We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing lady!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Sevens Guest House
Ranked #6 of 41 Colchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed at the four sevens for one night whilst on a training course. As soon as I walked into the guest house I was made to feel welcomed by the lovely landlady. The place had such a homely feel that I wanted to take my shoes of and curl up on the sofa. The whole house is beautiful, so clean and beautifully decorated, there was a heavenly smell of home baking and yes I got a yummy pieces of coffee and walnut cake. I slept like a log warm and cosy and no noise. Breakfast the next day was served by a wonderful host, who was just so nice and it was humbling to talk to her. And I was amazed when I asked her to call me a cab she insist on dropping me even though she had a friend who had just come to visit. I wish that I could've stayed longer and if I am ever in that area would not even contemplate another guest house. You don't often meet people who are so willing to go out of their way. I wish them the best and every success in their business they truly deserve it. Fay x

Room Tip: All seems quiet but I bet the garden rooms are an even better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you very much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

my wife and i recently had to stay in Colchester having never been there before and my wife booked the Four Sevens on female intuition, and we are both so pleased she did! Calypso greeted us when we arrived with a slice of chocolate brownie cake, and that set a theme. she was so friendly and always willing to help (we could not thank her enough). the room was spacious, spotlessly clean, and beautifully light and airy (we had one with an en-suite bathroom), and the bed comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was splendid, setting us up for the rest of the day.
The Four Sevens is located in a quiet, mature area of Colchester but conveniently is approximately 15 minutes from the centre of town. THANK YOU CALYPSO FOR MAKING OUR STAY A PLEASURABLE ONE

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you very much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have just spent two nights as guest of the Four Sevens Guest House in Colchester. I would highly recommend this establishment run by an extremely friendly and welcoming hostess. Clean, warm, comfortable and quiet.
I will most definitely be recommending it to my friends and returning there on any further trips to Colchester

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libbybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you very much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I enjoyed greatly my staying at Calypso's. I felt spoiled by the big warm room, full of light and sunshine and more important, so quiet. Calypso was very warm and friendly, and very understanding with all my needs and my timetable. Delicious breakfast. Everything had a personal touch.
I will definitely return and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olimpiapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

My colleague and I stayed here for one night. We where so impressed with the size and standard of rooms . We received a lovely welcome from
Calypso. ( lemon cake on arrival) . The breakfast was so big and delicious . I had such a great nights sleep , bed very comfy. I would recommend and if I had to return to Colchester again I would definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Sheena,
Thank you so much for your very kind words.
All the best.
C Demetri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My family and I stayed for the first time with Calypso at her beautiful house some 19 years ago. It was love from the first sight! We have never thought to stay somewhere else in Colchester since 1994!!!
We can warmly recommend you the Four sevens! We will really feel at home there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Calypso - yes that really is the landlady's name - was so welcoming and thoughtful.
She showed us to our room - beautifully appointed and overlooking the garden - and by the time we had brought our bags in from the car, there were 2 HUGE pieces of homemade chocolate fudge cake waiting for us. The next day, after a wonderful breakfast, we went for a day out. On our return, the room had been cleaned and towels changed, and we had homemade apple & almond cake - divine.
Everything about this guest house was first class and I would recommend staying here to everyone - a real 'Home from Home".

Room Tip: All of the rooms were beautifully appointed, but I would definitely pay that little bit extra for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJKWidnes_Cheshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
903 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pheasant Suites
Pheasant Suites
#1 of 1 in Elmstead Market
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
735 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
7.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sevens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sevens Guest House

Address: 28 Inglis Road, Colchester CO3 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range: £138 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Sevens Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sevens Guesthouse is a very large and spacious Victorian house which has only just recently undergone a full refurbishment of all its rooms and facilities. The Four Sevens Guesthouse is situated in a quiet location within a few minutes stroll from the centre of town. We are also a short bus ride away from both railway stations and the University of Essex and a few minutes walk from Colchester Study Centre and the Colchester InstituteThe large airy and bright rooms have been modernised to a very high standard. They are equipped with:• Hospitality trays• LCD TVs with freeview/sky and DVD players.• Free Wi Fi access. Warm and friendly reception and generous breakfasts. PRICES FOR 2 PEOPLE FROM £65 TO £75 PER NIGHT INCLUDING BREAKFAST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Four Sevens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Sevens Guest House Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing