We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
196
224
105
36
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
224
105
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low beams old building four poster older part main building full english great character town centre lady on reception friday evening superior room the pub would stay again cooked breakfast family wedding waiting staff stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017

just can't find anything bad to say about this hotel from the reception room the service to the waiting staff just top notch large car park . if I have one complaint it is access to the car park entrance is on a blind bend but that is a minor detail

Room tip: bend your head low beams
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bernie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaG1999, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hi Bernie W,

Many thanks for your perfect review and we hope to welcome you back again real soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We attended my daughter's wedding in 27 October '16 and were so impressed we booked our own wedding without hesitation. Why?

Lisa Grantham, Assistant Manager/Wedding Planner, has been there for 17+ years and very quickly & confidently answers every question.

The hotel has bags of character and a warm, friendly atmosphere, so the whole thing has a good vibe from the off. You can have the ceremony there so no-one has to drive from one place to another during the day - great for those who might want a tipple in the bar before the ceremony!

The rooms are cosy and comfortable and the discount for wedding guests is great for family and friends. The bridal suite has a four-poster and is spacious but cosy. There is a good amount of parking at the hotel. The hotel is very attractive in the photos but there is also a pretty park a five minute walk away if you want some trees.

The food is great and the chef accommodating - gluten-free, veggie, vegan - the kitchen team do a great job to a high standard. We had a couple of last-minute dietary requirements to request and when we were told, 'leave it to us' we had the confidence to do that, knowing it would be fine - it was. My vegan nephew was so relieved he didn't get stuffed peppers!

The venue is set up beautifully and the staff are quick and efficient with changes made during the day, e.g. setting up the evening buffet. We booked the disco recommended by the hotel, DJ Buzby, who was great: friendly, professional and very good at his job.

The people, oh the people. Managers & staff at the Rose and Crown are what make your day so special. Lisa, Stefan and their teams are so friendly, helpful, accommodating, polite, respectful and efficient it is difficult to quantify. They are there when you want them but not in your face. They like to say yes and when you ask for something they do it fast. In short, they have the 'want to', they know all about customer care and work very hard to provide it. Outstanding value for money.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaG1999, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

All in a day's work - Congratulations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel has lots of character and history and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also great with excellent service. I recommend this stay to anyone traveling for business or pleasure purposes

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaG1999, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi Graeme,

WOW thanks for the prefect review.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I booked a room for me and my partner it was great nice and cheap has a parking space for my car that's all I needed rooms were warm and lovely big as well gives you more space to relax and but my feet up after a long day .. would come back

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jessie012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaG1999, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Hi Jessie,

Thank you for posting a review, I am glad you could relax well.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Bes Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the old building.The room was very clean and tidy every day, the breakfast was excellent, the lady in reception was very friendly and helpful. And last but not least the hotel restaurant has amazing food!!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Paradise679817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaG1999, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

What can I say but "thank you" for posting such an excellent review.

See you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews