We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service in a super hotel”
Review of Carlton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel with an exceptionally high standard of service. I was staying there while visiting a seriously ill relative in the nearby Rotherham Hospital and we had to change our plans at short notice, often after the official check out time. They could not have been more flexible and helpful, and always with a smile. I cannot thank them enough.
The rooms and the public areas are first class with luxurious curtains, fabrics and furnishings. And magnificent value.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms tend to be more spacious than some on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write such as wonderful review following your stay with us. It's nice of you to notice, and to mention, the quality of furnishings in the hotel. The owners never cut corners on providing quality furniture and soft furnishings - something that sometimes goes unnoticed on these pages! We appreciate your candid review and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not a bad stay on the whole but it could really do with a proper Hoover on stairs, corridors and under the beds! Gym didn't open until 7am ( too late for guests needing to have breakfast & go to work). Gym equipment needs updating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review. Your comments regarding cleanliness will be passed to the Housekeeping Manager as this is something upon which we pride ourselves. We did take advice from residents when deciding the opening hours of our Carlton Park Spa and most preferred for the complex to stay open later rather than open earlier; however, I appreciate that this is a matter of opinion and will certainly pass on your feedback to our General Manager. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Quick fuss free check in. Sandwiches pre-ordered for after concert and wine waiting in the room (part of their offer if going to areana for a gig) The room was more than big enough and had ample storage spaces. After dumping our bags we went straight to spa area and spent a lovely couple of hours relaxing. The pool is rather small, but the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were very good and the shower in the changing room was so powerful, lovely. As I was traveling with my 9 year old daughter I don't know about the bar areas. The cooked breakfast was very nice and fresh with plenty of fresh fruit, cereals and juices also available. I would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefcrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments - I hope that you enjoyed the concert as much as the hotel! We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times but were disappointed this time. Lounge area which is not big has been taken over by two large tv's so can now be described as a sports bar - not good for the traveller who wishes to relax with their partner. The alternative is the lobby area where when functions aren't on the bar is closed. It's spoilt the ambiance. The rooms are clean and check in is quick - breakfast is fresh and adequate but please put some WD40 on all doors to the kitchen - the constant squeaking drives you mad! The cereal area was very messy. Wasted cereal left as staff walked by from the dispensers - staff seemed slow and didn't have a smile for anyone. There is adequate parking - and the pool area is nice - it's just the little things that are neglected which customers notice when they are paying - and it's not cheap - for comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunchofwhiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your comments following your stay at the Carlton Park. We do have two televisions in the Carlton Bar and show live sporting events on Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3 which is immensely popular with the majority of residents; however, I appreciate that this doesn't suit everyone. You correctly point out that the lounge area, with piano, chandeliers and water features, offers a respite from the atmosphere of the bar where you can sit and read a book for instance, in peace. We do take feedback very seriously and thank you for your comments regarding your experience at breakfast. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here with friends as we were going to a Party nearby so it was really handy. We got a good deal by booking late on, the rooms were really nice, a bit small but for the money they were good. Nice Bar and good bar meals, the breakfast was very good too. There are theme nights and Disco so the hotel was really busy, this was not a problem as the place is quite big. We arrived back in at 1.30 am, there was a really nice young lad who was the nightman, he let us in and got us drinks and made toast, he was also hoovering and that meant he couldn't hear the front door, we had to go and tell him there were people trying to get in, the people (who were drunk) were not amused at having to wait outside in the cold, it was April. I have not stayed in a hotel where it is so difficult to get in before, the next day when we were checking out, we pointed out that there was a problem with the fire escape signs, on the front door there are signs saying it is a fire escape, these doors are locked at night and we couldn't open them (to let the drunken guests in) the nightman has the keys, we pointed out that Firedoors should never be locked, the girl on the reception seemed to take offence at the suggestion that it was wrong....like we had punched her in the face, she slammed about and was really short with us, That is the only thing I didn't like about he Carlton

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrorchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review following your stay with us recently. I'm delighted to learn that you liked the hotel so much and managed to find a great deal. In regard to the fire exits, the external door is kept locked after 11pm for security reasons; however, next to the door is a break glass point containing a key for the door, making it perfectly legal. The hotel completely adheres to fire safety laws and regulations and is inspected regularly by fire officers. We apologise for the incident regarding the nightporter. There is a phone outside the front doors; however, as you say, it seems the noise of the vacuum meant that he didn't hear the phone. Let me assure you that it is very rare for this to happen as the nightporter phone is portable and carried around throughout the night. We hope that you will choose the Carlton Park Hotel again are reassured by our fire safety policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a voucher for 2 nights B&B and this was one of the hotels on the list, chosen so we could visit the peak district.
We had a lovely, enthusiastic welcome on check in. Our room was nicely decorated and well equipped with tea tray and toiletries etc. We were at the back so nice and quiet, overlooking school grounds next door. We slept well both nights and weren't disturbed by the music event on the friday or the wedding on the saturday!
We used the spa after a day walking in the hills - very welcome relaxation - a nice little pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.
Breakfast was good - pretty much everything you could ask for was available from cooked to fruit to croissants and plenty of tea a toast! They even had marmite so full marks!
All in all a really good weekend away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4dchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay recently. I'm pleased that you found time to sample our spa: the perfect tonic for aching muscles after a hard day's hiking! We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here on 17th may 2014. Never stayed at the carlton park before, but would definately recommend this hotel.
The staff was all very polite, helpful and friendly. The hotel very clean.The bed was so comfy, didn't want to get up this morning.Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and really tasty.
I cannot fault the service we received and would highly recommend this hotel. We will be back soon. I didn't realise there was a spa, so didn't use it this time, but will do next time.

Room Tip: We was at the back of the hotel,it was very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review of your stay with us earlier this month. I'm delighted to hear that you found our facilities to be to your liking and that we impressed you so much. Be sure to make time for a dip in the pool and the relaxing jacuzzi next time you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.5 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
948 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Consort Hotel
Best Western Consort Hotel
#12 of 15 in Rotherham
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
12.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,501 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Park Hotel

Address: 102-104 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: £44 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Park Rotherham
Carlton Park Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing