We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Wentworth Woodhouse
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Visited today with my mum and sister and found this beautiful old house fascinating and seeped in history - Robert who lead the guided tour was passionate, engaging and very knowledgeable. Looking forward to returning to see the transformation.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    105
    15
    5
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A View of History”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I first became fascinated with the history of this house when I read Black Diamonds by Catherine Bailey who was visiting the following week. This is a very good read prior to your visit. The visit itself was excellent. It brought the book to life and one was able to see the amount of work that has been completed in the restoration of this fabulous house. Mr Newbold and his team are to be congratulated on their efforts to restore the house and grounds.
Additionally one can see the social history that the Fitzwilliam family created in the village the buildings, school etc and how the family cared for its workers. a great day out and leaves one with food for thought eg the ravages of death duties, open cast mining and the damage of coal nationalisation to mention but a few. I stress these are the views of the reviewer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic opportunity not to be missed”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I visited 13/4/14 with my mum and sister. We had a great tour guide called Robert who is an absolute asset to the big house! The house has always been a mystery to me so to have the opportunity to see inside and tour the gardens was a fantastic opportunity! I m looking forward to going again in a few years to see how the restoration project unfolds, thank you to all the staff/volunteers who worked together to make this a great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JLBarraclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Finally got to see the inside of this piece of history”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Absolutely fascinated with this house and it's history and couldn't believe it when it was finally open to the public. Booked my house tour tickets, wasn't disappointed a very informative tour and bob the guide who has been at the house since he was a nipper adds a unique insight.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Guided tour”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Pre booked guided tour. Lovely visit and tour guide very knowledgable. Beautiful stately home and lovely views and grounds.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritawasscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wentworth Woodhouse also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Wentworth Woodhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing