We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, friendly staff, nice old building”
Review of The Peldon Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Peldon Rose
Ranked #32 of 40 Colchester B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff, nice old building”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

An old pub with good food this is well worth a visit. Some food is great value while other dishes are quite expensive, I have eaten here six or so times in the last three years and have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    26
    14
    16
    14
See reviews for
30
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Off of the beaten track, Mike the landlord was great and his staff were fantastic, they accommodated us and nothing was too much for them, the grounds are fantastic the building is so beautiful. The food is scrumptious, with Mersea Island 2 minutes away, but go on low tide, or take a boat, the Peldon Rose is ideally located

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denstone
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Had been recommended to go to another restaurant in the area (but the welcome was nonexistent there). As soon as we went into The Peldon Rose it was so different - the staff were friendly and the atmosphere was great. We had a superb meal, briliantly presented, piping hot and excellent value. We ate there two out of the three nights we were in the area and regretted not going back on the third!
Would recommend it highly if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sourcedargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam_ThePeldonRose, Manager at The Peldon Rose, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Happy to hear this! Please come and see us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

I've known of the Peldon Rose for almost fifty years, but it took a recent high tide on the Strood to get me inside. We were heading to Mersea for lunch, so the Rose was going to be second best. I also anticipated that the food would be overpriced and disappointing given the pub's fame.

But not a bit of it. Inside the old part of the pub (there is a modern conservatory-style extension) it was delightfully beamed with low dark ceiling, flagstones and appropriate furniture. The staff were attentive and friendly. The food was outstandingly good. Fresh Mersea skate, perfectly cooked with new boiled potatoes. Not just a skate wing, but a good thick skate wing. With asparagus spears, beautifully cooked.

A friend had the same as me, while another had some perfect fish and chips. A really good crisp batter, a large fillet of cod and homemade delicious mushy peas. My other friend had a tasty chicken Caesar salad.

The bill came in at a tenner each, including drinks.

So, to summarise, a real surprise and somewhere I'm looking forward to visiting again.

No sign of the Roman centurion though :-)

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam_ThePeldonRose, Manager at The Peldon Rose, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We try are utmost to offer great local produce at a price that represents fantastic value for money so I am glad to hear that you all felt this was the case. I hope we don't have to wait another 50 years for your next visit, that is about as often as we see the Roman Centurion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We popped in for lunch on our way to Mersea and what a treat! Excellent service, terrific food, and atmosphere. Even though busy when we arrived, they found us a table right away, and service was very attentive. We didn't wait long for anything. We stayed in the old pub part of the building (loads of character but watch your head) which was very charming. There is also a newer addition which also looked nice. Service with a smile, delightful!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u_luv_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam_ThePeldonRose, Manager at The Peldon Rose, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thanks for your kind words, i'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Peldon Rose. I hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I and our two teenage children recently had the pleasure of staying in the Peldon Rose. The rooms were beautiful, the staff exceptionally efficient and friendly and the food was impeccably presented and of the highest quality. We also availed of the BBQ on the Sunday afternoon in the lovely garden area attached to the pub.

We cannot recommend the Peldon Rose highly enough. A truly wonderful experience. I just wish we could have stayed for longer.

Michael and Rosaleen

Ireland

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Service helpful and prompt from booking to checking out.
Room relatively small but with tastful furnishing and spotlessly clean.
Bed and linen of a standard acceptable in a 5 star hotel.
Breakfast to a standard that sets an example for others to follow.
For the price, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert1065822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
5.8 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
7.2 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
5.9 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
5.9 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peldon Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peldon Rose

Property: The Peldon Rose
Address: Colchester Road | Peldon, Colchester CO5 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Peldon Rose Hotel Colchester
The Peldon Rose Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing