We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quick visit.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Seemed relatively new so was clean and pristine. Staff very good until 10 min wait whilst at the bar. Maybe just a momentary lapse. Quick free breakfast was simple but a little lacking on the cooked choice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Peter D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Rotherham North,
The Team and I are very sorry to hear about your lengthily wait at the bar and assure you that the matter will be addressed with the head of department and the correct actions taken to avoid a reoccurrence.
I hope this will not deter you from choosing to stay with us when you are next in Rotherham.

Kind Regards
Lisa Sutcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    151
    59
    19
    15
See reviews for
98
118
10
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
cambs,uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel on the way to Manchester on Saturday 28th sept. We have never used this chain of hotels before, but on the basis of £40ish a night for a family of 4 - it was just somewhere to lay our heads, I really didn't expect much- how wrong we were!.
We were met by a very welcoming lady on the front desk, she checked us in efficiently and was very helpful. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the of our room and the hotel. The 2 children ( 5 & 2 ) shared a sofa bed, which was very comfy and stable. Our bed was very comfy although a little squeaky (which we reported to reception in the morning). We didn't use any of the hotels facilities, so I can't comment, other than the free wifi and free parking- both a welcome bonus. The hotel was quiet even though the place was full, we heard no noise on the 3rd floor - only a ealry morning deliver to Aldi over the road. The breakfast was fabulous- along with the very cheerful gent who took time to talk to my boys each time he passed.
My only negative comment was there was no sheets or pillows for the sofa bed when we arrived- but this was solved in minutes by a quick call to reception and a lady soon came to make the bed. The next niggle was when the sofa bed was pulled out you couldn't sit at the desk to do your hair/make up in the mirror- but this was just personal preference.
We paid £130 to stay at the DeVere Hotel in Manchester the next night..this was not a patch on the Holiday Inn! Awards should be given for Cleanliness, Customer Service & Food. Very recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenduter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear queenduter,

Thank you for your family’s recent visit to our hotel and for taking the time to write such a positive review about it.

The team and I are delighted your interaction with Derrick at breakfast was a memorable one.

We would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused to you by an error on our housekeeping team's behalf, we hope this does not deter you’re from choosing to stay with s in the future.

Kind Regards
Lisa Sutcliffe

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I'm a regular traveller and frequently use hotels from this chain, so it was a particularly poor experience that has brought me to write this review.
This is probably the worst sound proofed hotel you will ever come across. The double glazing is ineffective at cutting out external noise, so if you are on a front facing room near the hotel entrance expect to be disturbed by smokers having a chat outside the entrance, or taxis picking up and dropping off. The walls must have no soundproof materials or insulation in either as voices in the corridor are very clear when in the room, in fact so clear you can hear every word.
If you are travelling as a family be sure to check with the hotel if they have a function on. These add to any noise problems, and despite a disco not being very loud downstairs the sound still manages to permeate throughout the building and is again loud and clear in the rooms making it hard for youngsters to settle (and adults too). Of course this isn't helped by placing families in rooms that are right above function rooms, but being a few floors above it you would think that would deaden the noise - sadly that’s not the case - this hotel seems to transmit every noise and amplify it further.
If there is a function on then perhaps it is best to stay elsewhere, not just for the noise but for the fact the hotel seems quite happy for guests at the functions to rampage around the hotel, and young children at functions to be left unsupervised to create havoc and annoyance.
The rooms are clean and modern, but really that pales into insignificance when the place is just so noisy and points towards short cuts having been taken in the hotels construction. Modern sound proofing materials would go a long way to solving the noise issues.
The breakfast is good. Staff service leaves a bit to be desired. No Priority Club welcome or acknowledgement. Problems when raised with the staff are simply met with a shrug and so what attitude.
Ignore the sound warnings at your peril - I did thinking it was just a few picky comments - I now know it isn't the case. Stay here on a quiet mid week night and I'm sure you may have a different experience but believe me the noise problems exist and are not getting addressed.

Room Tip: Check if there is a function on - if there is avoid this place or if there is ask for a room on high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiedoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and for being a loyal IHG Rewards Club Member.

The Team and I are very sorry to read that your experience was inconvenienced due to the noise created by a function and the guests attending.

The feedback that we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to target problem areas and ensure the necessary actions are taken to ensure similar situations can be avoided in future.

I would like to thank you for your comments, and hope that this experience does no deter you from choosing us in the future,

Kind Regards

Lisa Sutcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed for one night. Hotel clean, free car park. Check in was quick and no problems. Room was pleasant, modern and clean.

The hotel is a long way from Rotherham to be fair, however it has lots in the area, good food pub next door, supermarket, coffee shop and shops nearby. The M1 is found by negotiating every roundabout in Yorkshire!

Good all round experience, skipped breakfast so cant comment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Rotherham North.

The Team and I are delighted you found our accommodation of good value.

Although not in the centre of Rotherham I am happy that you found the amenities close to the hotel of good used.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future and maybe next time you will have the chance to sample our free Express Start breakfast.

Kind Regards
Lisa Sutcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Despite reading other reviews, I did not take the time to program the sat nav properly. Big mistake. The hotel is far from the M1 and took forever to find.
I had a problem at check in and the front desk sorted it quickly but I would have expected some comment from the manager in the morning at check out.

Hotel does not appear to be a purpose built HI E, and the rooms are larger than the standard. There was a lot of road noise so might be better to have a rear facing room.

Breakfast was chaos due the hotel being full and management of these hotels should lay on extra staff when there is a full house.

Room Tip: Avoid facing the main road (Manvers Way)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PercyPorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am disappointed to hear about the problems you experienced and during your stay ensure that the relevant departments will be addressed to ensure no further occurrences happen and the correct training and staffing levels are implemented, in order to meet a standard we as a hotel strive to achieve.

The team and I hope this will not deter you from choosing to stay with us in future, and ask that if you require any further assistance prior to or during your stay you please contact a member of our front office team or the manager on duty who will be more than happy to help, and assist in allocating a room away from the road prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards
Lisa Sutcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It's a bit tenuous too call this hotel in Rotherham, look at a map before you book it and see where it is!
that aside, staff pleasant. Hotel modern although seems to be a bit shabby quickly for what I guess is a relatively new hotel. In corridors noticed filled damage to doors, paint touched up...badly, walls damaged all the signs of an older hotel.
Internet seemed slow as well. Hotel in an area where there is a lot of new building going on so lorries parked outside early in the morning.

if required to though would stay here again, couldn't fault the price or the room

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Durham_Bloke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We are delighted you found our accommodation good value for money.

Your comments regarding out Wi-Fi and the hotel decor will be addressed with the relevant departments, and every effort will be made to improve.

The Team and I look forward to having the chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Lisa Sutcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have stayed in Holiday Inn Express hotels in various parts in the world and if nothing else they have always been consistent. This one did not disappoint, the location was great, close to the center (5-10 minutes), train station (less then 10 minutes) and public transport. They have only been in this location for a couple of months (Sept '13) so the rooms are new and modern.
The staff was helpful and check-in uneventful. The room at the front (2nd floor) was quiet, had a good WIFI signal (also complementary). The included breakfast was a perfect start of the day. The hotel is a great value if you are looking for something in the city center.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlokhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Rotherham North.

The Team and I our delighted that you found our rebranded property to be consistent with other Holiday Inn Express’s, as a hotel this is a huge accomplishment for us.

We look forward to having the chance to welcoming you back to Rotherham in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards

Lisa Sutcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
7.2 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
535 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
4.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Pastures Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
745 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
871 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
Address: Express Park Manvers Way | Wath-upon-Dearne, Rotherham S63 7EQ, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Rotherham)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Rotherham hotel boasts a prime location within the Manvers business area, situated along the borders of Rotherham, Sheffield, Barnsley and Doncaster. Offering modern, convenient accommodation for business and leisure travellers, this hotel houses 130 rooms with first-class amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet access and flat-screen televisions. Guests can dine at the casual RBG Bar & Grill, relax in the comfortable lounge and unwind with complimentary access to the fitness centre, sauna and steam room at the hotel. Rotherham events are easy to plan with the hotel's experienced team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Rotherham Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing