We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rude owner doesn´t justify the cleanliness!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Railway Sleeper Lodge
Ranked #7 of 40 Colchester B&B and Inns
DE/CZ/AAfrica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rude owner doesn´t justify the cleanliness!”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed there twice, already writing a review after the first stay because it is very strange that on their website and other booking servers, the Railway Sleeper seems to be just one house, offering rooms with breakfast. Our company had booked us in there for 4 nights and paid WITH breakfast, only on arrival did we find out that again, there was no breakfast as we were not in the advertised house, but in a different building without breakfast.
On our last day we were confronted by the owner, who didn´t like our first review, although we solely expressed our personal opinion.
To cut a long story short - the owner got very rude and verbally abusive to us, it even ended in an assault. And this because of a review! We were more than shocked! There was no way of a polite communication with the owner. We have seen on other review-websites that this wasn´t the first time this had happened to a guest.

The houses are both not well staffed, no one can be seen at any time, that makes problem solving very hard, the whole breakfast issue, especially if prices are advertised as "breakfast included" on their website are very misleading.

There are many nice and well priced guest houses in Colchester - rather give those a try - it may save you from being bruised.

Room Tip: choose between tiny and tinier. If you take the one house, there will be breakfast, If you take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    23
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
29
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I booked this little budget lodge (as they advertise it) as my usual one was fully booked. I expected to find what you would normally find in budget chains like travelodge etc. But this was not the case they had an extremely convenient self check in, rooms that were immaculately clean, bright and airy and comprised of an iron, ironing board hairdryer, generous hospitality tray and a small fridge. They had either ensuite or private bathrooms for the room both were very generous sizes and well maintained. The owner is very friendly but respects ones privacy. All in all this is a very well managed lodge and I would recommend to anyone travelling on business. Value for money is exceptional but need to be careful not to undersell.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

They try hard to press as much as possible in small rooms. "All rooms are en-suite" is not the reality. The booking rules are a bit strange and for my experience with all sorts of b&b´s cheeky - booking by phone or email is additonal charge of 3 GBP per night (not even only per booking!!!) And another cheeky thing is charging for room without breakfast the same amount of money like room with breakfast. And last... if you cancel the booking more than 24 hours, they will charge you 10 GBP. Like that is not even working in hotels, early enough you dont pay any cancellation fee.

Rooms and public places are maybe clean, but the way of running this business is cheeky. If our company would not book that, I would not even think about booking any room in this guest house.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyKa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLilley7, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thankyou for your comments.

Without having your name of exact date of stay it is difficult to comment too sepcifically on all the points you have made.

We offer budget accommodation with compact rooms and yes we do offer a lot in each room such as a fridge, hairdryer, well stocked hospitality tray, 45 channel TVs, power shower and memory foam mattresses. In addition parking and wi-fi is free. We know this com'pares very favourably with our competitors within Colchester.

All of our charges are tarnsparent and clearly displayed on our website and in the detailed confirmation we email to every guest on booking. Like many businesses, guests that complete the booking process online get this at a slighly cheaper rate but pay for the accommodation immedaitely as opposed to those booking over the phone do not pay until they stay. All rates Monday-Friday as advertised on our website are inclusive of breakfast. Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays the rates are Room Only but unlike many accommodation providers do not inrease our rates at this time or insist on minimum stay periods.

Our cancellation policy is very felxible compared to many hotels as you can cancel up to 24 hours beforehand and not have to give 7 or in some cases 30 days notice. The £10 cancellation fee is to deter what many hotels suffer from and that is bookings made for non accommodation reasons.

With what we offer at the price we offer, we are pleased to tell you that we are very popular with many contractors and business travellers alike anfd have many repaet guests. We very mcuh hope you will consider us again the in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed as a group of 3 friends on the top floor, we had our own bathroom across the landing, nothing to over the top just basic which was what we were after. It was quite hard to find the first time but we once we managed to find it we had no issues locating it again. The pub across the road was very welcoming and does great food. The owner of the Guest House was very helpful and would happily sit down for a chat in the morning after cooking us our cooked breakfast. Great location for the NEC as its just close enough for a quick trip but far enough away from the noise and traffic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xclare18x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Myself my husband booked into the Railway Sleeper for one night., The room was clean and bright. perhaps a little to bright due to the fact there was no curtain just a vertical blind that offered no privacy at all, and certainly did not keep the light out, the bed described as a "double" was more like a large single, it would have been impossible to fit a normal sized double bed into this room because it was so small,the traffic whizzed by all night and the trains sounded there horns until late into the night...We were offered breakfast, but after a sleepless night declined. In my opinion The Railway Sleeper should be done under the trade description act...."double" means "double" ...and that was not what we got !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPdeCramilly, Owner at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Unfortunately without details of your name or when you stayed, it is impossible for me to investigate your comments in much detail. I am sorry that form what you have said, your stay was not a favourable one. I do wish to stress however, we describe our rooms as being "small doubles" and this is prominently displayed both within our own website and if you were to book with us via booking.com also, so we are not attempting to mislead anyone. I would also like to add that I believe we offer compact prices to match compact rooms when compared to our competitors. I am pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of the room, something we place a lot on emphasis on but if you do decide to come back to me with your name and date of stay, I can look into it further. Regards Kim Lilley (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We needed a room for the night after a wedding in Stoke-by-Nayland and this was a convenient location for friends to drop us off at. We were looking for somewhere that we could access late as we couldn't check in until the end of the day. The Railway Sleeper was an excellent choice for this. Entry to the building is given through a coded door and we were texted the code earlier in the day. We then picked up our key from the hook beside the door and were off to bed shortly after we arrived past midnight.

The room was small but fine for a fews hours sleep. The double bed was comfortable and shower room not too cramped, although we didn't use the shower so I can't comment on that. There is a small television with freeview, tea and coffee making things and free WiFi through a code on the back of the door.

We stayed at the weekend so there was no cooked breakfast available but a small bag of food was left for us on the hook outside our door, which is a lovely idea. It contained a carton of orange juice, an apple, a yogurt and small wrapped pastry.

For what we needed our room for, this was perfectly suitable and I would recommend to anyone looking for a bed rather than a hotel/cosy B&B experience.

Room Tip: Stairs are quite steep - there appeared to be one room on ground floor and three upstairs. Downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here for a few days while moving houses and had a huge amount of luggage with us as well as two small dogs as they are a pet friendly hotel, the only problem was we were booked into the up stairs room which was a lot of hard work carrying 4 suitcases and 2 dog cages up the steep steps. It we then moved to the downstairs room afterwards which was handy. There is a small car park which is free and check in was easy, the owner simply texts you the code to where they keep your keys and your off. We stayed in the Summer and as it was an extremely hot summer, we were hugely uncomfortable with the heat so I would recommend some fans for future customers. The breakfast was great and made to order and the rooms were clean but it was very tight for space but still great for what you are expected to pay. As the name suggests, the B&B is conveniently located just up the road from Colchester's main train station but it is a little trek from there to the town centre. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Colchester on a budget.

Room Tip: Downstairs room is larger than upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damiengibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
1.6 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
1.3 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
120 reviews
1.0 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
250 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Sleeper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Sleeper Lodge

Property: The Railway Sleeper Lodge
Address: 172 Bergholt Road, Colchester CO4 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Railway Sleeper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a lodge and is on a room only basis but all rooms have a microwave and a mini fridge located close to the mainline railway station servicing London Liverpool Street and Colchester General Hospital and also very close to Western Homes football stadium. There is ample parking and free wifi unlimited. Not only are there plenty of excellent pubs, restaurants and take-aways walking distance from The Railway Sleeper Lodge. Historic Colchester town offers much more. There are numerous activities such as visting Colchester Castle, the superb Castle Park as well as many other landmark buildings you would expect to find in Britain's oldest recorded town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Railway Sleeper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Railway Sleeper Lodge Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing