We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
72
31
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
31
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget accommodationmile end roaddoor codesufficient informationclose to train stationmini fridgewi fi was greatpower shower was excellentfolding chairstext messagetea and coffee making facilitiesone at a timeneeded somewhereexcellent communicationequipped roomscomplimentary watershared bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed at the Railway Sleeper Guest House in Colchester after travelling to Colchester to visit friends who lived there. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable, and the room was very quiet, being away from the main street.

The upstairs room was very small with both of us having to enter the bed from the one side, and just enough room for us to dress one at a time. It proved adequate for a one night stay and was good value for money.

The full cooked breakfast in the morning was delightful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Everything was as advertised and not as others had reviewed! I asked for single occupancy and got a huge room with dressing gowns, my own bathroom with jacuzzii bath and all over jet shower! Asda is just around the corner and right next to Colchester FC where I was going the next day! Bed was comfy and room was quiet! Breakfast was great and nothing seemed to much trouble! Overall a great experience! Only thing I would change would be that I had to walk or drive to breakfast 2 mins but even that was quite pleasant weirdly!!! Thanks ever so much!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IandanIell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My partner and I stayed in the satelite building of the B & B. We were welcomed to our room which was clean although half way through decorating. The bathroom had been recently decorated to a high quality, so in the future I am sure all the rooms will match this once they are completed. We had a comfortable stay, although were slightly disappointed by the breakfast (which was in the main B & B building). There was a good selection of cereals etc that you could help yourself to but the cooked breakfast was small, the beans were cold and the bacon was very greasy and fatty.

All in all our stay was ok but it felt a little 'cold' as apart from when we first arrived, there wasn't anyone else in the building that we could have readily asked for help / information from.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarant101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I felt this hotel was very clean and the location was good but the rooms were rather small and quite basic but for just one night they were good enough! Upon check in no one was there to greet us, we had to call a number to retrive our room keys from a safe.
The breakfast was cooked freshly but not the greatest breakfast in the world.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy_travelgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MinkyColchester, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time out to place a review. I have noted your comments regarding retrieving your own key but should point out we did send you a detailed confirmation outlining our check in process and specifically requesting a call thirty minutes before your arrival. This is essential when guests have not provided us with an arrival time. Additionally we sent you a text message on the day outlining what to do on arrival. Unlike many other b&Bs we allow guests to check in at their leisure at any time from 2pm as opposed to having a two hour check in window. To facilitate this flexibility retrieval of your own key has proved the best solution and by enlatge been extremely popular.

We promote ourselves a 'NO FRILLS' B&B choosing to concentrate on those areas that customers tell us that are most important to them. These being 1.(a comfortable bed) 2. (a powerful shower) 3.(a good breakfast) 4.(cleanliness). In addition we provide free parking and free wifi. We very much hope on balance when compared to the alternatives we can meet the needs of most customers.

Kind Regards

The Railway Sleeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

i stayed friday until sunday and was just amazed on the quality of this bb and with its great customer service.the room was fantastic had everything you wanted in a room.the breakfast was fab.i will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forestlad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MinkyColchester, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Thank You so much again for your lovely review, your thank you card and kind gift it was greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews