We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good value hotel in a good location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A very good value hotel in a good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

A very pleasant stay in a very good hotel. The food and service are excellent, and the staff cheerful and helpful. Carlton Park is situated close to M1 & M18 junctions.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 373Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carltonpark, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments - we look forward to your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    246
    137
    56
    55
See reviews for
136
250
17
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I've stayed in the Carlton park a few times over the years and it has definitely improved since they refurbished it.

Clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Breakfast is good and the gym and swimming pool are a nice bonus. The bar and restaurant meals are good and reasonably priced for a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenCBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carltonpark, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton Park Hotel and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed here 9th Dec rooms are very comfortable with individual safes in each room which are large enough to take a laptop.The breakfast is buffet style,breakfast service is fast and efficient I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: If You Smoke be sure to as for a SMOKING ROOM or if you book on line watch what option you book. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weejohnten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carltonpark, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for your nice comments following your stay with us. We hope that you will choose the Carlton Park Hotel on your next visit to Rotherham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

on sunday 4th december 14 family members attended santas sunday lunch as we had done for the last 8 years . This year was not so good the food was ok but its much better when the food is brought and placed on the table instead of waiter service . The young waiter managed to upset 4 family members first he dropped some of the dish down a young mans shirt and into his drink them went on to spill cauliflower juices onto my young daughter then half the tray of cauliflower went all over my mother onto my jane norman handbag full of xmas cards . we did tell the manager who said he would pay any dry cleaning bills , but these incidents spoil our day a little . Also my husband had roast potato dropped on his knee . The hotel is nice and patsy fun show is fun for the children . Not sure if we will be back next christmas

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsfuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carltonpark, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit for Santa's Sunday Lunch. I'm sorry that your experience wasn't up to the standard of previous years and would like the opportunity to discuss your comments further. We work hard to ensure that our loyal customers remain satisfied year after year, and it is of concern to me that you had issues with the service this year. I look forward to discussing the matter with you and hopefully, convincing you to attend next year's event as you have done for the last eight years. Please contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I visited this hotel on Business yesterday. My lunch of Steak and Ale pie with chips was to die for, you must try this in the bar if you visit.
The service was friendly and very good even though they were very busy all day with loads of other people turning up for Christmas lunches and parties.
Our meeting room was a good size, all facilities were there and working and the buffet was a good selection of hot food and sandwiches. Plenty was served although we would have liked some cake or fruit as a pud!
If you do go here try the real ales, I had a Christmas special and it was very nice - and well kept.
Overall a good experience, I hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carltonpark, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you so much for your excellent review of the hotel. Steak and Ale Pie with a pint of real ale to wash it down with is certainly an excellent choice now the weather has turned colder - I'm glad that you enjoyed it so much! It's nice to get a review from a conference delegate; and nice to know that your experience was a pleasant one . We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Carlton Park in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I went today along with 20 friends to have Christmas lunch here.While the food was passable it was not great.The table looked very inviting although the room was cold.The cutlery looked dirty but it was because it had been left to dry with washing up water on it,the glasses also suffered with the same fate.The first course was OK.However when the main was served it was put on almost cold plates resulting in cold food before it was half eaten.

Please read this and act accordingly it is only just little things that need doing.

Staff seemed great !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carltonpark, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your recent review on our Christmas Fayre Lunch. Although I am surprised to hear your comments, I am grateful for you taking the time to bring them to our attention. Most of our customers over the festive period come back year after year; indeed, this is something we pride ourselves on, We can however, only continue to so this if we provide outstanding service and obviously, on this occasion, we have fallen short. I only hope that you will return to the hotel next year, if not sooner, in order for us to restore your faith in the Carlton Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed here while doing a course nearby. Staff were friendly and the food was very good in the bar. Didn't visit the leisure centre. Free internet is always good too...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carltonpark, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your nice review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the complimentary wifi service. It's a shame that you didn't get to visit our Spa; I hope that you remember your trunks next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.5 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
2.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
13.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Park Hotel

Property: Carlton Park Hotel
Address: 102-104 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Carlton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Park Rotherham
Carlton Park Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing