We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brentwood Hotel

The Brentwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brentwood Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Filthy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here many times in the past but this time it was obvious how filthy the place had become. the corridor carpets were so dirty dirt was sticking to them and the walls were the same - the smell of stale smoke was present during our 2 was to be three nights stay. the duvet was just thrown over our bed without it being made properly and the bathroom was shoddy. soap dispenser was broke and soap attachment just thrown to one side - grouting was filthy - general shabby and dirty appearance was evident. The Good Night Inn chain should be ashamed .At 55 per room with breakfast it is not recommended. At breakfast the carpet again was filthy. A group of middle aged guests were swearing loudly and no member of staff approached them. In fact they were joking with them. We found it all very uncomfortable. After complaining we did get a portion taken off our bill and promptly booked into the Carlton park next door for our last night. For one pound cheaper 54 per night the facilities were top notch. Clean - swimming pool etc. we can't understand why the 'pub' side of the Brentwood is clean with good food and yet the hotel has fallen into this filthy disrepair. As ex Rotherham folk who visit relatives we won't be staying here again. Staff stand around - there doesn't appear to be training in etiquette - no uniform - 6" worn by some - it just appeared all wrong. Such a Shame such a beautiful building has fallen this low.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunchofwhiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    75
    49
    26
    32
See reviews for
77
81
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford on Avon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Booked two rooms for a one night stay Saturday 3rd August for a visit to see family.

The whole bedroom wing is tired and in need of investment. The carpets in the corridors have a 10mm strip of dust down each side against the skirting board where the vacuum cleaner does not reach.

The rooms themselves were clean but badly need decorating.

The bathrooms were appalling with cobwebs, rusting shower curtain rails, missing soap dispenser in one, body hair in one bath, sealant around one bath was black in areas with what looked like mould. Door frame filthy in one.

Breakfast cheap but average.

Evevening food in newish Flame Grill good value and reasonable quality.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms in the original part of the building are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotherham hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

after reading bad reviews of the brentwood i started to worry. when we arrived we were met by a very helpful member of staff.The room was basic but what do you expect when you only pay £32 per night for 2 people with breakfast thrown in. The room was clean with a freeview t.v, the bathroom was very clean. The pub next door does excellent meals where the steak is brought out on a skillet guaranteeing that it is nice and hot. No noise from the pub when you want to go to bed is a real bonus. Breakfast is served nice and hot. Overall it was a good night there. People who moan should look at what they paid for it and not expect the hilton.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonbiggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

On the plus side, there is good free wifi in the rooms. One the minus side, the room i got was sadly in need of a revamp.tiles falling off in bathroom, chips in bath, not very clean. Food is same as every other restaurant in the Flaming Grill chain, so ribs, burgers, steaks, etc
Breakfast was ok but not great....overcooked egg, raw tomato, etc...terrible croissants too

All in all not great

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Room 18 - black bits in the bath which look like gunk/filth/mold around the bath handle ( yep that high up) ceiling in bathroom shabby paintwork obviously a leak, tiles not exactly clean, bedroom -2 single beds pushed together to make a 'luxury king' yeah right! ended up with them drifting apart in the night. Luxury?? lol!

Damp on the wall to the bathroom, shoddy paintwork and windows wouldn't open.
The corridors smelt musty and damp and the stairwell looked a bit 'high rise council chic!'

The food.... fly baked into the chips, nice! All in all a complete joke - WILL NEVER EVER RETURN

Meant to have been a romantic get away from the kids weekend - ended up driving out to Cleethorpes, well worth it, found a lovely place..

Room Tip: Is there one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JENSENONTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here when weather was hot so the restaurant was lovely sitting in garden with kids play area. Hotel is next door, rooms are good with tv, bath, kettle, hairdryer, iron etc. Only downside it was really hot in the room and one of windows didn't stay up. Nice food in restaurant with reasonable prices. Good location with a tesco express 5 min walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were in this area for an ice hockey tournament, this hotel is very comfortable, clean, friendly and the biggest positive is that out 16 year old son had a proper single bed, not a pull out sofa. It was very quiet even though it is a restaurant too. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It was a cold June weekend we stayed there but the room was warm, as was the whole hotel. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 92sarah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
2.3 mi away
The Welcome Inn
The Welcome Inn
#11 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brentwood Hotel

Property: The Brentwood Hotel
Address: 114 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brentwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing