We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit”

Wentworth Woodhouse
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Rotherham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Took the 2012 Christmas tour on Sunday 16th December. Having spent some of my childhood in the area I have always wondered what inside the big house was like so jumped at the chance of having a look. The tour lasted longer than the hour that was implied, probably due to the fact we were the last of the day, and as it was the Christmas tour we ended with mulled wine and a delicious warm mince pie. The guide was very infomative and the added insites from ex estate worker Bob were a nice touch, the rooms we visited were very impressive and in various states of renovation. We will certainly return when more are added to the tour. The whole house is on a massive scale, the stables themselves are larger than many a stately home, the Fitzwilliams had some serious cash, and power, back in the day and they certainly flaunted it here. These tours are just tasters of what is to come, if all their plans come to fruition there will be a museum and a hotel, what a venue for a wedding!
Hope all goes well and the house comes alive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank skodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    101
    15
    5
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“England's best kept secret opened to public”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Wentworth Woodhouse Englands largest house.
Took tour lasting about an hour around this facinating house at Wentworth. Been waiting a long time to see it. Still in the early stages of renovation which when complete will be something very special for the area.
The story about the house and it's owners would make a fantastic period programme for TV.
If you have the chance then it is well worth a visit for the £10 tour fee. I too have read the book Black Diamonds which tell the story, worth a read.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Great House !”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just recently visited the recently opened Wentworth Woodhouse. £10 entry fee for an hour tour . This is is hoping to include more rooms to view next year. Very interesting tour. Staff very good and friendly. Fascinating insight into the history of this splendid house. Keep up the good work with the restoration.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank mumknowsbest43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A trip into the Past”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Wow what a place to visit this house is privately owned,and is now opening its gates to the Public 1st time in history, ever since I read the book Black Diamonds by Catherine Bailey about the Fitzwilliams of Wentworth I wondered if we would ever get into visit and now its here.Paid £10 each for 1hr visit its cash only at the moment there are no facilities but in time they will come, come on have look its very interesting of what has been done and still needs to be done with more restoration,its fascinating the history of it is overwhelming of life in a great house 365 bedrooms
built in the 18th century..............the rest you will have to find out yourself.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
42 Thank halifax26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wentworth Woodhouse also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Wentworth Woodhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing