We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Food!!”

The Brentwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Brentwood Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here in April when the snooker was on in Sheffield. We stayed for 2 nights. Found it to be comfortable and had everything that we needed. I would say the only thing would be it needed some updating but the rooms were clean and we slept very well.
The food from the restaurant was excellent with lots of choice at very good prices. Breakfast was good too but I think staff should keep a better eye on tables to clear away dirty plates ready for other diners to sit down.
On the whole it was an ok stay and if we were in the area again then we would stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    79
    49
    27
    32
See reviews for
81
82
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I visit this hotel pub quite frequently and every time it is great service; fast and efficient the food is pub food but edible and I enjoy it, Great spacious atmosphere, lovely polite staff. I would recommend this place to anybody wanting a quiet meal/drink, there is also a pool table and several TV's in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I read the previous reviews and my heart sank as I had booked our wedding reception at the Sandygate before the previous management did a moonlight flit.

I made sure that the staff at the Sandygate had a full preorder of all what my guests wanted, and made sure there was a list on each table (I have organised many a christmas dinner in my time...) Also I was specific without being bridezilla

The staff worked really hard all day, the meal was lovely, even the fussy eaters were satisfied. The rooms were very good and breakfast was excellent.

Anything that we asked for or needed was provided.

This isn't a large company, but a small hotel that is trying to get back on its feet and credit should be given for that.

We had a small intimate wedding without the pretentious prices of beer charged by some hotels, and everyone had a really good time

The only advice i would give is there is not much provision for disabled access so anyone staying with walking difficulties may need assistance

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisoncross2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

20 years ago this was a good Hotel and Restaurant, sadly it has one the way of others having been bought by some faceless company.

The staff were very good, polite and helpful.

The restaurant food was described as "exciting and diverse". No, it is just "Pub Grub" ok but not my choice.
Free WIFI in the room very good.

The room was very tired and in need of a good clean and decorating.The same can be said of the public spaces and corridors. There was what appeared to be mold on the bathroom ceiling which is not pleasant. Having said that the bed linen and bathroom towels were spotless. There was plenty of tea and coffee making stuff in the room and a fairly modern TV.
it is an average Budget Hotel in need of redecoration and a better cleaning regime.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Good value hotel,stayed two nights and my room was clean and tidy. On site restaurant served excellent food at a reasonable price.
Unfortunately breakfast on our second day was below standard but was quickly resolved and I think was probably a one off.
Staff friendly and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Went for a night out in Rotherham and stayed here close to town.
It was great value for money and no problems.
The food was nice in the bar too.
Free parking also and late check out midday a bonus! If we ever go to Rotherham again ill stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl4469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, Northants
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

All staff were exceptionally helpful, the room was tired looking with that and the corridors in the annexe badly in need of a coat of paint and new carpet but i had a fantastic bath with copious amounts of hot water and slipped into a comfortable clean king size bed and had a great nights sleep. The dinner in the resturaunt was absolutely fine, big portions servied with true friendliness and very good value for money.

Breakfast was filling, unfortunately there was no fruit salad on offer, but the cooked breakfast was as good as most hotels would offer. My only problem was the amount of detritis left from diners who had eaten and left which did make the dining room look very untidy. Other than this it we were made to feel very welcome.

If you just need somewhere to get a good filling and rest your head in a good location on a budget then the Brentwood is worth considering.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear BethanAndScott,

Thank you for your review, we have shared your feedback with our management team so your suggestions can be addressed and help improve future stays.

Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rotherham East (M18/M1) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brentwood Hotel

Property: The Brentwood Hotel
Address: 114 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brentwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing