We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
196
224
105
36
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
224
105
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low beams old building four poster older part main building full english great character town centre lady on reception friday evening superior room the pub would stay again cooked breakfast family wedding waiting staff stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed for one night to get an early start out to Flatford Mill and Constable Country, which is a 15 minute drive away.
Because of this we skipped breakfast on our departure so can't comment on that, but the evening meal was fantastic. I had the Belly of Pork and it was superb.
We really fancy coming back for one of the Tribute nights which are coming up soon.
Room was comfy and reasonably quiet, but the floors can be creaky which you would expect in a historic building like this!
Bathroom was very posh and the shower was terrific.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 336Cheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review,

The Elvis tribute is almost full but Vegas has plenty of space so call soon to avoid disappointment.

Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Spent a few nights and felt really welcomed- Staffs are highly responsive to guest needs. The only flaw was that the breakfast starts at 7.00am and I needed to be at my meeting for 7.00am, so if you need to leave early,for the meeting, Not a place for you- But the overall service was impressive!!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank kellyo855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi,

Thank you for your review, we are proud of the team here.

Sorry breakfast was not early enough for your meeting, we are asked sometimes for an early breakfast the night staff can generally do some drinks and toast or similar.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights bed and breakfast as part of a wedding party. It was ok. The room was fine and we had everything we needed. We didn't get our coffee and tea tray replenished for the second night but the room was serviced well otherwise. The beans on the breakfast hadn't been heated at all. Otherwise a very pleasant stay. If I'm ever down that neck of the woods again, I would be happy to book another stay.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Frankie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Frankie S,

Thank you for a complete review, I can only apologise about the breakfast and that your beverage tray was not replenished (reception always have spares) I will check into this.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

A building with history and every member of staff steps up to do their bit, even the ones you don't see. The food and service is excellent, We visited Colchester while travelling in the south east and will put the Rose and Crown on our list of choice when we return to the area. I would single out the young lady trainee in the breakfast area, she is a natural people person without being patronising. The bar staff are also very good, attentive to customers, while keeping the whole area clean and comfortable.
I would imagine the building is hard to manage due to it's age, however we found the facilities clean, comfortable and full of character. Thankyou for a good two days........

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CharlieCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review,

We are proud of our team here and it seems Courtney has fitted in well (trainee).

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We picked a basic room as only needed a place to sleep for the Doughnut Dash on Sunday. We had a family room so as per the price not the most comfortable and bathroom could have been cleaner and modernised. The staff however were all incredible friendly and helpful. After the race they even let us change in one of the more premium rooms. Highly advise to pay the extra and stay in the old part of the hotel with a four poster bed. Worth every penny.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LadySarah81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Glad we could accommodate ladies and well done in the dash.

Maybe see you back for a romantic weekend.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews