We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal - dogs welcome”
Review of George and Dragon

George and Dragon
Ranked #54 of 310 Restaurants in Rotherham
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice meal - dogs welcome”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took our dog in this pub for lunch and she was welcomed which was nice and there were several other dogs inside too.
The menu wasn't terribly varied but the portions were big, the prices were ok and the food tasted good.
It was a very busy as it was a Saturday lunchtime but we still managed to find a table.
Staff were friendly enough and helpful.
Parking is limited but if your patient then you should find a space.
We will be happy to go back to this pub and would recommend to friends and family.
Drinks aren't cheap though!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank princessleah1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth85, Manager at George and Dragon, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your views regarding your experience with us.

Glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon

Regards

Nichola
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    77
    38
    33
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience! ”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Wentworth is one of my favourite villages in South Yorkshire. It's almost like the whole village has fallen from the sky and landed in an unlikely town. You definitely have the 'I don't think we're in Kansas anymore' feeling. The George and Dragon is an excellent place to stop off to eat and drink if you're out and about in the area. You kind of expect the staff to be down to earth but the approach here would be better described as strictly professional. There is a good selection of real ales and a good food menu on offer. I personally recommend the homemade steak and ale pie with chunky chips and enough mushy peas to keep you going 'til Christmas! There is great outdoor space here too, so you'll be able to enjoy the surroundings, close your eyes and imagine you're not in Rotherham. You'll need to be quick to get a table on sunny days as the venue can be quite busy. In summary, a pleasant and relaxing spot. I'll certainly be dropping by again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Snapbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth85, Manager at George and Dragon, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for posting your comments about your experience with us. I am really pleased you had a pleasant visit and we looking to seeing you again

Regards
Nichola

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb day for my sons 1st birthday”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Food was amazing, and all served together which was surprising as there were 27 of us. Not one person had anything negative to say. The private function room was exactly what we wanted small and intimate and away from the public. The pub down stairs was a lovely atmosphere to enjoy a few drinks after our meal. I would definitely recommend this pub for a special occasion, just a nice lunch or a quiet drink. Very impressed. Thank you for making our day so special.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Princesspixie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth85, Manager at George and Dragon, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your experience at the George & Dragon.

Glad you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you again soon

Regards
Nichola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favourite local eatery”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Visited on Saturday evening. Staff were courteous as always....We ordered lamb shank and seasonal veg..this was accompanied by crushed new potatoes which were beautifully seasoned with garlic and rosemary.The lamb was cooked to perfection..lovely veg cooked well.Thanks again for an enjoyable meal..

Helpful?
Thank joklavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth85, Manager at George and Dragon, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your views regarding the George & Dragon. I am always eager to hear our customers feedback.

Really glad you enjoyed your experience with us, we looking forward to seeing you again soon

Regards
Nichola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I ate at the George and dragon the other day for the first time and the food was lovely. The chef there cant half cook food well. Compliments to the chef. I would return there again as i really enjoyed my meal as did my husband and kids. The meals was well priced, there were a very large range of different meals which was fantastic as my kids are very fussy eaters. The staff service was very good and i was asked by 2 members of staff if everything was ok and if we needed anything else. Very pleasant pub and very welcoming. Keep up the good work as i will be returning as it was a very enjoyable experience..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth85, Manager at George and Dragon, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your views about the George & Dragon.

I'm really glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Nichola

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George and Dragon also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing