We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming again”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brecon Hotel Rotherham Sheffield
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed here for one week. The accommodation is good; the quality/price is well deserved.
I am from outside UK and whenever I needed some information the guy on reception help me alot.
The room was clean and tidy, internet is working good, good heating system and most important the hotel area it’s very quiet.
I will be pleased to come here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Marius U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

rooms smelled of damp and what could only be described as human waste !
beds were so loud it was unbelievable kept waking myself up when moving in my sleep
next morning I canceled my room at reception and was told no refund possible as I booked over the phone even when on the website it stated free cancelation policy the manager mr Patel flatly refused like I said if you stay here your mad take this review as a warning !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jakey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I took my son to look at Sheffield Hallam Uni in Oct 2010 and as he has just got in so we are staying there again before he moves into his Hall. The food was excellent and the staff friendly. The room was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

my wife and I have just stayed the night and i have to say i was very happy we stayed in one of the rooms in the annexe .it was tidy and comfortable ,the breakfast was lovely and filling the staff were helpful and very courtious it made the stay i would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank johnnnnyboyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We recently held our Golden Wedding lunch for 50 people at the Brecon. Our guests ranged in age from 8weeks old to 87 years. All were catered for in a cheerful, efficient and friendly manner. We had a delightful afternoon and feedback from our guests was all very positive and full pf praise for the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank visitbrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed here because we couldn't find anywhere else to stay. The rooms are very old and dated and badly in need of updating. The room we stayed in had a very strange smell to it. I wouldn't recommed anybody to stay here but i have seen worse.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel which was more than enough. The mattress on our bed had a dip in it on one side where numerous people had sat over the many years it had been on the bed. The central heating made noises all night long. The shower was just adequate. There was bare wood where the door frame had been repaired and never painted. The towel rail in the bathroom was rusty and there was mould around the bath. The service at breakfast was slapdash and quite what it was that they served my wife under the pretext of scrambled egg will forever remain a mystery.

Then to cap it all when I and some friends who were also staying there went to check out they tried to overcharge us by £5 each. The young woman working on reception has little idea what she was doing and had to call the owner to sort things out. I wanted to complain but did not want to cause a scene as I was so disgusted with the poor standard of accommodation and service all at a vastly overinflated price.

I could go on but since I am never likely to stay there again I will refrain from further comment. Wherever possible I try to avoid chain hotels as I like to support the smaller privately owned properties but this one gives independent hotels a bad name.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slartibardfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
0.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
901 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Consort Hotel
Best Western Consort Hotel
#11 of 15 in Rotherham
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Welcome Inn
The Welcome Inn
#9 of 15 in Rotherham
151 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brecon Hotel Rotherham Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brecon Hotel Rotherham Sheffield

Address: 53 Moorgate Road | Moorgate, Rotherham S60 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: £41 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brecon Hotel Rotherham Sheffield 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi in rooms and Free Parking. Value for Money accommodation for overnight stay for both business and leisure visitors to Rotherham and Sheffield with quiet and comfortable en-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Brecon Hotel Rotherham Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing