We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sad loss”
Review of Rockingham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockingham Arms
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Being occasional eaters at "The Rock" we were impressed with it`s recent refurbishment, particularly the downstairs back room which had been quite a `draughty old barn`and was now nicely upholstered and cosy. However the `two for a tenner` menu has now been replaced with a somewhat depleted version at higher prices (although the food was just as good - but no better).
Add to this an arrogant landlady figure with an attitude problem, who gives the impression that the customer is just something to be endured on a daily basis and it looks as though this pub is now tending towards being the type of place that insults you and charges you for the privilege.
I`m afraid `The Rock` is now off our list.
Heaven help the locals !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arthur114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Decided to give the Rockingham Arms a go after hearing it had improved lately. Our last visit was May 2013 and we were that disappointed we swore we wouldn't return. Anyway, since our last visit the pub and menu had both had a pleasing makeover. Trying to locate a high chair for our 2 year old gave me a chance to give the whole pub a tour (twice). This made me feel it wasn't really geared up for people with young families. Another tour of the pub located the menus. The menus are smaller but still have plenty of choice with good prices. Ordered 2 steak sandwiches and a kids meal. The food was served in good time and the steak was cooked exactly as requested although we did have to locate our our own cutlery and condiments as we were never offered these. The kids meal was incorrect but was quickly rectified by apologetic waitress. On the whole the visit was vastly improved compared to last year. Will give it another try soon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank amandapatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Rockingham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear amandapatton

Thank you for providing us with your review

I can confirm that I have passed on your comments about your visit to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Rockingham Arms who would like to thank you for your feedback and to let you know that they have taken your feedback on board and passed it to the relevant teams. The pub has undergone major work with menus and we are pleased to see that you have re visited and will re visit again in the near future.

We do hope to see you soon in the Rockingham Arms soon.

Kind regards,

John Barras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stopped off at the Rockingham Arms for tea after a nice afternoon in Wentworth at the Garden Centre and also the lovely Emporium. The first 3 things we asked for to eat they were out of stock with! Pretty poor if you ask me for the first 3 choices to be not available. This was a week day and one of the choices was a 'SPECIAL' so surely they had not sold out by 4pm? The bar person (female) seemed to favour serving the 'regulars' and was not very friendly at all. My dad asked for a salad with no dressing as he didn't like any kind of salad cream/mayonnaise.... his side salad came drenched in a dressing he just could not eat. My mum asked for mash instead of chips...... you've got it.... she got chips! The veg was cold on their meals too. My curry (out of a tin) was quite tasty and. The whole place looks tired to me and in need of a refurb - including the toilets. I will not be going back in the near future.... a lovely area the pub is situated in but the pub should not get a good reputation just for the area. The service and quality needs improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedsterandmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Just had a lovely stay at the Arms, but found the bar staff (particularly in the week day afternoon) extremely non customer friendly - in fact, aggressive. You'll need to be prepared to wait while the female bar staff complete their personal conversations with other members of staff.... before they consider serving you.

After which, my meal order turned-up wrong. Twice.

Clearly the Arms is a very busy and popular hotel due to its location and history, and could be a reason why the staff don't seem to try. I guess, at the end of the day, they don't care if you come back - someone else will. They can only trade on that for so long.

Room Tip: Shame about the bar service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Rockingham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear kwv01

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Rockingham Arms in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

John Barras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We decided to go for a meal in the restaurant dining room situated at the back of the pub. It is waitress service and the room is beautifully decorated. There were 4 of us and we all had something different and all of our meals were of a high standard. The prices were very reasonable and we will certainly return again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We called at the Rockingham Arms for lunch after vising the nearby Elsecar Heritage Centre, where the Bramble Cafe had been very poorly reviewed. I had not researched this pub and therefore was unaware of the poor reviews, but our experience today was of a pleasant pub with a number of different areas in which to eat, friendly staff and a good and reasonably priced menu.

I had a fish pie, which came complete with cauliflower, carrots and peas - all very tasty. My husband had a mixed grill which was huge, and his steak was cooked to the medium rare which he had requested.

We had no complaints and would return if in the area. Perhaps we were fortunate today?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank hortenseLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

After a very bad experience in august which resulted in us cancelling our daughters wedding reception for fear of repeating the bad service and lack of food, we tried again and went for a meal on boxing day. Although the menu had changed they still could not serve a full menu , no breadcakes for burgers, only certain desserts and only instant coffee available which is very strange as they had no coffee machine and only instant last august. Although we lost our deposit so glad we cancelled.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Rockingham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear elaine s

Thank you for providing us with your review

I can confirm that I have passed on your comments about your visit to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Rockingham Arms who would like to thank you for your feedback and to let you know that they have taken your feedback on board and passed it to the relevant teams.

We do hope to see you soon in the Rockingham Arms soon.

Kind regards,

John Barras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
7.7 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#5 of 15 in Rotherham
593 reviews
2.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
279 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,092 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
958 reviews
3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockingham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockingham Arms

Address: 8 Main Street | Wentworth, Rotherham S62 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockingham Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Rockingham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockingham Arms Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing