We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might be Old!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Colchester
Dublin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Might be Old!!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel might be old and in the centre of town but thats all. Room had an odour from the bad plumbing, bath was dangerous if having a shower as no mat was provided to stand on and bath surface was slippery. As other reviewers have commented no toiletries in bathroom. Receptionist needs a course on politeness as well as the young lady in the breakfast room. As for the breakfast a no go poor.
For 3 stars it is more like a poor guest house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retireddublin98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    91
    71
    50
    76
See reviews for
48
175
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

This is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

They were happy to take payment for the room and breakfast upfront when I arrived but refused to give me a VAT receipt until the morning.

There were no toiletries in the bathroom. No shampoo. No shower gel. Not even a bar of soap to wash your hands after using the toilet (fortunately I had some with me).

The bottom of the shower curtain was filthy and brown.

The remote control for the TV was missing. When I reported these issues to reception they brought me a remote control which didn't work because it was for a different make of TV.

The bottom edge of the pink valance on the bed was black with dirt.

The shower offered two options - an acceptable amount of pressure but with water that was too hot to touch, or a useable temperature but with only a dribble of water pressure. Maybe that's why they don't bother providing shower gel.

The enamel was badly chipped around the bath plug hole.

The toilet had lumps of broken porcelain lying in the bottom of the pan.

The iron that was brought to my room didn't work.

When I complained at checkout the manager sat staring at his computer screen instead of looking at me while I was talking to him. He showed no interest in my complaint. He refused to refund the cost of the room. He reluctantly refunded the cost of breakfast when I said I would not be eating there due to the wealth of hygiene issues I'd found in the bedroom.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. It's dirty, badly maintained, and the management don't care.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autolycus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colchester hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were very interested in staying in a old and reported haunted building but did not know the area when booking.

Unfortunately, we were given a room at the front of the building and following a local Wedding Reception (where we could have camped) returned to the hotel at approx midnight but we did NOT get any sleep due to the noise /commotion of the clubbers opposite until approx 4am. At 5am the street cleaner came by which again having no sleep sounded like a jumbo jet and finally at 6am the church bells were ringing.

We will not be returning due to it's location and had a very un-enjoyable journey home due to no sleep. Totally wish we had camped out in the cold.

Room Tip: I guess ensure you ask for a room to the rear of the building?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great town centre location, staff friendly and couldn't do enough for us, made us feel welcome. Excellent hotel would be ruined if modernised steeped in history. Defiantly will return, might even try one of the haunted rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeybobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clacton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the red lion hotel on the 6th September, great hotel lovely features, dinner was fantastic had the rump steak and trimmings must say it was the nicest steak dinner I've had in years, bonus was the dinner being served by the chef too. Defiantly would recomend the food and would happily stay at the hotel again x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I really enjoyed the experience of spending a night at this hotel, which is an historic 15th-century architecturally-beautiful building with an interesting past. I was impressed by the friendly, helpful and informative reception staff. The hotel is centrally located in the middle of Colchester and within easy walking distance of the town's railway station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill_2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at the brook red lion after a visit to Colchester zoo this being the only average price place available for our weekend. The staff were very friendly helping us over the phone with directions to the NCP car park which is quite a walk if you have lots of luggage and its raining. The hotel offer a discount on the parking rate which is good. Eating at the hotel was not available as the chef had personal problems and had gone home however the high street offers plenty of options. The room was ok beds clean, a bit outdated, no hairdryer, a stain on the carpet but its a bed for the night so not a major concern to us.

Our problem was the location. The hotel is situated between a shopping centre with a walkthrough running down the side. The room was very hot even after a rainy day so we had to have the window open. As the night went on the noise got worse with clubbers using the walkthrough to get from the high street to the pubs on the other side. The design of the walkthrough made all noise echo. Groups of men egging each other on to punch things and discussing how to buy a girl a drink first let her drink it and then ask her to sleep with you were just some of the conversations heard! At one point when the said man did punch something I had to reassure my eleven year old not to be frightened.
The hotel walls are the next problem, very thin and with the rooms having flat screen TV's on the walls if next door are watching TV then you go to sleep when they do.
And lastly you can put a shhh I'm sleeping sign on the door but the cleaner is still noisy in the morning and after a horrible nights sleep due to the noise an 8am wake up call is not what you want!
We did not ask to swop rooms due to the layout of the hotel seemingly having a walkthrough on both sides and the high street clubs at the front and others pubs at the back.

Overall a great place to stay as others have said if you want to go clubbing although I still wouldn't want the hover banged on my door after a night out waking me at 8am! Staff were very helpful with all other requests.

Breakfast is £7 odd if you pre book and £12 something in the morning, we didn't opt for this. If you walk past the NCP dropping of your luggage and continue along crossing at the lights L'pattisserie offers a mega breakfast for £5.00 :)

Room Tip: choose a room in the middle of the hotel if such a thing exists!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzie-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#20 of 24 in Colchester
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
140 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Red Lion Hotel

Property: Brook Red Lion Hotel
Address: 43 High Street, Colchester CO1 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel was built in 1465 and is in the centre of Colchester, Britain's oldest recorded town. The historical building has original Tudor features, including wooden beams.The Red Lion Hotel is one of the oldest inns in the area. The hotel is a short walk from the shops and Colchester Town Rail Station is 500 metres away. Hotel Rooms: 24 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brook Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Colchester
Colchester Red Lion
Brook Red Lion Hotel Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing