We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Hotel of Colchester
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smashing Hotel!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hotel was lovely, breakfast was Excellent, staff very helpful, a lovely warm hotel, very clean,large bath towels!. Wifi also good!.we had lunch a few times which also was excellent!.. We would defiantly use this hotel again!. Fantastic location for shoppers, Marks and Spencer's opposite hotel, also a great park with castle a few steps to the left of hotel,,.car park at rear of hotel!.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, if you want a quite time choose a back room!, as the front are on the high Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    169
    133
    115
    87
See reviews for
110
211
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this beautiful old creaky hotel for 3 nights.... i also had my 2 teenage boys with me... this is a beautiful hotel.. with alot of appeal.... i found the staff very friendly.. and helpful... the surrounding area is ideal especially with kids... our room was cleaned and checked every day...by a lovely lady.... and our lovely breakfast was always delivered with a smile... the reception staff although busy like the rest always... polite thank u for making our stay one to remember... we will most definatly be staying again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Laura479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Checked in for weekend and was unhappy with the room (small, damp, jaded), asked for upgrade and was presented with a beautiful room. they have an excellent young manager called Stephen who really cares about his customers and works extremely hard. Turned a potentially awful situation into an excellent opportunity for praise and repeat business. Well done!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnkiMabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orkney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were recommended this hotel by a business associate and we were not disappointed. This is an old hotel with alot of charm. There were no more doubles when we checked in so we were offered an executive suite. The room was large and spacious although the furnishings were shabby chic and the carpet a bit threadbare. Never mind, we marvelled in walking around the place admiring the ceiling beams, old paintings, wall paper pulled back to expose ancient walls.
One of the maids told us ghost stories and we were given a tour of the cellar where you can view the ancient roman road that the hotel was built on. A memorable experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpfull. No complaints, the hotel is nice and the restaurant has some nice food on the menu.
The only complaint I have is that I stayed in room 306 and the light in the room is to low. I kept on banging my head on it, I realise it is an old hotel but please sort the light out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarkE1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Interesting old hotel, blending into it's historic background of Colchester.

Interesting features throughout this hotel, and must be a nightmare to maintain, due to the unusual décor of the building.

Staff very friendly, and in the hear of the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

staff were great, good location right in the town, it is ready for a refit and is a bit scruffy but there is something about it. Breakfast was good shower was rubbish and the room was big clean and comfortable

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, steep ones leading to some rooms, go for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regularhoteluser257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 23 in Colchester
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
662 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel of Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel of Colchester

Property: George Hotel of Colchester
Address: 116 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel of Colchester 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel the most iconic and oldest hotel set in the heart of Colchester, England's oldest city, right on the high street and approximately 100 yards from Colchester Castle. History resonates throughout the 500 year old coaching inn which is home to the stylish Courtyard Brasserie, serving excellent English a la carte dishes and daily specials, and the trendy coffee shop Cafe George. In the Heart of Historic Colchester The extensive medieval cellars, preserved behind glass, have remnants of Roman roads that once ran through the town and even the ashes left by the fires of Queen Boudicca's rampage in AD60 when she burned Colchester to the ground. Situated on Colchester High Street, among an array of shops, bars and restaurants, the hotel is ideal for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. The Perfect Venue The charming high street hotel and its historic surroundings offer a great location for weddings, corporate events, overnight business travel, romantic getaways, golf weekends and memorable special events of all occasions. It features 47 spacious, individually decorated bedrooms equipped to a high standard, free WiFi throughout the facility and on-site parking free of charge. The George Hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, close to the A12 and A120, with excellent links to Stansted Airport and the Port of Harwich, as well as London's city centre (65km away) and Cambridge (63km). Outstanding Service Relaxation and quality services are guaranteed at the hotel which operates a 24-hour front desk offering a range of facilities including tour/ticket assistance and room service. We look forward to welcoming you for an enjoyable and memorable stay at one of Essex's most historic hotels. There is on site parking available. Car Parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your George Hotel of Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colchester George Hotel
George Hotel Colchester
George Colchester
George Hotel Of Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing