We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Hotel of Colchester
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We visit this hotel on a weekly basis, to use the bar area and to have lunch. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We also hosted an event and hired to rooms for a wedding party. The staff we amazing, and the food was fantastic. We had the £10 per head menu and were able to choose dishes we wanted, and there was more than enough food per person, something that was a concern, but my mind was put at rest. We also hired a number of rooms for our guests and we didn't have any issues there either. Louise the lady that helped with our booking did all she could to make it a great event, and the manager Denise was popping in during the set up to make sure we have everything we needed. The main star at the George is Anthony , and what a great guy he is!! Warm and friendly with everyone, I would defiantly recommend the the George to anyone wanting to host a party, or to use its lounge area, as it's comfy , great food

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    171
    135
    118
    89
See reviews for
112
215
34
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I were recently in Colchester town centre waiting for our car service to be completed. We have a German Shepherd puppy and consequently found ourselves pretty much barred from every cafe and pub we tried. We were getting cold and hungry so in desperation I walked into the reception of The George and asked whether we were able to come in, fearing another rejection.
"Of course you can! Please come in - does your puppy want a bowl of water?"
What a pleasant surprise!
We were able to sit in a corner near the fire (this was a few weeks ago now!) and order a drink.
The downstairs bar/tea room area was busy and bustling and there was a warm atmosphere.
Eli, our dog, is well behaved and promptly lay at our feet and settled down. In fact he was a bit of a star and a number of hotel guests and visitors in the vat made a fuss of him.
The staff were really friendly and in fact I decided to stay for a bite to eat whilst the missus went and did a bit more shopping.
I can't rate this highly enough if you are looking for a coffee or lunchtime snack and by the looks of the custom the locals already know this. I can't comment on the quality of the rooms as we weren't staying.
Thanks to all and we'll definitely be back! Eli can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpookyDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Living as we do in North Wales, we use this establishment on the occasions we visit our son and his family, who live close to the town centre. To be honest it's usually a lunchtime snack whilst shopping, but we have always had good service, good food and a nice welcome. The menu is pretty static, so we know what we are going to order before we go in. One thing however, which has disappeared from the menu,much to my wife's dismay, is the crayfish sandwich, which was always one of her favourites. It can be a little difficult at times to get seated, such is the popularity of the hotel, but the wait is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have noticed. how much the staff are happier when management. aren't around. i have noticed this on several occasions. Maybe the management should lay back a little . but on whole had a very nice stay again thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noddy17654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A really nice place to stay, particularly for those with a sense of history. A really pleasant team of staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were well equipped though it has to be said that they really are begging for a freshen up - they are now extremely dated.
Breakfast was excellent value with every possible choice, again served by an enthusiastic team.
Everything of interest, and some interesting shopping opportunities are within a short walk; as is the historic castle and surrounding park.
Very nice to enjoy a nightcap and be able to stroll up to your room!

Room Tip: Please note!!! There is no lift and the stairs are not the easiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent a day and a night at the George working. Everyone was so helpful and very friendly. It is a great location, easy to get to the shops and restaurants. We will definitely be using this hotel again soon. Louise was brilliant and a pleasure to work with.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenethomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hotel was lovely, breakfast was Excellent, staff very helpful, a lovely warm hotel, very clean,large bath towels!. Wifi also good!.we had lunch a few times which also was excellent!.. We would defiantly use this hotel again!. Fantastic location for shoppers, Marks and Spencer's opposite hotel, also a great park with castle a few steps to the left of hotel,,.car park at rear of hotel!.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, if you want a quite time choose a back room!, as the front are on the high Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
0.2 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 23 in Colchester
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
2.3 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 23 in Colchester
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel of Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel of Colchester

Property: George Hotel of Colchester
Address: 116 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel of Colchester 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel the most iconic and oldest hotel set in the heart of Colchester, England's oldest city, right on the high street and approximately 100 yards from Colchester Castle. History resonates throughout the 500 year old coaching inn which is home to the stylish Courtyard Brasserie, serving excellent English a la carte dishes and daily specials, and the trendy coffee shop Cafe George. In the Heart of Historic Colchester The extensive medieval cellars, preserved behind glass, have remnants of Roman roads that once ran through the town and even the ashes left by the fires of Queen Boudicca's rampage in AD60 when she burned Colchester to the ground. Situated on Colchester High Street, among an array of shops, bars and restaurants, the hotel is ideal for exploring and visiting the many tourist attractions and cultural sites in the area and the rich heritage of East Anglia's beautiful countryside and coast. The Perfect Venue The charming high street hotel and its historic surroundings offer a great location for weddings, corporate events, overnight business travel, romantic getaways, golf weekends and memorable special events of all occasions. It features 47 spacious, individually decorated bedrooms equipped to a high standard, free WiFi throughout the facility and on-site parking free of charge. The George Hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, close to the A12 and A120, with excellent links to Stansted Airport and the Port of Harwich, as well as London's city centre (65km away) and Cambridge (63km). Outstanding Service Relaxation and quality services are guaranteed at the hotel which operates a 24-hour front desk offering a range of facilities including tour/ticket assistance and room service. We look forward to welcoming you for an enjoyable and memorable stay at one of Essex's most historic hotels. There is on site parking available. Car Parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George Hotel of Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colchester George Hotel
George Hotel Colchester
George Colchester
George Hotel Of Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing