We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Colchester
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quirky old hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very nice hotel. We had a rather small room, but worked quiet well anyway. Free wifi and a good traditionel breakfast. Friendly service. We only stayed for one night. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was very good. We can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braskpedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    174
    80
    31
    17
See reviews for
66
158
23
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
270 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

All the way at the end of High or East Hill Street you will find the Rose & Crown. We were attracted by the mix of old and new. Each room looks like most other hotels on the inside but the old world charm of the hallways, lobby, restaurant and exterior is unique.
We stayed two nights here in late August. The lady at the front desk was very welcoming and most helpful with our questions. She offered a free upgrade as the hotel was slow over the bank holiday weekend.
Our room was well done and the bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated. The only drawback was our window fronted on the main road and so we had lots of road noise. We had just arrived from Canada the day before so it did not keep us awake at all. Perhaps another time I would ask for a room facing away from the road.
It was was a short walk over town and to Castle Park.... Enjoy this old world flavour next time you find yourself in Colchester.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I needed a place to stay near Ipswich, for a Saturday night, as I was attending a party in the area. For some reason, hotels in the area were very heavily booked. I found the Rose and Crown through Expedia and only an Executive room was left. It was a little more than I had hoped to spend, but less expensive than Premier Inn in Braintree was quoting, for the same date, plus closer to my party. My room was in a separate building to the main building. Although the exterior is Tudor style, the interior is modern. The desk staff were pleasant and efficient. Parking is free, but was full when I checked in. There is an overflow car park, down the road. As others have stated, there is no A/C, but a couple of open windows in my corner room resulted in a pleasant temperature. The room was clean and had a modern décor, which looked fresh. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean, although the amenities seemed minimal, for an Executive room. Bar hand soap but shower/bath gel for the shower/bath. Many hotels go this way, although I prefer bar soap. There was only one bottle each of shower gel and shampoo, even though the room was for 2 people. My girlfriend talked me into having breakfast there, on Sunday. The waiting staff were efficient, friendly, and cheerful. I had an omelette, which seemed slightly over-cooked, but was very tasty. They use free range eggs for their meals. I was a little disappointed with the sides. We got one sausage each an I ordered hash browns, which was just a frozen block, deep fried. I never figured out how to work the wifi, but we weren't there long enough for it to make much difference. If you need accommodation in the area, this is a good hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Executive rooms seem nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had initially booked The George but was so pleased I changed it a week before we stayed as went stopped off at The George for a drink on the Friday evening and it was in a very busy (read loud) part of the High Street. The Rose and Crown is about a ten to fifteen minute walk from the centre of town and for us that was ideal so we could walk off the evening meal before returning to our room. The main part of hotel is a beautiful building but because we had requested a quiet room we were in the Executive Suite of rooms in a new block separated by only a few steps from the main hotel. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed, including an iron and ironing board, but the godsend was the small desk top fan which came in very handy as our room was stifling once the sun moved round in the afternoon and early evening. Once small suggestion would be to have a separate sheet under the duvet cover as it was too hot to have the duvet over us but in a strange location I felt very vunerable with no cover. Service at the front desk and breakfast room was very good. A very pleasant stay and if we are ever in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Rose and Crown.

Room Tip: Go for an Executive room if you prefer a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel in July 2014. Was making move from wheelchair to crutches having broken my leg. Was staying alone for business so very much dependent on help from staff.

The hotel itself is lovely - quite old/listed with lovely interior. I stayed in a newer part which was also very nice - comfortable bed, excellent bathroom, on the ground floor so manageable with limited mobility. I was dependent on room service so ate there every night - the food was very good (especially the ribs).

The staff honestly could not have been more helpful. They brought me whatever I needed, carried my stuff for me, booked cabs for me, and also kept an eye out for me - e.g. they worried if they hadn't seen me come in.

I really couldn't have been better looked after and recommend this hotel without reservation. (It's also very well located although sadly I couldn't get out much!)

Room Tip: Ask the staff, they are lovely and will choose a room that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outandabout741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely old and interesting hotel, Original features lovingly preserved make this hotel a perfect place to stay if you want to visit Colchester. Close to town with good parking. We left our car there and just walked into Colchester.
We ate at the restaurant, which was very busy when we were there but we booked in the morning and they were happy to accommodate us for a table the same evening. The food was very good, promptly served by very attentive staff. Reasonably priced too. Breakfast was not included in the price of our booking but was available if you wanted it without booking beforehand.
The room we were given was an "executive suite" it was in a separate building to the older part of the hotel it appeared it was a fairly recently build but had been constructed to match the character and style of the original building and was very comfortable of a very good size with an en-suite bath with shower. Only one gripe the plug to the sink was broken and when it was pushed into the plug hole there was no way of getting it out so we couldn't drain the sink.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Colchester, if you are looking for a comfortable hotel, full of character with friendly staff this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
0.9 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#11 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester

Property: BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Address: East Street, Colchester CO1 2TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The oldest hotel in the oldest recorded town in England." You are assured a warm welcome at The Rose and Crown hotel, which dates back to the 14th century. It is a beautiful oak timber framed building situated in the bustling, historic town of Colchester. Originally a 14th Century coaching inn lovingly restored over the years, the hotel is an ideal base for both the discerning business and leisure traveller. You can sit back and enjoy a glass of wine in front of a roaring fire in our Tudor bar or go for a lazy walk in the panoramic Constable Country. Located close to Colchester town centre and the A12. It is less than an hour drive from Stansted Airport and 40 minutes from the Port of Harwich. Central London is 45 minutes by train and the idyllic city of Cambridge is an hour drive away. Located 0.6 miles from Firstsite. Free car parking available at the hotel. The Best Western Rose & Crown have won the ‘Best Small Hotel Category’ in the Essex Tourism Awards 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rose & Crown Colchester Hotel Colchester
Best Western Rose And Crown Colchester
Best Western Hotel Colchester
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing