We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day.”
Review of Carlton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlton Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I feel rather bad posting this as I was taken on a Spa day at the Carlton Park by a friend as a treat. We arrived and found the Reception Staff to be rather disinterested. I hadn't brought a towel as usually on Spa days these are provided, not in this case. After asking another Guest to approach the Reception as we didn't know how to get out of the Spa area we were given Towels with no problems though being called a Silly devil by the receptionist was a little hmm. The Spa area itself is lovely but very small and the Jacuzzi was out of order. The changing rooms are also small with only one shower.

The lunch was lovely but the salt pots were dirty as were the display cabinets in the Bar area. Overall I would visit again but I do think it needs some improvement service wise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Teebsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Many thanks for your comments regarding your 'spa day' at the hotel. I thank you for your feedback regarding customer service and cleanliness which is of obvious concern to us. We sell so many on our Leisurely Lunch offer that it is important that we ensure a good experience so that people return. I will ensure that your comments are discussed amongst the management team and that procedures are put in place to ensure that things improve. We hope that you will try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

my husband and I were looking for a hotel just off the m1 to break up the journey up north. We were pleasantly surprised by the carlton park, room was tidy, clean but basic. Gym was small but well equipped, likewise with the pool area. Breakfast was ok, poached eggs were perfect, but other options left a little too be desired.

Overall for the price we paid, happy with the hotel and would use again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki_D987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and will pass on your comments regarding breakfast to our Head Chef. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst on business in ŷthe area, first impression was of a good standard of business Hotel for the area.
Despite the "non-smoking" room someone had been !
Being alone I decided to eat in the bar, bad move, 35 mts. For the starter but no cutlery, when I asked the waitress, all I got was "you need to get it yourself, it,s on the table" she then walked passed "the table" and spent the next 10 mts. talking to other staff
On reflection what should I expect for £70 in an an industrial area, this is not after all Park Lane.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank FrankJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. I'm sorry that your room appeared to be smoky. You may have been allocated a smoking room in error; however, we would have been more than happy to offer you an alternative had we known about it at the time. We do ask guests to help themselves to cutlery and condiments in the bar as a standard due to the informal dining style. Your comments regarding your wait for food have been passed on to the management team for review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

What can i say, we went to see the staff at the hotel to see if they could fit us in for our wedding reception, for 29 people, and this was less than three weeks before the wedding. They were very accommodating, they had the Oakwood Conservatory available and were absolutely fantastic in helping us organise the day. We arrived a little earlier than we should due to the weather and not being able to take photographs outside, but this was no problem to them and they took it all in their stride and quickly got welcoming drinks available and showed us into the room we had booked. We had asked them to provide a three course meal, and this was absolutely super, the choice was amazing, guests had five choices of starter, main and sweet, followed by tea/coffee and mints, and they actually printed out menus with our names and the date of our wedding, which was a nice souvenir. Everyone who attended commented on how fantastic the meal was, and as we were all sat on one big table it was very intimate and no one felt left out. We had asked for wine on the table, and cordial for the children and this was all taking care of to our liking, the staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you. We did notice that there was other wedding parties going on at the same time, but in no way did this impact on our wedding party. A big thank you from Susan and Michael, you made our day perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleSueRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your big day so much and that we were able to share in it with you. We wish you every happiness in your lives together and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just got back from a town night break on a buy a gift voucher. We upgraded to a four poster bed room (416) for an extra £50: first impressions were excellent, very romantic and although a very comfortable mattress the bed frame had obviously seen a lot of stress ( honeymoon suite) as every tiny movement made the bed creak horrendously! The room itself was a good size with 2 chairs, table, wardrobe, Bedside cabinets, free safe in bottom drawer of work top area, good sized tv on wall and free DVD selection available from reception with a £10 deposit or £20 for adult films. The selection was good with some up to date films to choose from.
The bathroom was a reasonable size with a shower over the bath. Small area on the sink top for basic toiletries but not enough room if you are someone who feels the need to take a cosmetics counter everywhere they go! A sewing kit, shoe shine kit and shower cap were also provided which was a nice touch.
The swimming pool looked good from the small view we got through the door but we did not have time to use this. The gym also looked OK for the fitness enthusiasts, although the full glass window showing everyone off in their " pumped up, sweaty state" to people walking past and the whole car park may put some people off! Not exactly a personal experience!!!
The breakfast was good with a full selection of cooked or continental plus cereals, yogurts, pastries etc. Something for everyone.
The meals were quite pricey eg. a 10" pizza being £11.95 plus £3.95 service charge for room service. Desserts were around the £4.95 price range for baileys cheesecake etc. I can't comment on portion sizes or room service as we ate out.
The staff on reception were friendly and actually Yorkshire people, which was a pleasant change from foreign staff.
The whole hotel was clean, warm and inviting.
It is a business hotel and a convention was held on the 2 days we were there plus an 80th party and a wake, but we never encountered any noise or problems.
The car park is large at the front with extra space at the back of the hotel.
Entertainment and party nights seem to be held regularly and could be good fun with a wide selection to choose from, such as 80's party nights and lookalike/soundalike performers in their own shows.
A great hotel for anyone and ideally located for a lot of attractions such as meadow hall, chats worth house, the Peak District, magna museum etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELAINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive review of the hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found so many aspects to be to your liking. Your comments about the creaking bed frame have been passed onto the Housekeeping Manager for investigation. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went here for a couple of nights armed with a list of a variety of tourist attractions to visit. Ended up being a miserable wet weekend so we spent most of the day in the Meadowhall shopping centre, 10 minutes up the road, and then coming back to take advantage of the hotel facilities. The wife went in the pool and hot tub while I used the gym facilities. We normally use Travelodge's as a cheap base for 4-5 day trips but decided to treat ourselves to something a bit more upmarket for a change. Yes the room was smaller than a Travelodge one but it felt more inviting and had a 32" TV and was big enough. The only disappoint me for me was that I had hoped to take advantage of the big screen by plugging my media player in to watch films. The TV is mounted on the wall so access to the connectors was not possible but the room had a DVD player and the hotel has a library of DVD's available. Very friendly, helpful staff and free wi-fi topped off a good weekend for us. We would definitely come here again especially as we did it reasonably cheaply on a Buyagift voucher.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us recently. It's a shame the wet weather prevented you from exploring all Yorkshire has to offer but at least you enjoyed some 'retail therapy'! We hope that you will use the hotel again for your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We also booked the Wowcher Chatsworth break. The hotel was well positioned for exploring the Peak District. The room had good facilities, not all that spacious but we weren't there to spend prolonged time in our room. Breakfast was good and plentiful with platters replenished frequently. The staff were friendly and well informed. We ate in the bar the food was good. (Chef the chips need longer). All in all extremely good value. If you visit Matlock bath eat at Charles a little bit more expensive than some of the other fish and chip restaurants, I had the combo(cod &scampi) the scampi is fabulous you would never wish too eat the frozen breaded stuff ever again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riro2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I'm delighted that you found the time during your stay to visit the nearby Peak District: stunningly beautiful, whilst finding the hotel to be to your liking. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel should you visit Yorkshire again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.5 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
957 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Consort Hotel
Best Western Consort Hotel
#12 of 15 in Rotherham
446 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Park Hotel

Address: 102-104 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: £52 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carlton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Park Rotherham
Carlton Park Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing