We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but don't expect too much...”
Review of Rockingham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockingham Arms
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok but don't expect too much...”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Booked three Rooms for an overnighter. Rooms are ok with TVs and tea/coffee making facilities, comfy beds, plenty of storage although the rooms are not very well maintained, damp on ceilings and walls in some rooms, radiator wasn't working in one of the rooms so there were electric heaters in place of it. Our bathroom had a broken toilet cistern which was constantly running, we were informed it had been repaired earlier in the week...but nobody thought to check it! Complained to the staff who dealt with the matter after a few days and offered us a complimentary overnight stay, which we accepted.
Over all the Rockingham arms is ok, not brilliant but staff were helpful and polite. Wentworth is a quaint little village where there is a fab garden centre which always seems to be busy. Worth a visit if you're up that way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are difficult to get to as there is a very tiny staircase to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyMooSx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    76
    52
    36
    29
See reviews for
63
109
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I found this place after a` Google search to find somewhere between the Yorkshire Sculpture Park and Meadowhall. We arrived just after 3.00pm and the pub looked very warm and inviting with real fires. The lady behind the counter pointed out where the rooms were (over the road in some converted cottages) and we went to find it ourselves. The room was big (an executive double) and, at first glance was very good. The conversion was very tastefully done and they have to keep the facade the same. The bathroom was huge with a spa bath and shower over the bath. The lunch leaflet stated that lunch was 12.00 - 3.00, so we set off to find somewhere to eat in the village. The Bistro had just closed, but the little tearoom was open and we had a lovely lunch in front of the open fire. After a trip around the area we rang the hotel to find out when they stopped serving food (9.00pm) and realised we'd not get back in time, so ate out.

The room was lovely and warm and we slept well, double glazing meant we weren't disturbed by the noise from the pub or the busy road outside. Another leaflet, this time in the corridor, advertised breakfast, full English £7+ or continental £5+, but we'd already got tickets for brunch at Yorkshire Sculpture Park, so we didn't bother.

So, why the 'average' rating? Well, they missed out on a possible 3 meals. The lunch times were for a lunch 'deal' and food was served all day (you have to read through the folder in the room to find that one out) (meal 1) We would have made an effort to get back if we had known what the menu was (meal 2) If we had enjoyed the food for meals 1 and 2 we would have had a breakfast (meal 3). There were some tatty elements to the room, broken lampshade and peeling walls, the windows wouldn't open and the extractor fan didn't work. NO TELEPHONE! so, if you needed anything you had to go over the road to the pub or call them on your mobile. One lady had no water for her shower - she didn't find this out until too late - had to get dressed and get help, it was sorted straight away, but how inconvenient.

There was no signs to show how to get into the pub in the morning to pay - a side door that we didn't know existed. There was no 'How was your room?', 'Did you sleep well?' 'Going anywhere nice today?' or 'would you like to have breakfast?', just 'That's £59 please'. I'm not saying I want to be fawned over, but a little conversation would have been nice.

Overall, I wouldn't go out of my way to stay there again and they missed out on making some profit from the food side.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place has changed managers several times and the food has got worse since they changed the menu. If you are thinking of having an event here, think again, especially if it is a wedding. The accommodation on first glance looks nice but if you keep looking you will find many faults. Room 4 is damp and smells very damp and room 5 the toilet does not flush. No soap, shower gel or shampoo in the room and no glasses to rinse either, so the price charged is too high in my opinion. The staff are warm and welcoming but the management leave a lot to be desired

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotherham hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Called at the R/arms on Friday 22 November.arrived about 3-45 in the afternoon.we go there for the theakstons old peculiar beer.we were told that the barrel needed changing and that it would be after tea time(when ever that is)before it could be changed?When we remonstrated one of the staff begrudgingly went to change the barrel.the pub was not busy at all,in fact it's the least number of people I've ever seen in there.We tried another beer , and waited about half hour and when we enquired about the T O P we were informed it needed to settle before it could be poured(I have been to the theakstons brewery) so we left.The staff I'm afraid just go through the motions to earn their money,you can tell it's not their pub. Also there are to many tables and chairs crammed into the front bar room,and it's easy to get trapped into a corner having to ask people to move to get to the bar.We have eaten in this pub several times ,the meals are very average ,we go there for the T O P,but we won't be returning .Dissatisfied ex customers.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We come here every year for our anniversary and it was as perfect as ever. Custom was perfect food was perfect price is great for everything. There is loads to do in the area wentworth gardens, farms, farmers market every seond week of month. We will definitely be back again next year .

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauillac, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the Rockingham Arms several years ago as it is handy for the Elsecar Heritage Centre. Was not very good back then but thought it must have improved.
All the bedrooms are in a cottage across the road which is great, as away from the noise of the pub.
The rooms had obviously been re-furbished since we last stayed there.
Unfortunately they were not too clean. Nothing serious but obviously never hovered round the edges or really cleaned around the windows.
Had the luxury of a bath but when in it you looked up to a very mouldy ceiling. Some sympathy as we live in an old property and damp is a nuisance.
We stayed on a Saturday night. Impulse decision to have a much needed break.
There was a charity auction on at the pub so it was heaving. No real problem as it was quite fun.
However when we went downstairs to the dining room the speakers were full blast from the main pub. The auctioneer's very loud voice was a bit too much, especially when you were so far from the action. The staff could not turn the din down. Accept this was a one off.
Food was 'chain' hotel type and not as good as last time we stayed.
Will we go again ? No - will stick to reliable Premiere Inns...
Over priced for what we got.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a downstairs room if you have a lot of luggage or mobility problems. Very steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath95978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Booked at the last minute so didn't really have time to peruse all the feedback - I'm glad I didn't. Arrived to find, despite being part of a chain, this was a valued local. Staff varied from the friendly and helpful to massively enthusiastic (the only exception being the lady I spoke to on the phone who, when asked why the price she was quoting for the room was more than that quoted on the website, helpfully suggested I book online)

Beer great, room spacious and comfortable (if a little blighted by noise from an electric motor elsewhere in the building - never got to the bottom of what that was). Didn't try the food so can't comment.

Amazing value for money; wouldn't hesitate to return (and Wentworth itself is just lovely)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arapaho94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
3.0 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
7.7 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
541 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,025 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
4.9 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Rotherham
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockingham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockingham Arms

Property: Rockingham Arms
Address: 8 Main Street | Wentworth, Rotherham S62 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockingham Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Rockingham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockingham Arms Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing