We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful house being brought back to life”

Wentworth Woodhouse Preservation Trust
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have been fascinated by this house for many years, and when I discovered that it was periodically open, decided to visit it.
In order to make the most of the trip, I booked the full Fitzwiliam tour for myself and a friend, and am very glad to have done so. The tour lasts about an hour and a half in the house, and about an hour in the gardens, and one sees as much as is available for public viewing.
Our first guide, whose association with the house began in 1970, provided a lively commentary as we made our way through the tragically denuded rooms of this great palatial residence; our second guide, who was also on duty in the tea room afterwards, gave us a most enjoyable tour of the gardens.
Three of the rooms are more or less as they should be - the Pillared Hall, Grand Staircase, and the Marble Saloon still have their original statuary in situ. Just seeing these three is an experience worth having. The other rooms, although more or less empty, still have the power to evoke the glory days of this great house. The view from the terrace is breathtaking, but the best of the garden tour is actually saved for last - that being the outside of the West Front.
The tea room, in the old Servants' Hall, provides good tea and excellent cakes at a very reasonable price. The shop has a good range of local produce and gifts and souvenirs relating to the house.
The staff could not have been more friendly or efficient - both front of house, and also in the bookings office.
Mr. Newbold has taken on a task of an almost incredibly daunting scale - but he clearly has the vision and determination to see it through.

Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"fitzwilliam tour"
in 79 reviews
"black diamonds"
in 54 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 37 reviews
"wentworth woodhouse"
in 151 reviews
"guided tour"
in 34 reviews
"former glory"
in 29 reviews
"garden tour"
in 18 reviews
"old house"
in 13 reviews
"mulled wine"
in 13 reviews
"stately home"
in 34 reviews
"pillared hall"
in 12 reviews
"fantastic tour"
in 11 reviews
"christmas tour"
in 9 reviews
"stable block"
in 14 reviews
"mince pies"
in 10 reviews
"future generations"
in 10 reviews
"restoration work"
in 9 reviews

438 - 442 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This should have been something special - an enormous country house in a lovely estate, rarely visited. I'm afraid not.

The tour guide (tours compulsory) had an entertaining style but little of interest to say. There was quite a bit about what may have once stood in the now empty rooms. He gave us lots of embroidered tales of BBC filming, with cheap stories of his run-Ins with the film crews. We had endless promises that the riches would one day be restored by judicious borrowings from round the country There were lots of descriptions of pictures that used to be there. But nothing that mattered.

Butt it wasn't really his fault. There's nothing there. Just musty, dowdy, empty rooms with vague purposes long since forgotten. No stories or characters. No drama. A few architectural points of interest, mainly dull - although the spun glass window was worth seeing.

You only get to see a few of the rooms at the front of the house in the main tour; the other side, the more interesting baroque side, is privately out of bounds. There is a compulsory extension to the Strafford rooms for some of the tours. This is just bad - absolutely nothing to see and an important historical figure made as dry as dust.

The tours are very pricey - £15 per adult - and poor value. If only someone professional could take it over, with a sense of history, theatre and wanting to bring it alive, it could be fabulous. Just now it's all about money into the owners pockets.

1  Thank Riadview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Front Office Manager at Wentworth Woodhouse Preservation Trust, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent tour of Wentworth Woodhouse, but find it hard to understand some of your comments ! our tours are pre-booked and guided as we are not at the stage of being able to have the house open just hoping that someone will come and visit us. the layout of the house would make a "free-flow" visit very difficult and as you are accompanied thought the tour we do not need ropes and barriers to restrict where our visitors can walk, hence they can appreciate the space and architecture of the rooms. on the Strafford tour you see 15 rooms, which I would not consider to be classed as few? perhaps you are thinking of the 365 which we supposedly have, but most of which have nothing really of interest? once again thank you for visiting Wentworth Woodhouse but if you read some of the other comments on Trip Advisor, surely they tell a different story?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked the full tour including gardens and went on this last Sunday.
We were met by a very knowledgeable guide, who made the tour so interesting - her name was Jo and she was supported by a lady called Jill.
The house is not furnished as many stately homes can be, but to have a look around the magnificent house, was an absolute pleasure and to hear some of the history of the house was fascinating.
I live locally and walk 2/3 times per week around the area and as a young child I was intrigued by this house, so having the opportunity to go around was fabulous.

Please if you do go on the tour, please appreciate this is work in progress and the work that has happened over past couple of years to allow these tours to go ahead is outstanding and I for one look forward to the day I can visit the museum, tour the house again, hold a celebration there and maybe even one day stay overnight - it this happens I will be one of the first in the queue to do so

The staff who are volunteers have such a passion for this magnificent house and their enthusiasm comes over on the tour.
Loved it

2  Thank wednesday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We live about 1 mile from this fantastic house but until last weekend we had never been inside and WOW!
I couldn't believe the scale of the place and the story of its survival right up to present day.
I felt really proud that it is on our doorstep, I have visited many large houses palaces and estates including Buckingham Palace but this impressed me the most.
The house has an ongoing restoration programme so you have to forgive the odd unrestored area but it doesn't distract from it at all.
We did the Straffford tour and it left me wanting to see more so we will be going back without a doubt.
This house is well worth a visit and very close by is the Elsecar Heritage Centre which is really nice to see and of course Wentworth village which is almost like a time capsule from the past, not a white PVC window in sight!
I highly recommend this tour and a visit to the surrounding areas, you will be surprised.

3  Thank Dobby74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

you can walk through wentworth and just to look at wentworth woodhouse from the outside is outstanding!i haven't been in it but it only opened early last year to go inside and look around,i heard it was expensive to go in but if you love a place like this to visit im sure you would pay anything.

Thank joanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wentworth Woodhouse Preservation Trust also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire

Been to Wentworth Woodhouse Preservation Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing