We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed 1 night after flight from USA before leaving from Harwich Port for British Isle cruise. Staff very nice and restaurant next door just fine and quite convenient as it was raining the day we arrived. The next day a pleasant and sunny walk to Colchester Park and Castle and breakfast in town. We thought this was the perfect place to stay for a night prior to cruise.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and it was provided. Downstairs end of hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue44044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    76
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
77
79
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Easy to get to from station and town.clean rooms and friendly staff.didnt eat there as tgere is loads of good restaurant near.station less that five minute walk.staff very felpful and looked after our bag after we checked out



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

this was the 5th and last time I will stay in a premier in. after several bad nights in York and Carlisle wasn't going to do it again but availability necessitated that we did. And another quiet night ruined by noisy neighbors, again mentioned this to reception but all she did was say "we will take a note of that" ?? getting sick of a guarantee that isn't honored.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alpal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your review details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Spent three nights and had a very pleasant stay. Really friendly and smiling staff, quiet place and good food. Due to a graduation at the uni, all hotels were fully booked, but I got the last room which was a room designet for disableds. Plenty of space and comfy bed. Nice touch that the full breakfast was ordered from the waiter and made everything I ordered really fresh. Had dinner at the restaurant once which was pretty good - plenty of food, but perhaps a little bit bland. Not much to complain about, though. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullterrier04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel the night of my birthday. The room was lovely and spacious, very clean. We booked dinner at the Albert next door. Ive never had any problems with this restaurant but this particular night was dreadful! Wrong drink orders and when i spoke to the head waiter he sniffed my drink to see if i was lying! Two female waiters cleaning tables next to us talking about how they are aiming to get smashed and laid that night. They had ran out of simple ingredients so i was limited to what i could order and when the chefs where cleaning up they decided to stick on some heavy techno/drum and base music whilst doing so! Making the night a complete mock up. Went back to the hotel and the female receptionist was very helpful and listened to everything we said. She gave us complaint cards to fill in. I thought we may get an apology email but to my surprise the manager, head waiter and receptionist came to our door to deeply apologise and gave us a free bottle of rosè, red or white. I was happy with the quick response so i did not let it get to me. Other than that it was a lovely stay. Im from the town so i know where everything is. 5 minute walk to Bowling, leisure centre, aqua springs and mc donalds. Local shops again around 5 minute walk including, dominoes, one stop, local take aways. There is a Asda superstore behind the hotel at around a 10 minute walk or the opposite direction you have about a 15-20 minute walk up a hill into town. Nearby north train station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_rose143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

the premier inn chain is a nice, budget motel but they should indicate on their website and advertising that the rooms do not have telephones. i consider this a safety and health issue. if one is traveling alone and has a medical problem, there is no way to contact the front desk other than crawling down a long hall and down 2 flights of stairs. not everyone travels with a mobile phone, especially those visiting from abroad.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwdebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a great time here, went to elton john concert, close to town center and park, well worth a visit, staff helpfull ordered taxi for us and they where helpfull and cheap, restaurant was good. close to main road but as hotel had air con it didnt matter. lovely room with large wall tv, sheet if needed. bed pillows great loads of tea coffee sugar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel
Address: Cowdray Avenue, Colchester CO1 1UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colchester
#3 Family Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Roman temples and landscapes beloved by John Constable right on your doorstep ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Colchester Central Hotel Colchester
Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing