We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquis

Marquis
Ranked #60 of 305 Restaurants in Rotherham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Spent just over £18 for a devil dog and a drink, exactly what it say on the tin, took 15 mins to arrive looked good and tasted even better( a little hot tho) service was gd, was on my own, friendly atmosphere and a lad called Elliot made me feel more then comfortable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    34
    27
    17
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smaller portions. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We have visited the pub on a number of occasions and on latest visit was disappointed, portions smaller, but same price, menu confusing and staff seem more interested in talking to each other rather than serving on the bar. Food took 15 mins and was hot so no complaints there, however presentation was poor and looked thrown together. Place is clean and comfortable, needs decorating but car parking is good.

Helpful?
Thank PubGrubMunchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

As we arrived at the marquis it was clearly very busy and thought we best of going somewhere else... How wrong was I, it turned out that we received some of the best service we have ever received. Justin the manager in the green dapper shirt :) was very attentive and made a real fuss of our little girl, he came over and explained to her that they had no pepper for her veg and offered her something else, this made our girl feel very special as he already provided her with colouring sheets and crayons she was able to really warm to him very quickly. The food we received was what you would expect and we all found it good value for money. I felt I had to write this report just for the service we received, we will be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helenlittle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

As we live near the Marquis we do visit quite often, but doubt very much we will be going again as the food is very much going downhill. Went out for a family tea. I do appreciate that the food is very reasonably priced with a lot of the meals being 2 for £10. I would therefore not expect it to be of Michelin star standard or anywhere near. However, do not tell me you serve hand battered cod and then give me a frozen grey/off white lump that was inedible. There were 4 of us and all our meals were cold. After leaving most of the food we were looking forward to the usually fantastic chocolate fudge cake, but on this visit it looked like it had just been thrown on the plate with no care at all. Yes they do offer a no quibble guarantee, but English people being English do not complain, perhaps through fear of our food been spit on (not that I am saying this would happen at the Marquis).

Overall a very poor experience and one that we will not be falling over ourselves to repeat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Marquis, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Helenk64

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Marquis in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Fab ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Just sat now afther thoroughly enjoying the BBQ spare ribs I a big eater and filled me up prompt service and friendly staff even though we changed tables three times john smiths was a fine pint defiantly use fare n square again

Helpful?
Thank Bsrnsleyvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marquis also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing