We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”
Review of Hoober Stand

Hoober Stand
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hoover stand was closed for years and as a child my Grandad used to take me on long walks up there and tell me stories of the views from the top. In recent years it has reopened and the views are amazing, at 37 years old I was able to take my children up and share stories of my Grandad and my childhood. A great piece of local history would definitely recommend a visit if you live in surrounding areas.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kezzer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“30 metre high view”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Well worth a visit for the views. Open from Spring bank holiday to August bank holiday at the weekends from 2pm to 5pm. It costs £2.50. The pyramidal building is 30 metre high. Access to the top is via a spiral staircase. You are guided through the very first section with a torch but there are periodic stops with windows on the way to the top. You are given a leaflet with information and a list of things to look out for which our son enjoyed. The car park is in a field opposite the entrance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Only open in the summer”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

You can only go up it during weekends in the summer months - but it is certainly worth it if you get the chance. It is on the highest point around for many miles and the views across the countryside are spectacular. On a clear day you can see York Minster.

It was built as a memorial to commemorate the defeat of the Jacobite rebellion in the lat 18th century. Some commentators have complained about graffiti, but some of the carvings in the stone are historic themselves and go back over two hundred years.

Not for the faint hearted, or anyone with mobility or health problems. The steps are narrow and steep but will reward anyone with the stamina to get up them....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It was the most perfect sunny clear day but WOW what views. The information sheet given helps you to spot sights and look out for things on the horizon with lovely clear views over Wentworth, Rotherham, Doncaster, over to Emley Moor and all the way to York Minster!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BandCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,078 reviews
701 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,811 helpful votes
“Magnificent folly!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Walked here as part of a lovely walk from Elsecar & around to Wentworth. Really interesting folly built in 1800's.
Real shame some muppets have thought it ok to leave their initials in the lovely stone work!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoober Stand also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Hoober Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing