We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok stay at the Holiday Inn Rotherham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
165 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Just ok stay at the Holiday Inn Rotherham”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed here previously so I new to ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as the main road is very noisy.
The rooms are bright and clean with comfortable beds.
The swimming pool was out of action during my stay.
The real let down was the food and service.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant and we found the food to be uninspiring and poor value for money.
The duck starter was particularly disappointing – hardly any meat or cucumber to fill the pancakes.
For some reason the bar staff could never remember 4 drinks, each time we received incorrect drinks?
Breakfast was ok – although the pre cooked sausages were un edible.
They need to address the food issue if they want to retain their repeat guests.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekers-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I was delighted to read that you have stayed with us a on a number of occasions, we really appreciate you choosing to stay with us. As you say, as we are situated on a busy road there is always going to be an element of traffic noise and if you are a light sleeper then a room at the back of the hotel would be best. The bedrooms in the hotel were all recently refurbished and it is great to read that you found the rooms to be bright and the new beds to be comfortable. We are currently refurbishing the leisure club, so the swimming pool is closed at the moment, again once this is completed this area will also look and feel fantastic.
I was really disappointed to read your comments regarding the food quality and the service that you received in our restaurant, as you can read from previous reviews we pride ourselves upon great food and great service and I am really sorry that your experience was not to this standard. I will certainly be discussing your feedback with my chef and food and beverage manager and we will make sure that the team are aware of the standards required and that they are consistently delivered. Once again many thanks for your constructive comments which will only help us to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    220
    109
    48
    33
See reviews for
117
136
23
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a room and was upgraded to a suite for just £14.00 per night. Stayed for 3 nights.
Reception staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Booked Breakfast and Evening meal in advance.
On the first night I was given a la carte. On the second night I was shown table d'hote menu which I should have had on the first night. However, staff acknowledged their mistake and I was not charged any extra for a la carte..
The breakfast is good, however, it is buffet style and the hot food is not replenished or monitored regularly. You have to ask for replenishment, it does come, but had to wait.
The only downside to breakfast is that you have to order poached or fried eggs through a waiter. What would expidite the service a little would be to be asked when you are waiting to be seated if you would like fried or poached eggs.

On the whole a very good stay and would definatley return.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade, you never know what bargains are to be had. Also try and book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and will stay with us again in the future. It was great to read that you found the Reception team to be friendly and knowledgeable and that you received good customer service throughout your stay. I was disappointed that your breakfast experience was not great, we have been working to improve this area and I certainly take your comments on board and will discuss with my Food & Beverage Manager to make sure that we focus on this area and make improvements going forward. Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting Rotherham.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

we visited this location previously and again we were not disappointed ,food served was plentiful,on hot plates and well portioned on your plate and even better tasting on your palate,Beverage/real ale and wines a varied selection at affordable prices,service was excellent,plenty of car park,toilet facilities and TV viewing the world cup made it a memorable night,well worth a visit,rooms were very clean and a decent bed to sleep iN.

Room Tip: try to get the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that this was not your first visit to the hotel and that this visit was as good as your last. I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay and found the hotel & services to be excellent. I trust we will see you again soon, once again many thanks.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Being clean and comfortable are two of the themes that run through my review's. There's nothing I like more than a comfortable nights sleep in a clean hotel room.
In my view, if a hotel room is clean, then it is a very good indication of high standards; our room was incredibly clean!
We stayed on the ground floor, no concerns, there was a function on also, no noise was heard from this at all, a bonus!
Breakfast was very good value £15 for 2 of us, although buffet style, the food was cooked well, fresh and most importantly hot!!! The coffee was excellent.
Great road links as just off the M1, some noise can be heard from the busy dual carriageway, but nothing that would spoil a sleep on a most comfortable bed!
All in all a very good hotel stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swinners2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was fantastic to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean & comfortable, the team to be welcoming & friendly and your stay to be good value for money. I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting the area and once again many thanks.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very impressed with size of our room - very clean (although bath not cleaned on my 3rd day there!!) and the openness of the hotel. Efficient reception staff and lifts came quickly when called. First night restaurant food was lovely but slow in coming as not very busy but on last evening had lovely main course but oh dear oh dear - the sweet was anything but!!! Terrible. My partner chose Eton mess but all he got was a purchased meringue shell with 2 small dollops of cream and some very tart fruits of the forest - awful!! But I asked for the Banana Banoffee with ice cream and butterscotch sauce but what came was really quite the opposite. Firstly chocolate ice cream (chocolate with bannoffee - no way) and I really hate chocolate ice cream - sent it back. Quite a while later I was told they had no vanilla ice cream that I said was what I expected but no all they had was strawberry. Said that would be ok but then almost 10 minutes later I could not believe my eyes when they brought me a plate of bananas and strawberry ice cream - no sauce or anything else. I was getting very annoyed now!! Asked why there was no sauce and turns out they only had chocolate sauce so had not put any on as that was all they had and hoped to get away with it instead of the butterscotch which is what siold it to me in the first place. BUT THESE PUDDINGS WERE £5.50 EACH so not cheap. Really annoyed now and sent it back and just asked for bill. Not happy with way I was treated - so beware and ask if they have all ingredients stated on menu. The restaurant itself is very basic looking and not in keeping with how good rest of hotel is. Quite expensive too especially for burgers!! But saying that the breakfast was EXCELLENT with good choices and tasty. So would use again but it was part of a Leger holiday so no idea how much it would have cost for b and b.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front very noisy with road traffic as on a very busy main road and if wanted to open wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the hotel and team. I apologise for the problems that you experienced in terms of your bathroom not being cleaned correctly and the desserts in the restaurant. I have spoken with my housekeeping team, chef and food & beverage manager to make sure we do not experience these problems again. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about the shortfalls during your stay, as this will help us to improve the hotel and services that we offer. Once again many thanks and I hope that we will see you again the next time you are visiting the area.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A really enjoyable stay in a well managed hotel with great staff and a good restaurant, gym, pool.
We were visiting Wentworth Woodhouse and thought this would be a convenient stopover (a Sunday night), it turned out to be exceptionally good in both quality and value. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: All seemed good, road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irthlingborough43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be exceptional in both quality and value for money. We all really appreciate your feedback which helps us to continually improve the hotel and services that we offer. Once again many thanks and I trust we will see you again the next time you are in the area.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for work purpose and found the hotel's staff exceptional. They were uber friendly, helpful and accommodating. Will definitely go back there again. The restaurant staff were also really fantastic particularly at breakfast time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJTodd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for posting such a great review, It is always fantastic to read comments such as yours regarding the team, I will be sure to share this with everyone who will all be delighted to hear they are doing a such a great job. Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.

Regards

Richard Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
1.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rotherham East (M18/M1) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33

Property: Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Address: West Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4NA, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Rotherham)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Is a modern hotel just off the M1 motorway conveniently located for Sheffield city centre Rotherham and Meadowhall Shopping Centre. As our guest, you'll be met with outstanding service, a spacious bedroom with ergonomic workspace, cotton linen and high-speed internet access. For breakfast or dinner the restaurant in the Holiday Inn tempts with international cuisine or choose the lounge where light meals are served throughout the day where wireless internet access is available. The hotel also boasts a superb refurbished leisure club, with large 17.5 Metre indoor pool, spa, steam, sauna and gym . For Rotherham conferences the Holiday Inn Rotherham Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Offers 11 well-designed, air-conditioned Meeting rooms filled with natural daylight, accommodating up to 250 delegates with a large car park for up to 260 cars. Near to attractions such as the Peak District National Park, Chatsworth House, Ponds Forge, Hallam FM Arena, Don Valley Stadium, Magna Science Adventure Centre and near to the many business parks in the Sheffield region, the Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Is the perfect choice for business or leisure. Planning a wedding or special event in Rotherham? Call now for information about our amazing packages. Want to get fit? Join our leisure club now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield m1, Jct. 33 Hotel Rotherham
Rotherham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing