We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lisa D
Colchester, United Kingdom

Lovely meal, highly recommend

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2019via mobile
I had the mushroom and walnut burger and the chocolate tart (both Vegan) that were most delicious. Good choice for Vegans and Vegetarians. A very welcoming and cosy restaurant. I loved the open fire. Great service!
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this review
Responded 2 Apr 2019
Thanks a lot for posting a review.

Our chef has been taking more notice of guests comments, hence we now have a vegan dessert menu and more than one choice of main course.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£88
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £88
0.9 miles from Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£50
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • StayForLong
    £47
  • Agoda.com
    £42
  • Priceline
    £50
8.4 miles from Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester
Free parking
£55
  • Expedia.com
  • Algotels
    £49
  • HIExpress.com
3.9 miles from Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester
Free Wifi
Free parking
£69
  • Hotels.com
    £82
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • StayForLong
2.4 miles from Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £134
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £175
  • Hotels.com
1.7 miles from Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £98
  • Hotels.com
0.7 miles from Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Premier Inn bedroom
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £54
  • Algotels
2.1 miles from Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    £72
  • Hotels.com
4.0 miles from Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £64
  • Hotels.com
5.6 miles from Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Colchester
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
314
266
140
78
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
314
266
140
78
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low beams old building newer part lots of character four poster function room christmas party full english town centre lady on reception bed was comfortable wedding reception cooked breakfast waiting staff stayed here for one night breakfast was excellent family room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 854 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2019

Excellent hotel. Cleanliness excellent. Breakfast the next morning - good variety and full English good. Stayed over night after a party and the staff were excellent. Only two minors- water pressure in the shower was almost a dribble and the window wouldn't stay open without being wedged. Didn't eat in the restaurant but the food I saw looked and smelled good. Very quaint with lots of different knooks and crannies! Would stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2019

Thank you Nikki for a great review.

I will look into the water pressure issue.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2019 via mobile

Lovely building and rooms are quite nice as well. We were in the exec suite on business and it met our needs with no problems. Evening meals were always to a good standard and breakfast was good as well.
One evening however the shower was cold and would not heat up;
Otherwise, no real issues. There is parking on site and staff are friendly.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank LauraHl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2019

Thank you for posting your review.

Apologies about the shower issue on the one night, will look into that.

Maybe see you again for a leisure trip.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reviewing on trip advisor, and we were not disappointed.
It exceeded our expectations based on reviews and descriptions and pictures on Trip Advisor.

From the greeting at reception through to the service in the bar, everything was superb.

We had an executive double room, which was massive, comfortable bed, very big bathroom, everything was better than we expected. We chose to NOT have a room in main part of the hotel (these are the oldy worldly rooms as they were not important for us, but those rooms are amazingly luxurious), we wanted more modern sleeping arrangements but with the oldy worldly charm of this fabulously historic building.

Breakfast was included and you had a choice of continental or full English, and was whole and hearty and very filling, well worth it if you had to pay.

We ate in the restaurant both nights we were there, and the food again was to die for. Good portions, and superb quality, and for the location and place very very reasonably priced.

I had the rack of lamb first night and it was amazing, second night I had gammon egg and chips and my wife had salmon first night and rack of lamb the second night and everything was just superb.
Defiantly have a great chef who knows his trade, well done to the chef from both of us.

Check-in and check-out were simple, easy, and hassle free.
No issues with the bill, everything was clearly laid out and no problems, nothing unexpected.

Will definitely be going back again when we go to Colchester or near by.

We would give this this more than 5 stars if we could.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Phil-June-just-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2019

Thank you Phil,

What an amazing, informative review - I will share this with the team.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2019

Stay for a week in February whilst working in Colchester ,what a loverly place and the food is excellent and ample helpings and all reasonable priced ,but the only down side was the low ceiling great for a hobbit but bring over 6ft you have to remember to duck but worth it

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank B4656PIrobertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, General Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Hi Robert,

Thanks for posting a review, we'll make sure you have a room with a standard ceiling next time, but you do miss out on the character then.

Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019

Very nice people. Sorted out a minor issue (with the room) very quickly. Friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean. Food looked good although I did not eat there. A bit further from town than I had anticipated.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nomad45022592344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Hotel Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Thank you for posting a review,

Hopefully you will be able to try our menu on your next visit.

Best regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews