We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelt like an ashtray”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Restover Lodge Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Smelt like an ashtray”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

On arrival the member of staff that greeted me, seemed very friendly and helpful. However when I got to the room and opened the door, the room stunk of stale smoke (and this was a non smoking room?). This smell was so bad that this lingering stale smell clung to all our clothes, even clothes we hadn't worn!! The ceiling had mould and damp, there was only 1 plug (for a 2 person room) and the lighting was very limited - with a corner light (this was the main one), a small table lamp, then there was 2 bedside lamps that had no bulbs in. So unless it was daylight you couldn't see much. Only positives are, we didn't pay too much, and the shower was powerful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heff9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    23
    8
    31
See reviews for
22
31
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Good friendly service. Pleasantly decorated. Polite prompt service. Clean room. Good food. Just what i needed after a long day on the road. Having read other reviews i was a bit worried about what i was going to find but i didn't need to worry. The place is clean, Tom couldn't be more friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanMac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

This place is truly grim. Just checked in & want to check straight out. Room smells of damp & hasn't had a good clean for a while. The room has been set up for 2 adults and a child & they kindly provided one bath towel, very thoughtful!
Unless you don't care for personal hygiene & are happy to spend the night in a dark stinky pit then pitch a tent rather than stay here, it's terrible. Ibis up the road would be a better budget stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skinbob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotherham hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Room was ok for a nights stay, but thought it was rather strange that we were told where the bedding was kept to enable us to make up our own bed on arrival. Also reception guy was really unhelpful and told us he couldn't open bar because he was on his own and couldn't be in two places at the same time. So to sum it up ok if you need a bed for the night but not somewhere I would choose to stay in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie070800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

On arrival given the room 23. It smelt of damp. Went to put my daughters clothes in the draw and the draws were filthy. Bathroom had mold on ceiling and around tiles. The wall next to the bin had something splattered on it wasn't sure if it was sick or tea coffee stains. Partner went to reception and she was very apologetic and gave us room 16. Which can I say made me physically want to throw up as the damp in this bathroom was worse and the smell was terrible. I then went to see the receptionist who then gave us room 20. Which was so much better and was happy......until we had 3 sleepless night's thanks to the haulage company nextdoor as all u could hear was beep beep all night. Each day we had to go to reception as our door card didn't work. This place really needs an upgrade I know it's only 2star but at least it should be clean an damp free. Now the positives the staff were really nice and friendly, the bar and restaurant was nice we even had breakfast which was lovely but a little overpriced. Would I stay here again? NO.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A really rather dated, shabby, dingy place, more like American motels, with rooms opening to the outside.Small, only about 50 rooms, with very few staff. Set in the middle of an industrial estate.
First impressions were bad, there was a mix up with our booking, and our teenage children, boy and girl, had a double room instead of the twin I'd booked. They did try to find an alternative but nothing was available, however they offered us free breakfasts to make up for it.
On the plus side although the rooms were small and smelt a bit musty, they had been thoroughly cleaned and nothing was broken.
Also the food was excellent, not posh but basic stuff very well cooked and at a reasonably price. Breakfast was limited in choice but acceptable and good value compaired to some budget hotels, with a lower price if you didn't want cooked food.

The management seems to have changed recently and the new guy is doing his best despite the drawbacks of the old buildings, and an inefficient booking system.

Room Tip: They are all the same, except the ground floor open onto outside paths, and on the first floor they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here for one night as it was much cheaper than other local hotels. We wasn't in the room much as we was attending a party nearby. The rooms was clean and the receptionist was very welcoming. I would say it is better than some Travelodge's we have stayed in previously!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
842 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Consort Hotel
Best Western Consort Hotel
#7 of 15 in Rotherham
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
5.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
867 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Welcome Inn
The Welcome Inn
#11 of 15 in Rotherham
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restover Lodge Hotel

Property: Restover Lodge Hotel
Address: Denby Way Lowton Way | Hellaby Industrial Estate, Rotherham S66 8RY, England (Formerly the Campanile Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Restover Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Restover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Restover Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing