We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab new years day meal”
Review of Rockingham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockingham Arms
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab new years day meal”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We decided to go for a meal in the restaurant dining room situated at the back of the pub. It is waitress service and the room is beautifully decorated. There were 4 of us and we all had something different and all of our meals were of a high standard. The prices were very reasonable and we will certainly return again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    74
    52
    35
    29
See reviews for
61
105
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We called at the Rockingham Arms for lunch after vising the nearby Elsecar Heritage Centre, where the Bramble Cafe had been very poorly reviewed. I had not researched this pub and therefore was unaware of the poor reviews, but our experience today was of a pleasant pub with a number of different areas in which to eat, friendly staff and a good and reasonably priced menu.

I had a fish pie, which came complete with cauliflower, carrots and peas - all very tasty. My husband had a mixed grill which was huge, and his steak was cooked to the medium rare which he had requested.

We had no complaints and would return if in the area. Perhaps we were fortunate today?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hortenseLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

After a very bad experience in august which resulted in us cancelling our daughters wedding reception for fear of repeating the bad service and lack of food, we tried again and went for a meal on boxing day. Although the menu had changed they still could not serve a full menu , no breadcakes for burgers, only certain desserts and only instant coffee available which is very strange as they had no coffee machine and only instant last august. Although we lost our deposit so glad we cancelled.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Rockingham Arms, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear elaine s

Thank you for providing us with your review

I can confirm that I have passed on your comments about your visit to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Rockingham Arms who would like to thank you for your feedback and to let you know that they have taken your feedback on board and passed it to the relevant teams.

We do hope to see you soon in the Rockingham Arms soon.

Kind regards,

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotherham hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Four of us went for Christmas day lunch.

Patronising comments from bar staff when I made a private comment to my son that it was disappointing that 4 out of 6 real ale pumps were "off" on Christmas day.

Food poor quality, especially the main course, the turkey (2 small slices) looked and tasted like a produced product rather than a genuine roast. Awful.

And - what has really prompted me to write this review:

My wife asked for more bread to accompany her starter and was provided with 2 slices of sliced brown bread - no butter.

The bill of approx £180 included an additional charge of £1.29 for this.

Are they having a larf ??

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike2016852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Rockingham Arms, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mike05

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Rockingham Arms in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Booked three Rooms for an overnighter. Rooms are ok with TVs and tea/coffee making facilities, comfy beds, plenty of storage although the rooms are not very well maintained, damp on ceilings and walls in some rooms, radiator wasn't working in one of the rooms so there were electric heaters in place of it. Our bathroom had a broken toilet cistern which was constantly running, we were informed it had been repaired earlier in the week...but nobody thought to check it! Complained to the staff who dealt with the matter after a few days and offered us a complimentary overnight stay, which we accepted.
Over all the Rockingham arms is ok, not brilliant but staff were helpful and polite. Wentworth is a quaint little village where there is a fab garden centre which always seems to be busy. Worth a visit if you're up that way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are difficult to get to as there is a very tiny staircase to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyMooSx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I found this place after a` Google search to find somewhere between the Yorkshire Sculpture Park and Meadowhall. We arrived just after 3.00pm and the pub looked very warm and inviting with real fires. The lady behind the counter pointed out where the rooms were (over the road in some converted cottages) and we went to find it ourselves. The room was big (an executive double) and, at first glance was very good. The conversion was very tastefully done and they have to keep the facade the same. The bathroom was huge with a spa bath and shower over the bath. The lunch leaflet stated that lunch was 12.00 - 3.00, so we set off to find somewhere to eat in the village. The Bistro had just closed, but the little tearoom was open and we had a lovely lunch in front of the open fire. After a trip around the area we rang the hotel to find out when they stopped serving food (9.00pm) and realised we'd not get back in time, so ate out.

The room was lovely and warm and we slept well, double glazing meant we weren't disturbed by the noise from the pub or the busy road outside. Another leaflet, this time in the corridor, advertised breakfast, full English £7+ or continental £5+, but we'd already got tickets for brunch at Yorkshire Sculpture Park, so we didn't bother.

So, why the 'average' rating? Well, they missed out on a possible 3 meals. The lunch times were for a lunch 'deal' and food was served all day (you have to read through the folder in the room to find that one out) (meal 1) We would have made an effort to get back if we had known what the menu was (meal 2) If we had enjoyed the food for meals 1 and 2 we would have had a breakfast (meal 3). There were some tatty elements to the room, broken lampshade and peeling walls, the windows wouldn't open and the extractor fan didn't work. NO TELEPHONE! so, if you needed anything you had to go over the road to the pub or call them on your mobile. One lady had no water for her shower - she didn't find this out until too late - had to get dressed and get help, it was sorted straight away, but how inconvenient.

There was no signs to show how to get into the pub in the morning to pay - a side door that we didn't know existed. There was no 'How was your room?', 'Did you sleep well?' 'Going anywhere nice today?' or 'would you like to have breakfast?', just 'That's £59 please'. I'm not saying I want to be fawned over, but a little conversation would have been nice.

Overall, I wouldn't go out of my way to stay there again and they missed out on making some profit from the food side.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place has changed managers several times and the food has got worse since they changed the menu. If you are thinking of having an event here, think again, especially if it is a wedding. The accommodation on first glance looks nice but if you keep looking you will find many faults. Room 4 is damp and smells very damp and room 5 the toilet does not flush. No soap, shower gel or shampoo in the room and no glasses to rinse either, so the price charged is too high in my opinion. The staff are warm and welcoming but the management leave a lot to be desired

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
3.0 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
7.7 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
734 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
993 reviews
2.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockingham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockingham Arms

Property: Rockingham Arms
Address: 8 Main Street | Wentworth, Rotherham S62 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockingham Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Rockingham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockingham Arms Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing