We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$69
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Rotherham East(Rotherham)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Consort Hotel(Rotherham)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockingham Arms(Rotherham)
US$68
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Welcome Inn(Rotherham)
US$63
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
232
281
173
72
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
281
173
72
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdvd playerladies nightwowcher dealsteam roomfour posterspa facilitieshen partysky sportspool and saunatrouser pressgreat nightevening mealbreakfast staffironing boardboth morningsbottle of winefood was lovely
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

After reviewing this hotel ,I decided to treat my partner to a weekend away and on reflection I wish I would of chosen another hotel..... The staff in the evening were friendly but had to wait for coffee and toast in the morning while the staff ate their breakfast!!!!!!! Also went to the bar 10 minutes before they advertise their happy hour which we were not t old about and end up paying £7.20 for two drinks yet 15 mins later I'm told of the happy hour .. Room hadn't been cleaned under the bed in god knows how long ????? We only found this out when it moved when we got on it . The whole hotel needs a good clean and it is very dated.And please don't order room service as a sandwich and chips was £12.45 and trust me it wasn't that great so please think twice before booking ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nigel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Happy Hour is mentioned in the Guest Compendium which was available in your room. On check in we do our best to be friendly, welcoming and informative, furnishing the guest with all relevant information in order to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Obviously no one wants to be standing at the desk being regaled with lots of information (which, let's be honest, we all forget!) and so we try to be as concise as possible. Your comments regarding cleanliness have been passed on to the Housekeeping Manager as we do pride ourselves on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked in to the hotel early so we could shower and change before going to the wedding. The room was ready when we arrived at mid day, it was very clean and tidy. We where part of a wedding which was great, the food was really nice. The breakfast was great to. Only down side go the wedding was the DJ to put it blunt he was a waist of time did not play what was asked for. This man was not worth paying and if I was the groom he would not have got paid. Over all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and over looked rugby pitches has window open all night and could not hear traffic.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review following the wedding reception which you attended recently. I'm delighted that you enjoyed yourself and rated the hotel positively. As stated in a previous response, I thank you for your candid comments regarding the DJ. We are responsive to feedback from guests and welcome constructive criticism. We hope to see you back at the hotel before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed there with a group of friends on Saturday night - Prices varied for each of us, often for no apparent reason - seems you have to check all booking options to get the best price. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in had a very small double bed, which was not the most comfortable and is probably ready for replacing, but everywhere was clean which is a bonus! Breakfast was greasy with limited selection, and not 'topped up' very quickly considering the number of guests. Good location for getting around Rotherham and surrounding area. However, there are cheaper hotels in the area, so will not bother staying at the Carlton Park in future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauli925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review. Prices do vary, as with most hotels, depending on when you book and through which website; however, the best price is always to be found by booking directly with us. Your comments regarding breakfast will be discussed at our next management meeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed there with a group of friends at the weekend. Friendly staff - very helpful, nice decor and rooms, nice bar and lounge area. A mere 10 mins drive from central Rotherham - including the train station - so v handy. A good choice for a budget stay. Also nearby are a few nice pubs and a local Tesco.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineF1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely great food and service from the team had a really excellent afternoon and night! The only downside was the in house DJ. Really disappointed us and ruined a perfectly good day. Many requests to him were met by he was having technical problems, I.e. we wanted songs not on his play list amd his mike madebthe awful screeching sounds. Some way in aftwr about 80% of our guest had complained to yhe DJ Simon and myself having a few choice words he finally started to play some better music.
Sadly this was a bit late and the atmosphere was already spoilt, but im sure he had a good time as I counted tge 10 bottles of Stella he had drunk!
My best advice would be to hire your own DJ unless you want 0 atmosphere.
Im afraid Carlton this really let you down and after all he was you DJ!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your comments following the recent wedding reception. It's a shame that you chose to award us with 1/5 despite enjoying all aspects of the day, apart from the DJ. Rest assured that your comments have been investigated and appropriate action taken. You are correct in asserting that the conduct of contracted entertainment, such as DJ's and cabaret acts, reflects on the hotel. I hope that your negative experience didn't impair your enjoyment of the big day too much and that you will return again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews