We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Place”
Review of Prince Of Wales

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prince Of Wales
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Top Place”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Once again would like to thank the host's Yvonne and Ian for my stay,friendly atmosphere didn't try the food but other people staying said it was good value.After talking to people in the morning will have to come over for the karaoke sounded like a good night.
Will be back in August so keep my beer cold and my room ready

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
3
8
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Me and my mates came to the Prince of Wales Hotel ages 18/22 there was 13 of us and we had an amazing time! The rooms were gorgeous, the food was also. The bar staff was so welcoming, and were always smiling! The music and DJ GRANDAD were brilliant. He had different styles of music for everyone, and almost the entire pub was up and dancing. Rotherham town was only a 5 minuite walk, and if a loada girls managed it happily! Also Yvonne the owner ordered us a town to sheffield city centre and got it us for very cheap at only £8 !! The pub was great and was the 4th time i have been, me and my mates just keep coming back! absoloutly love it. Definately a place to go!!!!! Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PartyAnimal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Stayed for weekend with my partner,it was quiet when we arrived and I thought this place was going to be boring.as the evening progressed it just got better and better the music was fantastic, a party bus arrived all in fancy dress, every one was dancing, I have never stayed in a hotel and felt as if I belonged there.We will make this place a frequent venue.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2009

booked in going to arena, never stayed in a hotel as good as this, the owners were fantastic they made our night, will be back.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dog67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2009

my stay was an awful experience, the decor as well as the smell was bad enough but that was only the beginning of the nightmare at faulty towers! the room was as dark an dingy as could be, when attempting to use the disgusting bathroom i tried an failed with having a shower as the water would not work i then made the landlady aware an she had locals from the pub come up with spanners to fix it! then there was the broken smelly bed an then noise that led to a sleepless night ! as for the coded doors an the secret entrance i felt unsafe the whole time! upon leaving the dump yvonne called me to say a damaged the walls (utter rubbish) an charged my account £100 without my consent! case is being looked into !

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiem86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda Cynon Taff
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Came back from the Prince of Wales in Rotherham last Wednesday after a 5 Night Stay. This was our 3'rd stay at the Prince and we cant wait to go back in November. Ian and Yvonne the owners are a lovely couple and cant do enough for you. The rooms are clean, spacous and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location, easy walking distance to the centre of Rotherham and there is easy transport links to Sheffield, Doncaster, Barnsley ect on the buses and trains. The hotel has got an evening menu and the food is really nice and at really good prices. They have a Karaoke on a Friday and Saturday nioght and Ian the DJ/Owner is brillient on it. He is a real good laugh, they also do bingo on a Tuesday now which is also a good laugh. Thats all I can say is, it's bingo with a bit of a twist haha. They were in the middle of re decorating the place when we were up there and the new wall papering and pain ect looks really nice. It will look fab when the place is finished. As for the locals, we have made some really good friends up ther which we now stay in touch with and we are really looking forward to our next visit which will be in November. See you in November Yvone and Ian, Cant wait xx

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Like the last reviewer, I was there for the U2 concert as well. Ian and Yvonne could not have made my mate and I feel more welcome. We were shown up to our nice comfy rooms and then Yvonne helped a bunch of us get a minibus, making sure we didn't get ripped off by local cabs. As great as the gig was, i will just as fondly remember getting back to the pub afterwards. As well as Ian and Yvonne, there were 2 other incredibly friendly staff members serving and they were happy to both get us drinks and join in the fun until the small hours of the morning.

The breakfast was lovely and was just the job after consuming far too much of the house whiskey the previous evening.

If you want a boring, imersonal and instantly forgettable stay, go to a Travel Lodge or a Premier Inn. However, if you are looking for a night (or several nights to remember) then the Prince of Wales comes highly recommended. After all, if it's good enough for me, it's good enough for U2!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabnax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
0.9 mi away
The Welcome Inn
The Welcome Inn
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
146 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
541 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Rotherham
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#11 of 15 in Rotherham
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
2.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Of Wales

Property: Prince Of Wales
Address: 9 Princes Street, Rotherham S60 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince Of Wales 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Prince Of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing