We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great price”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Aston hotel for one night in November 2013 as we were going to christening near by the following day. We arrived and parked in the ample and free car park! We were greeted by friendly staff and were given room 302. We were pleasantly surprised! The room was huge, very clean, massive double bed and a lovely ensuite with separate shower and bath. We had a few drinks downstairs in the bar, very pricey but good selection. We ordered room service and the food was excellent! As was breakfast, a good choice and options regularly topped up. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall an excellent stay and we would return!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    248
    73
    20
    18
See reviews for
105
384
39
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

From check in to check out, every one was friendly.
We were in room 326 by the lift, but you could not hear it. You could hear the peoples tv in the next room though, thin walls. We are sure it was 326, first room to the left as you come out of the lift, room overlooked the car park at the front.
We were there for a family party and were looked after. Lovely food, but for those with the chicken they had to ask for a sauce. It came quickly.
Pleasant evening sleep, but as mentioned above we could hear the tv next door, not too much to bother anyone with, more of a drone.
Up for breakfast and plenty to chose from and not hurried.
Very close to The Shopping Mall called Meadow Hall, so off to that after checking out. Very close to the M1, but no traffic noise, so plus plus.
We got a great deal via booking dot com.

Room Tip: Double glazing prevents any noise, not that there is much as it is set back from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Terry W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Your review does not mention whether your contacted the reception team to report the noise from the adjoining room, to enable us to contact the guest concerned.

I do hope that when next visiting the area you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed one night with our grandson. It was very convenient as a hotel to stay while visiting relatives. Nice room with one king bed and the sofa bed made up for our grandson. Lovely bathroom with large bath and a separate shower room. Breakfast good as well. Recommended as a short stay destination. Probably not great for an extended stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMWSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Without any doubt, this is the cleanest room we have had in any hotel we have stayed. The Hotel was quiet, clean, easy to find and access and was easy to book in and get around. Parking is in front of the hotel and free, WiFi is free and easy to access, with good connectivity. Apart from a couple of doors closing (normal use) we didn't hear anyone, at all, for the 2 days and nights we stayed. The bed was massive, comfy and clean. Facilities were perfect, just the job. We will stay here again every time we go to Sheffield. Finally, the price. The 2 night stay, room only, cost us just over £90! Brilliant. Thank you to all the staff, you obviously work so hard to keep everything so nice. The cleaners and Chambermaids are a credit to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 124 was our room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here overnight before a shopping day at meadow hall. Beautifull hotel, very welcoming on reception. Our room was fantastic, very spacious, king sized bed everything you needed in the room. We had our evening meal in the Brasserie, which we did not enjoy, but the waitress sorted it out for us. Breakfast was lovely with a brilliant choice, something for everyone. Will be returning, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne051263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear jayne051263,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

It is with regret that I read that your did not enjoy your meal in our restaurant, however delighted that the team were able to bring your complaint to a successful resolution and that you still felt able to leave such a positive review.

I will raise your comments with the Head Chef and the Food & Beverage Manager and ensure that any actions required from your feedback are taken immediately.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I hereby endorse all the positive reviews posted recently for The Aston Hotel. We spent just one night at the hotel for a concert at the nearby Sheffield Arena. The staff were exceptional, our room was very comfortable and the meal in the Brasserie before we left for the concert was excellent .... all at a very good price !!! We would most definitely use The Aston again should we be visiting the Arena again in the future.
One word of caution regarding getting to and from the Arena ... drive don't taxi !!! The taxi's do not take return bookings but assure you that if you ring staight after the concert you will easily get a taxi back to the hotel ... wrong !!! We stood outside the arena for nearly 2 hours, along with many other folk, phoning every taxi firm possible only to be told they were fully booked. The car park emptied well before we got our taxi ... regretting not taking the car after all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMJH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent value. Everything about the hotel was perfect., food, staff, rooms etc. There is even a bus stop outside for either Sheffield city centre or the Meadowhall shopping centre. I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliveBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
2.0 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
4.0 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Property: Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing