We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
196
224
105
36
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
224
105
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low beams old building four poster older part main building full english great character town centre lady on reception friday evening superior room the pub would stay again cooked breakfast family wedding waiting staff stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Used this hotel only as a base and so did not use the restaurant. Lovely old building and rooms cosy and clean. Reception staff friendly. Only two blips in our stay. 1. No hot water and we were told the boiler had not been turned on. 2. No remote control for the T.V. Both soon remedied.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Gina,

Thank you for posting a review and I can only thank you again for your patience when the boiler tripped.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Not the most scenic location. But that wasn't the reason for our visit. We attended a friends wedding and for that it was perfect. Full of old worlde charm a very well presented venue. Food was very good ,several bars. All very clean friendly staff in particular Casey in reception who dealt with us in a very friendly professional manner. Our room was very and bathroom modern with all cosmetics supplied. I would consider coming again and enjoy a meal in the bar

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank raya497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for posting such a positive review, we are very proud of the team here and I will share this with them.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Super stay!
Excellent hotel with staff that do go that extra mile. Liz at reception not only welcoming and efficient but arranging for my ice pack (recent knee surgery) to be frozen and accessible, the easy access room we were allocated, Stefan in the dining room, the breakfast staff were efficient and responsive. Evening meal was very good and breakfast even better . A suggestion would be to have Glamorgan sausages for veggie breakfast rather than the ones you had please!? Our room was clean with a comfortable kingsize bed. More expensive than we expected but cheaper than others due to graduation bookings that weekend. Parking was easy, would recommend and stay again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sheffieldnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo S, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi and thank you for posting a great review, I hope your knee continues to improve.

I will discuss with chef about changing the veggie sausages and see what he thinks.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

The lady on reception was helpful but the welcome could have been better. We stayed in two rooms, both of which proved to be quite stuffy and stifling throughout the night which made sleep virtually impossible. (One of the rooms didn't even have a fan.) In R204 there was a blind missing from the bathroom and there was no holder for the toilet roll. The showers were very good and the beds were comfy. However, as breakfast was not included in the price, we did think that the room rate was either overpriced or highly inflated due to the university holding it's graduations during that week.

All-in-all, we were disappointed, especially as this is a Best Western hotel. Air conditioning would greatly improve the overall comfort. Car parking was good and the location of the hotel was also good.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank STSTOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo S, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for posting a review.

I can only apologise about a missing fan, we check our electrical's every two weeks and it must have gone missing in that time, we are unable to get air conditioning.

I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay and I hope to have the opportunity to show you the true Rose & Crown hospitality on a future visit.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We chose this place for the night as a stopover for catching the Harwich ferry in the morning. It's in a pleasant enough area with a couple of decent restaurants nearby. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The only member of staff we saw was pleasant to deal with and both car parking and wifi was good.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tmg513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo S, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for a great review, hopefully we can be of service again on your next trip.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews