We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit - improved stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed at the ASTON HOTEL, Sheffield in April 2014 and was perfectly happy with the accommodation, service and buffet breakfast. Having just (August 2014) made a return visit I think that the hotel has got even better under the Mercure brand. They have created a nice lounge area in what was once part of the ground floor restaurant - presumably this was space that wasn't being used to capacity and made other improvements.

The hotel was clean and rooms modern and comfortable; the staff welcoming. The free wifi actually works and was appreciated - an excellent location for guests with their own transport (ample free parking) and no room noise from the nearby Sheffield Parkway.

The breakfast has got even better and a menu of items cooked to order was a nice touch and appreciated; especially good for those not into "The Full English".

Very happy to endorse the earlier recommendation and will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Excellent service, staff friendly and very helpful, they couldn't do enough for us. The room was clean and spacious with air conditioning which was a bonus as the weather was very hot. Food was ok but evening meal came with meat and potatoes only, I had to ask for veg which was an optional extra. However, we didn't have to wait long and it was worth the wait. Breakfast ok but could have been hotter. Excellent value for money as it included tickets to Chatsworth House, would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is clean, rooms spacious and well presented. Staff all very pleasant. The evening meal was perfectly acceptable and breakfast too. Although I do have to say the coffee was undrinkable so best opt fot tea.
There is no doubt that a this is a perfectly good hotel with decent food and well placed for shopping and exploring the peak district. And at £89 for a room with 3 course evening meal, breakfast plus 2 tickets to Chatsworth House excellent value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan_Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very friendly staffs. The rooms were good size and very clean. Restaurant food was excellent and the staffs were always smiling and helpful. Good value for the money. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

As a repeat guest I can say the breakfast definatly has not improved.... No tables , no food, not even water to drink and when girl came with coffee it was undrinkable. Breakfast is a joke, it's a buffet style but all the items rant there at the same time. There was actually no juices left at all when we went. Maybe more staff required. Rooms are very comfy and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mandz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear mandz2,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We learn and adapt from guest feedback.
I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your breakfast experience. Breakfast is a very important part of our guests stay, your comments have been noted and changes to our breakfast have taken place. With our re brand to the "Mercure Sheffield Parkway" Our breakfast has had a revamp. I do hope you will sample it again on your next stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Myself and husband stayed here recently wth another couple enjoying one night's murder mystery dinner and overnght stay and a second night dinner bed and breakfast with chatsworth house tickets. The experiences and stays were excellent value for money and very good fun. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. Drinks at the bar were a bit pricey but food was nice, nice breakfast. There is a lovely seating area near the bar which we enjoyed despite there being some redecoration occurring during our visit. (We didn't find this noisy or intrusive at all). The rooms are nice with a good sized bed and lovely en suite with large shower, among the best we've had when staying away. The only reason I;ve not given it a 5 rating is that there is no pool/sauna/steam room area which we normally enjoy when away. There is a small gym but it really is tiny with only one treadmill, rowing machine and cross trainer inside. It is easy to get to being just off the M1. Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Staff were very professional and friendly. The room was excellent and ensuite facilities were excellent too. We would definitely stay there again. Handy for Meadowhall.




  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
570 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
919 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
2.0 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: £47 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing