We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget prices but better than some 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Railway Sleeper Lodge
Ranked #7 of 40 Colchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2014

An amazing gem of a small hotel. Did not expect too much due to it being rated as a budget hotel but I was astounded to find everything you could wish for and more in a hotel room.
A small fridge, a microwave, a torch, dressing gowns, iron and ironing board plus tea and hot drink making facilities. En suite with a wonderful shower and spotlessly clean.
I could go on and on about this lovely place but do yourself a favour and try it for yourself, you will not be disappointed. Although you cannot get breakfast etc it does not detract from the quality of the place and having a fridge and microwave in the room you can always make something yourself. I am just trying to find a reason to go back to Colchester just to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, Manager at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are budget but try and walk the customer trail as much as possible to ensure everyone have what they need for a pleasant stay. Reviews like yours make us even more bespoke than our reputation is already. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

K Lilley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for The Railway Sleeper Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

An absolutely lovely place to stay. Very clean, very good location and very well-priced. 9.5/10. Excellent. EDIT: I just wanted to add....this was one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed; it was comparable to a 4/5 star hotel. The whole thing was lovely. I would recommend to family/friends without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jackleetie .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, Manager at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent feed back. It makes us feel that it all has been worth it when accurate feed back such as yours has been given
Many thanks
K Lilley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I've been to quite a few b&b's over the year's but this was a first. You don't actually get to interact with anyone its all done online and over the phone.
The room was excellent ( I thought the fridge and the shared microwave was a nice touch ) albeit a little on the small side. That apart couldn't fault it, very clean and well maintained, great shower , comfortable bed, a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank derek s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, General Manager at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thankyou for posting a review regarding your recent stay.

We do listen to guest comments whether good or bad to see where we can improve. We are very pleased at the many positive comments you paid us and like so many other guests found our all round offering to their liking. As you state, we are primarily a self service operation but do have a housekeeper on hand at all times. Being such a small operation and offering such a wide time slot for check in / check out, the self check in operation is very popular and would not be possible if a staff member had to be available at all times for this. This type of facility is becoming more common too with some of the large budget chain hotels although we don't feel it is reflected in the prices they charge.

Once again, thank you for your custom and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again some time in the future.

Regards

Kim Lilley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Wrote an amazing review for this hotel because it truly is a great value for money find...my review was declined because of my use of a non profane abreviation...shame cos the hotel was fantastic only Tripadvisor let me down...still recommend this place highly though..enjoy...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, General Manager at The Railway Sleeper Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are very appreciative of your comments and that you rated us as excellent value for money.

We are sorry that your original review was not published by Trip Advisor and do hope if you are in the area again you will look to stay with us.

Kind regards

Kim Lilley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Have stayed on a couple of occasions once with friends and then on my own and found facilities more than adequate and hosts agreeable hence second stay. Great location for the areas of Colchester I needed to get to so will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

really good stay.. great value. Owners were lovely and very helpful..wifi really fast!!...room very clean...I didn't really need to interact with anyone..but when i did it was excellent. Room was clean..great power shower

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexred68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed in various places and this has to be the best ever close to town central location near to railway station buses and many local service
Easy to Book and mr and mrs Payne are most help full
Beds are firm and comfortable and the shower the most powerfull I've come across had to turn it down
Also dog friendly overall most impressed

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
0.7 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#20 of 23 in Colchester
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 23 in Colchester
173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
142 reviews
1.0 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Sleeper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Sleeper Lodge

Address: 172 Bergholt Road, Colchester CO4 5AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Railway Sleeper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a lodge and is on a room only basis but all rooms have a microwave and a mini fridge located close to the mainline railway station servicing London Liverpool Street and Colchester General Hospital and also very close to Western Homes football stadium. There is ample parking and free wifi unlimited. Not only are there plenty of excellent pubs, restaurants and take-aways walking distance from The Railway Sleeper Lodge. Historic Colchester town offers much more. There are numerous activities such as visting Colchester Castle, the superb Castle Park as well as many other landmark buildings you would expect to find in Britain's oldest recorded town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Railway Sleeper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Railway Sleeper Lodge Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing