We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean hotel shame about the meal”
Review of Carlton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Arrived for a night's stay following a showing of Mrs Brown's boys very helpful In booking us in meal was set to be served in one room at 7pm then another room then upon going to that room was told another room only to be sent back again as for the meal it was beautiful when we finally got it people (us) were still waiting for main when some people were getting deserts also waiting for all 40 people to be there leaving us waiting and hungry also reminded the general manager of his manors

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review. Having taken the time to investigate your comments, it is possible that, given how busy we were on that evening, you were directed to the wrong room in error. I'm glad that you enjoyed the meal; however, sorry to hear of your wait for the food to be served. We do try to seat and serve large groups together which most people prefer but I'm unable to explain why some people were enjoying their dessert whilst others were yet to receive their main course. I must apologise if this was the case but stress that we didn't receive any complaints on the night. I hope that you will choose the Carlton Park Hotel again when next visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Had a good nights stay here. The hotel is a bit dated in places, the 'Spa' is very small and basic but does the job. It certainly isn't the 'ultimate spa experience' that it is promoted as. The gym is small with some basic pieces of gym equipment in. I picked this hotel because it had a gym and pool but found it to be adequate but basic and left feeling slightly disappointed. Food was really good and staff were nice and friendly. On the positive side I can't fault the value for money for the nights stay, I did get good value for the amount it cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review posted on Trip Advisor. I'm sorry that you felt underwhelmed by the Carlton Pak Spa. I agree that it is not a massive complex; however, it is pleasant with starlit swimming pool, sauna, steam room and whirlpool. We also have brand new equipment now in the gymnasium as well as new TV's. I'm pleased that you found all other aspects of the hotel to be to your liking and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights after getting a gift voucher for my birthday.

The hotel was close to the M1 so was easy to find. IT was also close to Meadowhall, a short drive away and Rotherham town center. A 20 minute or so drive will take you into Sheffield.

The hotel itself is great. Clean and tidy with all that we needed for our stay. Our room (304) came with a double bed, freeview TV and a DVD player which you could borrow DVDs from reception.
Our room also had a trouser press, iron and ironing board and kettle.

Breakfast was good on both mornings. You just go and sit down where you want, give the staff your room number and they will bring you tea toast. You then help yourselves to the hot buffet style breakfast which consisted of sausages, bacon, eggs, beans, mushrooms and hash browns. Also available was cereals, fruit juices and the usual continental breakfast stuff.

The hotel seems to have regular events, conferences and themed nights. The only problem with this is that the car park gets extremely full an it's difficult to find a space.

Overall, great hotel, great gift, great breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for all your positive comments about facilities and food. I'm sorry to hear that you had issues parking. As you mention, the hotel is often busy with conferences, events and residents; however, we do try and alleviate the issues when we anticipate car parking problems by arranging parking at the hotel next door. I hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Lovely staff. Lovely rooms. We stayed for two nights me and a friend. Both mid20's girls. The room was lovely. Everything was in tact and clean. We rented out some movies from reception. £10 deposit but returned when the DVD was returned. Good selection. Staff were more than happy to help when the DVD didn't work they came and sorted it for us. We ordered breakfast for room service as it was only £3.50 which I thought was great. We got a huge breakfast. Full cooked English. Toast. Jams butters. Muffins. Fruit. And pastries. And coffee. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks for your superb review following your stay with us! Don't leave it too long before you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

we stayed at the Carlton park on 22 November 2013 for one night. As soon as we arrived at reception staff were there. They were friendly polite, all staff at Carlton were the same. The room was lovely clean and big enough for the 3 of us. Breakfast staff were great in fact for the price we paid excellent value for money. My daughter used the pool and we were offered towels as soon as we said we wanted to use the pool.

Room Tip: we had a family room which has a double and a proper size single bed definetly worth the money and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Carlton Park Hotel, Rotherham and for your lovely comments. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on 8th november 2013 for my dads 50th birthday. It was very good value for money we went on the comedy club evening which included a 3 course meal and one night stay with access to the gym and swimming pool all for £58.00 each! Food was lovely and a disco after the comedy club i would recommed this night to all ages, and would defently go again. Rooms was clean and there was a bootle of wine and a box of chocolates waiting in the room which was a lovely suprise. Very nice hotel for a night away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaydot03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our Comedy Club and accommodation package. It's great to hear that you had such a fantastic time at the hotel. We offer many different events on a weekend with some great accommodation packages available as well. We hope to see you again at the hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I feel rather bad posting this as I was taken on a Spa day at the Carlton Park by a friend as a treat. We arrived and found the Reception Staff to be rather disinterested. I hadn't brought a towel as usually on Spa days these are provided, not in this case. After asking another Guest to approach the Reception as we didn't know how to get out of the Spa area we were given Towels with no problems though being called a Silly devil by the receptionist was a little hmm. The Spa area itself is lovely but very small and the Jacuzzi was out of order. The changing rooms are also small with only one shower.

The lunch was lovely but the salt pots were dirty as were the display cabinets in the Bar area. Overall I would visit again but I do think it needs some improvement service wise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Teebsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Many thanks for your comments regarding your 'spa day' at the hotel. I thank you for your feedback regarding customer service and cleanliness which is of obvious concern to us. We sell so many on our Leisurely Lunch offer that it is important that we ensure a good experience so that people return. I will ensure that your comments are discussed amongst the management team and that procedures are put in place to ensure that things improve. We hope that you will try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.5 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
956 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Consort Hotel
Best Western Consort Hotel
#12 of 15 in Rotherham
442 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
12.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Park Hotel

Address: 102-104 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: £52 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carlton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Park Rotherham
Carlton Park Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing