We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique and interesting hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very unique and interesting hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Apparently the oldest in Colchester. This is a genuine period hotel, undulating floors, lack of headroom through the archways down the corridors - I'm quite tall. Staff excellent, good food, rooms comfortable, and the overall uniqueness of the hotel makes it definitely worth a visit. Right in town so good position for the locality. Secure car park, free wifi, everything needed for a stop over. Even though I had to be careful while walking down the corridor, in case I should bump my head, I'd recommend this hotel any day of the week.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    181
    83
    31
    18
See reviews for
69
168
24
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose The Rose and Crown Hotel as our wedding venue,it was only the second venue we viewed,and we fell in love with it! as soon as we walked in,there was a pile of wood ready for the fire,it smelt divine,and confirmed our decision before even walking in! Upon walking into reception,we were greeted by a lovely,friendly receptionist,then by Lisa,our wedding coordinator,who couldn't have been better with her service!,our wedding day ran so smoothly and the minute I got out of the car on arrival,just seeing Lisa calmed me down! Every single member of staff were brilliant,the waiters and waitresses couldn't do enough for us,and the food was excellent,we had guests saying all day how great it was. The staff made us feel special,and at the end of the night,when we were starting to clear up,we were told by staff to go and enjoy the night,they will pack away everything! All in all they exceeded our expectations throughout the day. In the morning we rang down to reception to order breakfast,and was greeted with a warm welcome,and breakfast was quickly delivered and was very tasty. Overall our day was fantastic and we would recommend The Rose and Crown to any future bride and grooms.
Thank you to all the staff and to Lisa for making our day so special,and for making us feel like VIPs throughout.

Mr and Mrs Spall x

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Pulling up to The Rose and Crown in the cab it was visually clear straight away how much character this place had. I'd personally never visited Colchester before and was there to graduate at the main university campus. The hotel was seemingly near to everything in the town.

An old tudor house on one half of the building and a newly built extension on the other meant that one received the character when checking in and in the restaurant pub and the opportunity to stay in nice, new plush rooms. However there was still the opportunity to stay in the other 'characterful' part of the hotel. From what I heard from members of our party staying in these rooms though they were aged and above the restaurant which radiated heat up.

I should mention at this point we were there during the hottest weekend of the year. The rooms didn't have air conditioning. (even in one of the 'Superior' rooms I stayed in.) A small space heater fan was supplied in my room. This barely blew enough to be less warm let alone cool and the old style windows didn't open all the way and needed support to stay open. The party staying in the old style room (above the kitchen) also didn't have a fan supplied at all and the heat became uncomfortable for them and lead to a very uncomfortable sleep.

Having said all of this, our Superior room was lovely, the bathroom even nicer and the staff were extremely friendly and personable. The food at the restaurant/pub was superb and the pub was a nice place to have a drink.

I would recommend this hotel for its character, although they should, being a Best Western, address the heat issues during hot summers days and nights. I would also like to mention the second hand fan store across the road teasing our sweaty selves! Having said all of this the staff were very nice, the free WiFi was good and the character of the place trumped the heat.

Room Tip: Superior bathrooms were awesome. I'd recommend superior judging by the other rooms depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossEgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo S, General Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and congratulations to the newly graduated student.

We supply fans in all our rooms and when you stayed we had 5 rooms without, we bought 10 new ones last weekend so ALL rooms now have them and we have relpaced some older ones.

So if you or your family return to Colchester and the weather is this hot again we have it covered.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is quite striknig tudor building, which is situated in a small village but unfortunately has quite a busy main road running through it, but once inside it is entirely olde worlde and quite welcoming. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and smart.
The breakfast are very nice and filling, ranging from a full english to a bowl of cereal it's up to you.
The only draw back to the hotel is that it is very popular for parties and weddings, so generally quite busy, there's no outside space only a car park, if you have a room overlooking the car park as we did there is a lot of noise that comes up from the car park and function room. Apart from that its a nice hotel within easy walking of the main town of Colchester.

Room Tip: Try to book a hotel away from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie76255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed for two nights while participating in a croquet tournament. The building (partly original Tudor, carefully refurbished) was tremendous, and the room was spacious, spotless and pleasantly furnished.

Friendly and helpful staff.

I didn't sample the food as I was being "fed" elsewhere, but the menu looked good.

Be careful if approaching the hotel from the west, as it is on a corner and you can easily drive past it (even when returning for a second night!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for almost two weeks while working away. I had two rooms during this time as I had a couple days break my first room was lovely very big, beautiful bathroom just the ceiling was a little bit low and I could hear all the noise from the street. Little sleep first couple of days. Second room was higher ceiling but the shower room was small and the shower just trickled out. The food was lovely and one particular member of bar staff was very friendly throughout my stay. Another was not came across and he was not interested. Also the same bar staff member I got to the hotel just on time before they stop serving food but he said they had finished and I could only have a sandwich. To order room service your charged £5 straight away I was not happy about this! Breakfast was really nice plenty of choice. I often found my room wasn't really cleaned and was given dirty towels two days in a row! Also I had a cleaner wake me up and when I said pardon to her she starting being rude! Also all my electricals had be PAC tested without my consent I found this a invasion of privacy as they had clearly be going through my things. I wouldn't moan to much as my company paid for my stay but if I had paid myself I wouldn't of been happy with the price and I wouldn't ever stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLozaRoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo S, General Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review but I am very concerned about some of your comments, particularly about PAT testing your electricals and some customer service issues. We do our PAT testing annually last in Feb of this year - if an electrical item was plugged in when the eletrician is testing he will test ALL appliances.

Please provide your room number and date of stay so I may investigate this further.
I thank you in advance with your help with this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
1.7 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
680 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
0.9 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
785 reviews
0.5 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 23 in Colchester
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#20 of 23 in Colchester
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester

Property: Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Address: East Street, Colchester CO1 2TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The oldest hotel in the oldest recorded town in England." You are assured a warm welcome at The Rose and Crown hotel, which dates back to the 14th century. It is a beautiful oak timber framed building situated in the bustling, historic town of Colchester. Originally a 14th Century coaching inn lovingly restored over the years, the hotel is an ideal base for both the discerning business and leisure traveller. You can sit back and enjoy a glass of wine in front of a roaring fire in our Tudor bar or go for a lazy walk in the panoramic Constable Country. Located close to Colchester town centre and the A12. It is less than an hour drive from Stansted Airport and 40 minutes from the Port of Harwich. Central London is 45 minutes by train and the idyllic city of Cambridge is an hour drive away. Located 0.6 miles from Firstsite. Free car parking available at the hotel. The Best Western Rose & Crown have won the ‘Best Small Hotel Category’ in the Essex Tourism Awards 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rose And Crown Colchester
Best Western Rose & Crown Colchester Hotel Colchester
Best Western Hotel Colchester
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing