We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two star by name two star by nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Restover Lodge Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Two star by name two star by nature”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

An overnight stay on the way north. The room was functional - everything provided (tea, coffee, very basic towels etc.), beds o.k. shower and tv worked. Hotel advertises a restaurant but the duty member of staff said he was too busy to cook! (A Saturday night!)Pub doing carvery just up the road - not the best but reasonably priced.
For somewhere to break a journey the Restover Lodge provides a satisfactory answer - especially when booked on late rooms- I think we'd expect more for full price!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Young-once
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    23
    8
    32
See reviews for
22
32
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Ok hotel, nothing spesh, you get what you pay for.

Breakfast was AMAZAING! so nice.

Staff friendly.

placed in an industrial estate but a Morrisons close by.

Room Tip: Cheap + cheerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrieshrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This is a 2 star hotel and the price is good. The rooms are simple, basic even but a flat screen tv and coffee/tea making facilities together with good size bathroom and plenty of hangers make it more than adequate. We had a very warm welcome and were lucky enough to 'borrow' the leisure facilities tickets for the neighbouring hotel. Had a great stay. Breakfast was plentiful, cold juice (rather than horrid warm), plenty of cooked food and freshly made toast and we were even invited to take muffins/croissants away with us for lunch! All in all made a good budget stay and would definitely recommend for the traveller not wanting to spend all their money on the room they probably only want to sleep in.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffdrop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2010

after reading the reviews on here i was a bit hesitant about my stay here, i was only staying for one night & didn't have any other options but to eat in the restaurant, on the whole it was a very pleasurable stay.

yes its slap bang in the middle of an industrial estate & right next to the motorway but it was very comfortable, clean & tidy. i ate in the restaurant & enjoyed free internet browsing whilst waiting for my food. i only had a burger & chips but it was very tasty & hot with a very fresh side salad.

my room was good, considering it was cheap. much nicer than some expensive travel-lodges i have had to stay in. the bed was comfy with fresh clean crisp sheets, i had to retune the tv to receive all the freeview channels but this was a minor inconvenience, i just let it scan through whilst i was taking a shower. The shower was brilliantly powerful! (Ive stayed in a few hotels where the shower is like Chinese water torture) which was a welcome relief after a hard day.

the staff were very helpful & the breakfast was fantastic too. I have to stay in a different hotel each night because of my job.

don't expect too much from it & you wont be disappointed overall this has to be one of the better hotels Ive stayed in on a budget

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loadsamileage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2010

If you have ever seen the film 'No Vacancy' you will have a perfect idea of the room standard at Restover Lodge. If not I strongly suggest you watch it before considering booking this 'Hotel'. Dirty and unclean rooms, no ventilation in the bathrooms so if you have a shower get ready for a steam room and watch the smoke alarm. There was a substance on the mirror and floor which I can only describe as blood, so the off white stained towels were used to cover the floor. Only two of the three lights worked in the room. No hairdryer, no toilet brush, the only accessable socket was squashed between the table and wall, blanket screwed up in storage space. It was lucky we were there for a night out as I dont think I would have stayed there sober.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_peanut_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotherham hotels

Saltburn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

On arriving at the Restover, we weren't expecting a fantastic room for the price.....our expectations were met on getting into our room; very basic, although not necessarily unclean. We then decided to eat in the restaurant thinking again that it was hardly going to be fantastic but probably cheapish and would satisfy our hunger as we were starving. WELL, first of all it was 15 pounds per person for 3 courses, which seemed a bit steep for such a basic hotel, but on getting our courses, I doubt now whether I would pay 15 pence for the 3 courses, never mind 15 quid. My wife had the soup, and this is no lie, it tasted like cigarettes. When you consider we got our starters within about 30 seconds (literally) of ordering them and the fact that the actual restaurant was filthy, they obviously had a vat of soup that someone was smoking over and a fag butt (or 3) fell into it. I had the prawn cocktail, not great but edible. Unfortunately, we had already ordered our main courses (chicken chasseur and mushroom stroganoff) which arrived 3 minutes after our starters, so before we could think about cancelling, we had our main meals. These consisted of a) a bowl of gravy with bits of chicken floating in it and a bed of packeted rice on the side and b) a bowl of canned, hardly cooked mushrooms in a disgusting, watery sauce and another side of packeted rice. Yuck! The desserts we had were ok but clearly out of a box. Just to top it off, the docile 'chef' was quite rude with us when he had to take our half eaten meals away. In the end, we ordered a pizza from the nearby domino's (we funnily enough found the phone number from a pizza box left in the lobby to our room, they must have had the same idea as us!) so we didn't end up going hungry at least!

My wife and I are not picky, and for me to write this review shows how I am genuinely warning people not to go in the restaurant! By the way, the breakfast was adequate and complementary, almost gourmet compared to our dinner! But do NOT go to the restaurant on an evening!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njbandtmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billericay
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Like many others staying at this Hotel we are taking trade courses at the near by MET Centre. First impression is this place in smack bang in the middle of an Industrial Estate. The layout reminded me of an American style Motel as you can drive up to the room. The rooms are very basic but certainly adaquent for crashing out after a hard day. The shower must be the most powerful water presure I have ever experienced. The only negative aspect is the TV is on the small side. Also there was alot of people complaining about trucks reversing all night with their Beep-beep-beep warning sounds however to be honest I got used to it. The Bar/Resturant is OK with cheap specials on the menu range from average to very good. The staff are very helpful and at the time of writing the receptionist is very professional and polite. They also run quiz nights on thursday. A nice to see they make an effort.

  • Liked — Quiz Nights on Thursday and Happy hour in the bar before 7pm
  • Disliked — Trucks reversing, Rabbits in the carpark
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank martinryder1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
854 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Consort Hotel
Best Western Consort Hotel
#7 of 15 in Rotherham
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Welcome Inn
The Welcome Inn
#11 of 15 in Rotherham
145 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
5.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restover Lodge Hotel

Property: Restover Lodge Hotel
Address: Denby Way Lowton Way | Hellaby Industrial Estate, Rotherham S66 8RY, England (Formerly the Campanile Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Restover Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Restover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Restover Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing