We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentworth Woodhouse

Wentworth Woodhouse
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We recently went with our friends who live near.There is no doubt it's a stunning house ..but at £20 each to tour part of an empty house this is much too expensive.Robert was our guide and was full of passion for the house ..but not the BBC who were filming there.... I'm sure they were paying a lot to film ..all helping towards the restoration??

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wix_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    95
    14
    5
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We booked the tour for mum's 86th birthday and we had a superb day. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way to help mum round the house. Robert, the tour guide, was very informative and obviously passionate about The Old Lady. The tour itself was very good. As pointed out in other reviews there is little in the way of furniture but the architecture in the rooms and the history more than makes up for that. We also had a meal included with the tour which was delicious and the setting for the meal was lovely. I can only thank the staff for making our mum's birthday really special. We will definitely be returning next year to see how the house is progressing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank wildstar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david a, Front Office Manager at Wentworth Woodhouse, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thanks you for your very positive comments, it was the first day of our Christmas Tour with a meal in the Pillared Hall at Wentworth so we were all apprehensive as we wanted the event to go well. I will certainly pass on your comments to Robert (Bob) who should be nominated as a National Treasure! but we all think he does a wonderful job.
best wishes to your family for Christmas and the New Year
David
House Guide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“House tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

very interesting tour. the house is magnificent. you dont realise how large the house is. In its day it must have been a hive of activity. I hope they are able to realise the plans they have for the house

Helpful?
Thank Mickyq0427
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
david a, Front Office Manager at Wentworth Woodhouse, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We also think Wentworth Woodhouse is MAGNIFICIENT and are sure that our plans will come to fruition. I agree with you that lots of our visitors do not realise how large the house actually is, everything is such a long way, and it was certainly a powerhouse of activity in both its former roles.
david
house guide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“well worth taking a tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

It was a treat to take the Strafford Tour today. Having read about the history of the Strafford/Fitzwilliam families and about the "Dark Ages" for the house and estate after World War Two it was wonderful to be able to be shown round inside to see the splendour of the rooms and see how much effort is being put in by the current owners to restore it to its former glory. In time hopefully furnishings and paintings will be added.

I can't end without saying how good the guide Robert was- a mine of information, delivered with good humour and more than a bit of tongue in cheek remarks!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank spectacleYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

BBC were filming so cables, people everywhere. We kept being asked to keep quiet. Told on arrival some of the rooms were being used for the filming so couldn't see those ' but don't worry as we'll show you some other rooms'. All the rooms are empty (except for BBC furniture )with cheap printed signs giving the room's name. One of the rooms even had the windows covered by bookcases and the walls also lined with dark grey bookcases 'these are BBC fixtures and aren't usually here'. We paid to see the interior of the house & not to be made to feel we were in the way of something more important. Why are the owners so greedy for cash ? They should discontinue tours whilst getting revenue from filming. Very disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 36mabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wentworth Woodhouse also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Wentworth Woodhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing