We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very clean, spacious rooms, good resturant/bar area, free parking. Helpful staff at reception, polite and friendly. The hotel is located at the top of Sheffiled parkway which isnt too far from the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrJGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Rooms very nice and clean breakfast good, shame about the masked winter wonderland new years eve ball. No atmosphere, function rooms (conference rooms) not decorated, no music during meal. Food undercooked took 45 min to replace a raw lamb dish after asking twice, vegitarian option bland and tasteless and watery. Slow service due to not enough staff and inexperience. What was the point of masks , where was the winter wonderland? Staff did not know what the drinks packages were or cost , dearer to buy 10 bottles of beer than 3 packs of 4. Over booked function with dinners served in two rooms and a disco held in the hotel restaurant area which was not big enough with no seating or areas to place drinks while dancing. Not recommended for any type of function but OK for stop over.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cath e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear cath e,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review.

It is the deep regret of myself and the hotel team that not all our guests enjoyed the New Years Eve celebrations as much as we would have hoped. Please be assured that as per my responses to other members of your party your comments will be taken on board and used to in a constructive manner.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

went to new years party advertised as a magical winter wonderland didn't see any magical decorations the the food was was awful the lamb was raw not edible sent it back had to go looking for 25mins later gave it to someone else the place used was aconferance room had to go toanother room for the disco which doubles up as the breakfast room not enough tables and chairs to sit down would not recommend the party nights

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Raymond A,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor, feedback from our guests is always appreciated and although on this occasion the feedback has some negative points I would like to thank you for rating other areas of the hotel so highly.

The New Years Eve event was attended by over 140 people and we have received largely positive feedback, however there is always room for improvement and your comments will be used to ensure the our 2014/2015 event is more spectacular.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Rooms nice and comfy. But would not attend another new years eve party due to the meal, it was terrible and not enough staff to serve. Our party of 18 were still hungry due to not eating what was provided. Would not recommend for new year, but would recommend the rooms.



  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Dawn R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor in addition to your response to our post stay survey.

As in my personal reply to you it is always a disappointment to myself and the team when we learn that some of our guests have not enjoyed their stay as much as others and I truly hope you will accept our apologies that on this occasion the evening did not live up to your expectations.

We will be conducting a full de-brief of the festive events held at the hotel and your comments will be taken on board and used to assist in improving the delivery of our 2014 calendar.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Came for New Years celebrations 2012 & 2013. Lovey modern hotel with spacious rooms and giant comfy beds. However this year it was over booked meaning the food service took a while leaving us less time to enjoy the disco before midnight. Food was good, good choice at breakfast. Friendly staff who were running round as there wasn't enough of them for the amount of people booked in!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stacie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in September when attending a conference in Sheffield. I was simply looking for a nice hotel close to the motorway for airport access with free parking.

The Aston delivered on all of the above and complemented it with friendly staff, efficient service and a clean modern room.

I'd happily recommend the hotel for business travelers or as a stopover hotel to break a journey.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Wicklow142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I have stayed in many hotels through 2013 and found that the Aston hotel in Rotherham to be one of my most comfortable and enjoyable hotel stays of the year. As I was on a business conference the food was served in a buffet format and was really great... Lots of hot and cold choices all cooked to perfection. My room was large and comfortable as we'll... It all looked new, and the bathroom fittings were high-end.
In all a really great location, lovely hotel and friendly staff, I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#4 of 15 in Rotherham
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
900 reviews
2.0 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Rotherham
779 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing