We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frankie & Benny's - Rotherham

Frankie & Benny's - Rotherham
Ranked #75 of 305 Restaurants in Rotherham
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Frankie & Benny's brings together the best of classic American and Italian in both style and cuisine. In typical stateside fashion, service at Frankie & Benny's is second to none! Nothing is too much trouble for our obliging and friendly staff. So you can relax, settle into your booth and relish the wonderful feeling of a very satisfied appetite... Frankie & Benny's is open for breakfast every day, breakfast dishes start from just £3.95 - With free tea & coffee refills after the first one is purchased! Dine from the great value lunch menu offering main courses for only £6.95 Available Monday-Friday 11am-5pm! Or enjoy the popular Specials Menu for only £9.95, Top up to two and three courses for an additional £2 each, Sunday-Friday. Monday Madness! 25% Off your food bill on Monday Evenings - available between 5pm and 10pm. Excludes Bank Holidays, terms & conditions apply.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Visited Frankie & Bennys on 29 March 2014 for a family meal. We were totally disappointed with the quality of the food as it was very poor! The portions were small, the price was high! One member ordered a mixed grill, you get better mixed grills at your local pub, dry, over cooked, asked for Steak well done and everything on the plate came very well done, the mushroom looked like it had been cremated, the 'half' of Chicken that was put on the plate was extremely dry and tasteless! The Chicken salad came swimming in soy sauce that tasted like salt water, extremely horrible! But the waitress who was serving us was polite and helpful, it was only her first week and she was very professional. I won't be attending here again any time soon..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    43
    14
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My partner and I called in as a treat and we were aware that the meals would be around £10 - £15, this would not have been a problem if they were worth it. I ordered gluten free Boston BBQ chicken. I received a small portion of chicken with a bit of bacon on top, smothered in bbq sauce, small jacket spud and a small side salad. The chicken was overcooked and chewy.
My partner had a burger and fries. He said it was tasty but still a small portion.
It was the first time I had been to the restaurant and I must say I'm not a fan of the American style diner set up and won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cazmez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
1 review
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We visited frankie and bennys rotherham on Saturday 15th for my sons birthday can I just say all staff were brilliant thwy sang happy birthday to my son which was amazing our waitress was brilliant ajd everyone seemed genuinely happy to be working there. The 2 managers that was working was very efficient working well with their staff. Food was gorgeous and the general atmosphere was brilliant I highly recommend this restaurant and will be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank stephwellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food often cold OR the restaurant is!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Eaten here for breakfast - problem, however, is with the food being cold, especially the beans. Service is good though, staff aim to help but feel the management budget scimps with how many staff are on shift. This is prob the issue with the faults other reviewers have identified! I go back each time on the premise that the breakfast isn't a bad price and there's good choice, so they always get my benefit of the doubt but sadly, to no avail!
Ate there tonight as was starving and had to pass time in parkgate - this time the restaurant was freezing. Moved three times. Still freezing. On-shift manager said they didn't know how to turn air con down (acceptable excuse ??!) the whole restaurant had coats on! Food standard for the price.

Will not hurry back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rubbish!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Visiting family for Christmas, we were told to try here for a evening meal, what can I say? Food had no taste, fries hard in the middle and chicken just bland! My partners pulled BBQ pork burger was also very bland. Just under 40 pound with a drink too. Don't waste your time or money - try elsewhere!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MAJHAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie & Benny's - Rotherham also viewed

Everton, New Forest
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's - Rotherham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing