We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rose and Crown Colchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Good location for Colchester. 15 mins steady walk to the town centre. Staff helpful and efficient, particularly the bar and waiting staff. Free parking very useful. Car Park entered guarded by a drop down barrier. Wifi (free) works well. Room on the small side but adequate. We stayed for 3 nights over a very cold w/e. Room is heated by a wall mounted convector heater whose output can be adjusted to suit. We found it perfectly adequate for our needs. Bathroom, as in many UK hotels, is small but everything works ok. No shortage of hot water and the over-bath shower has a good pressure.
Friday night was the busiest in the bar (we ate there for all 3 nights) but the staff coped extremely well. The menu is displayed on the now fashionable faux slate plaques hung on the fireplace above the very welcoming wood fire. Food very good but the idea of serving some main courses on designer bits of wood should be discouraged. Noise not a problem even though we overlooked the car park. We stayed in the main hotel, an old building so floorboards creak all the time and everywhere!
A comfortable stay. Staff should be commended for their pleasant attitude and energy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike056_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed one night and overall the experience was good. The room was clean and warm. The restaurant does not open in the winter but decent food is served in the bar area. The TV area of the bar is not intrusive, the open fire warm and welcoming. Wi-fi worked fine. A short walk up to the castle and shopping area.
Disappointments- we visited when there was snow on the ground and the car park had not been cleared. Without a 4WD it would have been treacherous. The breakfast was terrible- the coffee was served from a vacuum urn and was tepid, the cooked breakfast was tasteless and cold.
I would consider staying again but would not book for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethBruce, General Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear montymax,

Firstly may I thank you for bringing the matters in your Trip advisor review. I am sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay were disappointing.

We have taken your comments with regards service and your expectancies of the breakfast standards. Whilst accepting your views, I feel that the Breakfast team at are usually very welcoming and certainly they are eager to have an opportunity to demonstrate to you this is the case.

May I thank you for bringing the matter to my attention, and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence in our standards on a future occasion.

We consider nothing to be trivial if it displeases our guests, and we take all complaints very seriously.

Again I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention as our success depends on customer’s recommendations.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is a very old building with loads of character. Excellent bar area with real fire. Evening meal was very nice. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel, the room was comfortable, warm and quiet. No problems with the bathroom and plenty of hot water.
Staff attentive and friendly. Conveniently located about a 15 minute walk from Colchester town centre although this does involve walking uphill.
Breakfast was average given the price of £10.95.
If visiting Colchester again would have no hesitation staying here, might skip breakfast though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Booked for a one night stay,as I was attending a wedding here. The wedding itself passed smoothly with no problems, great food, friendly, attentive staff. The bar/function areas were nice, the red carpet which the Bride and Groom walked down the aisle on, could have done with being hoovered though! My bedroom looked like it had last been updated sometime in the 1980's. It looks like they have copied the old style Travelodge rooms to a tee, office style hung ceiling with cobwebs on it, very drab dreary paint and carpet, with a disappointing breakfast to go with it, and being next to a noisy boiler room, which kept me awake for the whole night, makes the £85.00 price tag way too expensive for this standard. The only thing attractive about this hotel is their website, which makes the Hotel look wonderful!! I can assure you it definitely isn't. I would like to warn anyone thinking of booking a night here, to avoid staying in room 129. Try the North Hill Hotel in the town centre instead for a tenner less, but a lot nicer rooms and food!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 129. It's next to a noisy boiler room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Very old building, lots of history, some low ceilings and doors. Bar was very cosy, food was very good, staff were polite & helpful. Requested a quiet room, which I got.

Room was only average, no comfy chair which would have been nice. Reasonably clean. No noise problems (on a Monday night so no wedding parties). Some of the ancient floors do creak! Water hot, shower worked fine, plenty of towels provided.

Breakfast was slightly better than average, again, staff were fine, checkout was painless.

Down side: limited parking next to hotel but there is an overflow carpark 50m away. Can be difficult to find the car park entrance on a dark, wet winter evening! Couldn't get the wi-fi to connect.

Room Tip: Avoid wedding parties!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drooper901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I booked into the Rose and Crown because of the location and it looked OK on the website. When I arrived the place was over-run with Xmas parties and I was informed that the noise would go on until around midnight. When I asked if there was another room, I was told there might be a quiet one but not sure if it had hot water. The room I was allocated was cold, and overlooked a main road and had inadequate sound proofing. When I asked about noise levels I was told that it wasn't really that noisy - and was more down to what I was used to. Wasn't impressed so checked out and didn't stay the night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

For a chain hotel, no matter what the fascinating history of the building, they just don't try very hard.
Or to put it another way the owners (a Best Western Franchise) just don't want to put the investment into their property. Its a beautiful Tudor building, and it should be very welcoming. The bar is nice, with a wood fire and pleasnat seating.
Instead the hotel is woefully under-staffed and rather disappointing.
Rooms – OK.
But heating in the bedroom and the bathroom didn’t work.
And when asked for help to at least bleed the radiators and improve the trickle of heat, the front desk person (nobody else on duty at half-past five in the evening) could only come up with a pair of pliers and the suggestion that there might be an electric heater in the closet (there wasn't). So no proper heating in the room on a January night.
There was a TV, an iron and ironing board, and a kettle with tea and coffee.
The bathroom was fine except for the bizarre fact that the toilet seat was totally offset from the toilet bowl. Not just the wrong size - but installed three inches off to the side. What contractor would do that, and then get it passed by the management?
Breakfast - absurdly expensive, and featuring tepid coffee from a push-dispensing urn. When I complained about this, the waitress said that it was always like that. Later she brought a small pot of re-heated coffee, but no apology. No orange juice available. Only idiot company accounts would pay for this.
Car parking - Not obvious to new customers how you get in (just drive up to the barrier and it will eventually open). You have to get a pass code from the hotel to get out without an extra charge.
All in all, not as good as a decent local BandB pub for the price. But the owners think they can charge what they like, and get away with mediocre service. And they do.
.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
1.7 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
737 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
906 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
570 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
0.9 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#6 of 23 in Colchester
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester

Address: East Street, Colchester CO1 2TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range: £53 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The oldest hotel in the oldest recorded town in England." You are assured a warm welcome at The Rose and Crown hotel, which dates back to the 14th century. It is a beautiful oak timber framed building situated in the bustling, historic town of Colchester. Originally a 14th Century coaching inn lovingly restored over the years, the hotel is an ideal base for both the discerning business and leisure traveller. You can sit back and enjoy a glass of wine in front of a roaring fire in our Tudor bar or go for a lazy walk in the panoramic Constable Country. Located close to Colchester town centre and the A12. It is less than an hour drive from Stansted Airport and 40 minutes from the Port of Harwich. Central London is 45 minutes by train and the idyllic city of Cambridge is an hour drive away. Located 0.6 miles from Firstsite. Free car parking available at the hotel. The Best Western Rose & Crown have won the ‘Best Small Hotel Category’ in the Essex Tourism Awards 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rose And Crown Colchester
Best Western Rose & Crown Colchester Hotel Colchester
Best Western Hotel Colchester
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing