We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I recently stayed on a Tuesday evening , excellent friendly service , nice fully equipped bedrooms , a really comfortable bed.
The evening meal in the hotel was adequate but quite expensive @ nearly nineteen pounds for an average rib eye steak, however the breakfast was excellent and I will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a fairly quiet location and I think all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEE029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear LEE029,

Thank you for such a positive review on Tripadvisor I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Regarding your comments on the steak I have asked our Food & Beverage Manager to review on menu and ensure we continue to offer the best choice possible.

Kind regards

Andrea Hippsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a good location if you are working between Sheffield and Rotherham it does what it says on the tin it gives you a bed shower and food option.

I have stayed here twice now and find the beds are very soft and you roll to the middle and stay there. the bathrooms are clean and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Some rooms near the stairs and lift suffer from noise of other guests moving around due the build quality.

The restaurant is ok with good waiting staff some with a really good attitude and ability to communicate in a way that relaxes you.

What was disappointing was the time the food takes to arrive from point of order, starter arrived fast as did other tables that arrived after myself, then the wait, and wait we did some 55 minutes then a mad rush al the mains seemed to arrive at once in any order and the waiting staff could not keep up.

Breakfast is decidedly average and bar prices above average to that of a local pub so not good if on a business budget.

Staff are friendly throughout.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and rooms away from the stairs and lift are quiet from people movements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobH567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked this room on a cheap deal and feel we got excellent value for money.
The rooms were clean and well equipped.
The only issue we had is the bed in the first room had a dip in the mattress but as soon as we mentioned this we were able to change rooms without a fuss.
We stayed 2 nights on a bed and breakfast rate.
Breakfast was well cooked, plenty of choice including fresh fruit, cereals, cooked items. All of the breakfast items were of good quality, the bacon and sausages were some of the best I have eaten in a hotel for breakfast.
We took advantage of having Sunday lunch and the 3pm checkout for the cost of £9.95 per person this gave us the luxury of a lazy Sunday and a delicious 2 course lunch.
I choose the roast pork and was very impressed at the chefs home-made apple sauce he whipped up for me, my husband had the hunters chicken this was very moist and tasty.
All the staff at the hotel were very helpful and it felt like they enjoyed their work.
High praise to Nicole and Ben who were serving behind the bar and restaurant, both gave excellent service and always with a smile.
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel both in quality of room, food and the level of service given to us by the staff.
We hope to be able to stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel is outside of the city, located in a buisness park but it is only a short drive into Shef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toffee71Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Room was fine, nicely decorated and with a great shower. Location - great for Meadowhall Shopping Centre and proximity to motorway, but not for alternative places to eat, as it is basically on an industrial estate, though off a roundabout and on its own. So we were left to eat in the onsite restaurant....whilst the staff were attentive and friendly (although somewhat undertrained and rather anxious, our prosecco was spilled on pouring), the menu left a lot to be desired - when presented with the bread and olives (no balsamic vinegar / olive oil and the thinnest slices of rustic bread I have ever encountered! ) we asked for cocktail sticks to eat the olives - the waitress brought back what was clearly the snapped off end of a single wooden skewer! I had chosen the Indian 'nibbles' though these were not available; on receiving my curry of the day I asked for the naan as described on the menu; on return the waiter brought me poppadoms instead, without any comment! In addition, I really think it's time to replace the restaurant carpet as it was badly stained in places, as were some of the chair seats. A reasonable budget hotel let down by its restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elspeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Me an my misses have stayed here several times, its her favourite place to stay, its close to every where we wana be in sheffield.the rooms are brilliant for the price you pay, not forgetting the breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adiwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is fantastic hotel which is exceedingly well managed. All the staff are polite attentive and helpful. Rooms are well furnished and equipped. Rooms are also very clean. The restaurant offers excellent choice of food

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helie4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014



Nice food, comfy beds, travel cot ready for us in arrival along wv nice blanket, clean room but its location is a bit odd (shame really) but overall stay had bn fun. The tea cakes were the tops;) xxxx


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill & Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Rotherham
806 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
926 reviews
8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: £43 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing