We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£62
Expedia.com
£62
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
£69
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveller rating
306
258
141
77
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
306
258
141
77
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low beams old building newer part lots of character four poster function room christmas party full english town centre lady on reception bed was comfortable wedding reception cooked breakfast waiting staff stayed here for one night breakfast was excellent family room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 837 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2018

Although menu was very good, sadly the food wasn’t so good. Prawn cocktail was warm & watery with what looked like shrimps and probably about a teaspoons worth sat on top of a piece of tomato to raise the level of it and extremely limp warm lettuce.
Turkey meal had most bizarre slice of rubbery stuffing with burnt roast potatoes which if possible you could try to scrape out any potato from inside & vegetables were not just al dente but raw! Had to wait a long time for a gravy boat as you were given a splash on the plate & dessert thankfully was edible as I had the panda cotta.
Service was poor from staff with no smiles at all and one young gentleman actually through the Christmas pudding desserts down from a height. Amazingly it didn’t smash or spill. Staff reaching across your face from wrong side to pass meals and all in all it wasn’t pleasant.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lej711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, General Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback posted regarding your Xmas meal.
Whilst we accept the feedback, the overall feedback from other parties was very positive.

With a view of your experience, I would like you to give us another opportunity in the near future and we will discount your meal by 50% towards food on a basis of a table of four persons in our bar to be used up to the end of March 2018.

when you are able to attend to such, please email me on RSanta-Rita@rose-and-crown.com so I can communicate this to my team.

Yours sincerely,

Ricardo Santa Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

This place is rustically beautiful and we loved our stay here.

The room was not too big, but it was clean, neat and equipped with all the essentials.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.

There is a beautiful dining room where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast.

There's some parking right next to the hotel and more about 200m up the street.

Would stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorisHeimgartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Thank you Doris,

I look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

Just enjoyed a fabulous lunch in this historic building. Great choice of meals, food freshly cooked and delicious. Service very friendly and welcoming, would highly recommend as a restaurant to enjoy a leisurely lunch with family or friends.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rivertyr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Thank you so much.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2018

Historic Inn close to centre of Colchester. Very friendly helpful reception, Spacious room with good surface and storage space. Comfortable bed. Modern bathroom with rainfall shower over bath, Very good breakfast, continental buffet, hot to order. One niggle was water pressure quite low (this is why I have had to reduce overall rating from 4 to 3). Also by historic nature of building, some bedrooms a long walk up and down stairs and creaky, oak beamed corridors.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surrey361
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Thank you for posting such an informative review.

See you again soon
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2018 via mobile

During the summer, some of the residents from a nearby care home had been able to escape the confines of their home to partake in a pub crawl to the Rose and Crown!!The staff of the Rose and Crown had been very friendly.

The activity co-ordinator had arranged for some of the residents to enjoy an early Christmas lunch. The staff were extremely accommodating to the needs of everyone. It was lovely to see the residents enjoying the well presented and tasty meal, and it made a super start to their Christmas.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 677barryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Thank you so much.

Really glad that we have access for wheelchairs and can accommodate you all.

See you again soon.

Merry Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews