We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”
Review of Carlton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed there with a group of friends on Saturday night - Prices varied for each of us, often for no apparent reason - seems you have to check all booking options to get the best price. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in had a very small double bed, which was not the most comfortable and is probably ready for replacing, but everywhere was clean which is a bonus! Breakfast was greasy with limited selection, and not 'topped up' very quickly considering the number of guests. Good location for getting around Rotherham and surrounding area. However, there are cheaper hotels in the area, so will not bother staying at the Carlton Park in future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauli925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review. Prices do vary, as with most hotels, depending on when you book and through which website; however, the best price is always to be found by booking directly with us. Your comments regarding breakfast will be discussed at our next management meeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed there with a group of friends at the weekend. Friendly staff - very helpful, nice decor and rooms, nice bar and lounge area. A mere 10 mins drive from central Rotherham - including the train station - so v handy. A good choice for a budget stay. Also nearby are a few nice pubs and a local Tesco.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineF1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely great food and service from the team had a really excellent afternoon and night! The only downside was the in house DJ. Really disappointed us and ruined a perfectly good day. Many requests to him were met by he was having technical problems, I.e. we wanted songs not on his play list amd his mike madebthe awful screeching sounds. Some way in aftwr about 80% of our guest had complained to yhe DJ Simon and myself having a few choice words he finally started to play some better music.
Sadly this was a bit late and the atmosphere was already spoilt, but im sure he had a good time as I counted tge 10 bottles of Stella he had drunk!
My best advice would be to hire your own DJ unless you want 0 atmosphere.
Im afraid Carlton this really let you down and after all he was you DJ!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your comments following the recent wedding reception. It's a shame that you chose to award us with 1/5 despite enjoying all aspects of the day, apart from the DJ. Rest assured that your comments have been investigated and appropriate action taken. You are correct in asserting that the conduct of contracted entertainment, such as DJ's and cabaret acts, reflects on the hotel. I hope that your negative experience didn't impair your enjoyment of the big day too much and that you will return again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I had my hen party here when it was the dirty dancing theme night it was absolutely perfect food was amazing staff were brilliant such a good night and will definitely be booking to go again, would recommend for anyone to go there for a night out

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Swallow82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for allowing us to share in your special occasion and for writing such a glowing review! We are just in the process of compiling our September to December Calendar of Events which is packed with exciting nights out. Don’t leave it too long before you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for business. To summarise a good hotel although the room decor is a little old and tired. However, rooms were clean and a nice view from the window, plus ample free parking. Would normally stay in a higher class hotel for business but I think this is one of the better hotels in rotherham. Staff are friendly and attentive. Didn't try food so can't comment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHtravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review following your stay with us. I'm pleased that you found the hotel to be reasonably priced and of good quality. We hope to see you again at the hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our visit to the hotel was a present for my two daughters and myself for afternoon tea, arrived and took drinks onto the terrace.( rubbish bins need removing to another area and not outside side door). Afternoon Tea very well presented ( Old English Rose china) made the table look very impressive. the service was friendly and professional. The finger sandwiches had had imagination and thought put into the fillings. the scones and cakes were delicious and lashing of cream, only downside no jam. I would certainly recommend this as a present.
The Ladies toilets, these need to be brought up to date and made more attractive, very basic so say the least. However a very pleasant afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent afternoon tea at the hotel and for your lovely comments. We have noted your comments about the ladies toilets which will be discussed in the next management meeting. We hope that you will chose the Carlton Park again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Met my mum and sister at this hotel for afternoon tea today. I can honestly say that it was more then I expected. We ate in the lounge bar. The table was beautifully laid with pretty crockery. The staff were friendly and attentive but not intrusive. The best part was the food. A wide selection of sandwiches with tasty fillings. Far more then we could eat and we have very healthy appetites. A fantastic selection of cakes and scones. Full size slices not silly one mouthful and it's gone portions. There was no scrimping on the tea and coffee. Would I go back again for afternoon tea.....Oh yes .Anything I would change. yes. Jam with the scone would have been nice. Lovely lounge area but the ladies loos need a revamp.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scaryDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I'm delighted that you enjoyed afternoon tea with us at the hotel recently. This is new to the hotel and has proven extremely popular. We hope that you will join us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
4.5 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
919 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
570 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
12.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Park Hotel

Address: 102-104 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: £47 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Park Rotherham
Carlton Park Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing