as it is against the law to smoke in them now, and we will follow the law to the letter for the comfort of all our guests and staff. We do not allow smoking in any places except on the designated area on our sea front terrace. If guests do decide to break the law, we will impose the costs of the cleaning on to them so we can maintain the standards all our guests expect, and if that is further ignored we will ask them to vacate the hotel

I am sorry that this might cause upset, but we have to follow the law

Our balcony's are there for guests to enjoy the stunning sea views and provide a separate area to sit and enjoy that away from the hussel & bussel of the promenade, and for those who want to have a smoke free area also

I hope that you understand and appreciate we endeavor to ensure all our guests have a lovely holiday, with many returning time & time again becoming good friends

B Sewell
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was my first (coach) holiday with David Urquhart staying at the Chatsworth situated on the seafront promenade.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The meals were well prepared, tasty and the I could not fault the restaurant service.
I image the hotel main clientele is coach parties, entertainment was provided each night, and unfortunately there was nowhere quite to 'escape to', except to go for a walk.
The general décor was dated, and my room was a very small single.
Over all a budget holiday hotel with great staff and service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daimien H, Guest Relations Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your comments,
its lovely to have all the staff praised for their hard work.
We do do a lot of coach parties during the week so yes, our main clientele.
We provide entertainment from Monday to Thursday for our guests and try to vary the artistes so all guests are well catered for.
We do have a nice comfy lounge which is always available for guests to use...with a fish tank, 32in TV and plenty of reading material if guests need that quiet room? So its a shame you didn't find it.
Over half of the Hotel was decorated last year (10 out of 40 bedrooms that freshening up) our lounge, reception and corridors as well as the main exterior (which believe me...takes a battering from the sandy wind) We are trying to do more but that means closing...that means no income....
Small single room, (203) we cant comment...we have guests that request that room quite often as its away from traffic noise and the entertainment areas.
We would love to see you again, if you do please call us in advance and we will make sure your room is one you will be very happy with.

Many Thanks
The Chatsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

stayed here in march and must say had a nice stay.room was clean and meals were pretty good.only gripe was I seemed to have problems getting served in the restaurant-I could be one of the first in while folk who arrived later still got served before me.location.the bar is fine and location wise the hotel is great-a few minutes from the beach and town center.all in all pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daimien H, Guest Relations Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello, thanks very much for the great review!
We are very disappointed your service on that morning did not live up to yours or our standards!
Training is an on going process and we as a management team take full responsibility to make sure all guests are dealt with as soon as possible.
Hope to see you soon
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finningley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

just got back home from a fantastic holiday at the chatsworth hotel, skegvegas,,what a a lovely atmospehere, every one was very friendly, the wonderful host's Brian and Damien and their brilliant staff who work very hard each day are alway's on hand for anything we needed, Meal's were very tasty and portion sizes were good, entertainment at night was great and we loved the fact they all took the time to involve my daughter Hollie and the rest of the guests in their evening of fun,,,will deffo go back next year,,,loved everything about the chatsworth,,,you are the best,,and thankyou again to all,,,Diane Hollie n Stan xxx also seaview and balcont was a bonus

Room Tip: well worth the money and very friendly people n love this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithandCandiceMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daimien H, Guest Relations Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Diane, Hollie and Stan, you are very welcome.
Daimien and Brian are here to entertain all guests and make you all feel at home...that's why we are so slim ;-) .....all that running about we do!
See you next year!
Thanks for joining the facebook page...plenty of up coming events to choose from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just got home from 4 nights at Chatsworth & really missing it. The staff are absolutely lovely, so friendly, funny & welcoming! The entertainment is brilliant, the food was great & the rooms were really nice; mine had a balcony which was ideal for the hot weather! By the end of it everyone knew eachother and it was really sad to leave, I've never felt more comfortable & at home in a hotel before this one! Thank you Brian & Daimien and all the rest of the staff for making it such a lovely week!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holliemacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daimien H, Guest Relations Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi... you asked for sunshine so we ordered it for you!
So glad you had a wonderful time...always a pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#20 of 26 in Skegness
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#19 of 26 in Skegness
28 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: 15-16 North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located between Natureland, Skegness Pier and the Beach, a great location to do all your seaside activites. Oct 2014 we now have Sky and BT Sports Wifi coming very soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Skegness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing