We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, friendly awesome place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Four Sevens Guest House
Ranked #7 of 40 Colchester B&B and Inns
Newbridge, Gwent
1 review
“Amazing, friendly awesome place to stay!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

our families stayed here when my husband and I lived in Colchester and they found it an amazing experience.
Since moving back to our hometown we have visited Colchester a number of times and always stay here.
Even after 12 years Calypso still remembers our names and makes a point of knowing her guests.
The breakfasts are amazing and I've never had better service. The food beats even those in 5star hotels. You really will be stuffed with the breakfast.
The guest house isn't exactly diamond standard but it's comfortable, warm, well laid out and a really lovely place to stay.
I've tried other places but they never live up to this one!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
17
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Calypso is the most courteous, kind, and gracious hostess I have ever had the pleasure of meeting.

I stayed at the Four Sevens for just over a week while visiting from Canada. I was visiting to get to know the school I'll be working at in September and it was close to both the school and the town centre so the location is just great.

The room was very large and bright, especially compared to the hostel I'd been staying at the week before. Wifi on the second floor was somewhat inconsistent and I could have made use of a desk, but these are truly the only faults I could find with this B&B. Calypso makes great coffee and is a great cook. Do not eat her full English breakfast before going to work! You'll explode by 11!

Wouldn't recommend anyone stay anywhere else in Colchester.

Room Tip: Wifi was sometimes troublesome on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pretzelboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights here and would rate this b+b as the best by far that my wife and I have stayed in. We were greeted with a lovely smile and a piece of cheesecake (homemade!). The place is spotless yet homely and is spacious with everything laid out with guests needs in mind. The dining room is gorgeous and the cooked breakfast is first class. The owner, Calypso, is a lovely sincere lady who loves what she does, nothing is too much trouble for her. She made our business trip feel like a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

From the moment myself and my girlfriend arrived at Four Sevens, we were made very welcome by the owner (Calypso)
In a very quiet situation, Four Sevens offers a very tranquil getaway for anyone wanting to explore Colchester. With the benefit of off road parking.
We were on a trip to celebrate our First Anniversary and this was a lovely base to spend our time.
Clean, airy and very comfortable rooms and an absolutely delicious Breakfast.
Highly recommended.
Thank you to Calypso and her family.

Mr Hamilton and Miss Williams

Room Tip: Ask for Room 6. Big room, very peaceful, Ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed at the four sevens for one night whilst on a training course. As soon as I walked into the guest house I was made to feel welcomed by the lovely landlady. The place had such a homely feel that I wanted to take my shoes of and curl up on the sofa. The whole house is beautiful, so clean and beautifully decorated, there was a heavenly smell of home baking and yes I got a yummy pieces of coffee and walnut cake. I slept like a log warm and cosy and no noise. Breakfast the next day was served by a wonderful host, who was just so nice and it was humbling to talk to her. And I was amazed when I asked her to call me a cab she insist on dropping me even though she had a friend who had just come to visit. I wish that I could've stayed longer and if I am ever in that area would not even contemplate another guest house. You don't often meet people who are so willing to go out of their way. I wish them the best and every success in their business they truly deserve it. Fay x

Room Tip: All seems quiet but I bet the garden rooms are an even better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

my wife and i recently had to stay in Colchester having never been there before and my wife booked the Four Sevens on female intuition, and we are both so pleased she did! Calypso greeted us when we arrived with a slice of chocolate brownie cake, and that set a theme. she was so friendly and always willing to help (we could not thank her enough). the room was spacious, spotlessly clean, and beautifully light and airy (we had one with an en-suite bathroom), and the bed comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was splendid, setting us up for the rest of the day.
The Four Sevens is located in a quiet, mature area of Colchester but conveniently is approximately 15 minutes from the centre of town. THANK YOU CALYPSO FOR MAKING OUR STAY A PLEASURABLE ONE

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have just spent two nights as guest of the Four Sevens Guest House in Colchester. I would highly recommend this establishment run by an extremely friendly and welcoming hostess. Clean, warm, comfortable and quiet.
I will most definitely be recommending it to my friends and returning there on any further trips to Colchester

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.6 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 23 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 23 in Colchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sevens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sevens Guest House

Property: Four Sevens Guest House
Address: 28 Inglis Road, Colchester CO3 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sevens Guesthouse is a very large and spacious Victorian house which has only just recently undergone a full refurbishment of all its rooms and facilities. The Four Sevens Guesthouse is situated in a quiet location within a few minutes stroll from the centre of town. We are also a short bus ride away from both railway stations and the University of Essex and a few minutes walk from Colchester Study Centre and the Colchester InstituteThe large airy and bright rooms have been modernised to a very high standard. They are equipped with:• Hospitality trays• LCD TVs with freeview/sky and DVD players.• Free Wi Fi access. Warm and friendly reception and generous breakfasts. PRICES FOR 2 PEOPLE FROM £65 TO £75 PER NIGHT INCLUDING BREAKFAST. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Four Sevens Guest House Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing